We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rivals the Wine Tour We Took In Sienna!”

Santorini Wine Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.41*
and up
Private Custom Tour: Santorini in a Day
Ranked #1 of 10 Food & Drink in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the most distinct wineries and traditional cellars of Santorini through a unique wine-tasting journey! Small-group Wine Tours, Food & Wine tastings, Greek cooking classes & Private tours are some of the trips offered daily to experience the wine, food & culture of Santorini and Greece.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rivals the Wine Tour We Took In Sienna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My daughter and I were picked up at our hotel by Michael then taken to the ruins to be guided by Katie at the ruins. What a great experience, Katie has been an active part of the dig, and an archaeological student, for years. Her knowledge and passion for the site gave us insight that not all visitors get to have. As a bonus, for travelers during the summer months, the ruins have an enormous roof protecting them, making the tour much more inviting.
Once finished with the ruins, we were picked up and taken to the first winery, where Michael, with a sense of humor and deep understanding of wine, educated us enough to write our own wine review. We went to 2 more wineries, as well as made a stop at the Donkey Beer craft brewery, all the while enjoying Michael's information about the unique challenges and solutions for growing grapes in Santorini.
All of the wineries served traditional breads, cheeses, and olives. As we left our hotel at 9:30 and returned close to 4:00 we would have enjoyed having an actual lite lunch but do not consider it an issue. (some people had signed up for the cooking class and branched off after the 2nd winery)
We would go on this tour again, it rivals the tour we took last year in Sienna.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blaze H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    987
    44
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome History and Wine Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

In late May of 2014 our family (3 kids in their 20's) visited Santorini. We absolutely loved the island and the highlight of our trip, other than the amazing views, was our history and wine tour with Michalis. He is not only a great guy but also extremely knowledgible about wine and the island. Given his background as a sommelier, wine buyer and wine store owner we learned more about wine than we have learned on a number of tours combined. We highly recommend him!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great day, special wines! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

After being picked up by our host Michales and then collecting our other fellow wine buffs we headed to the first of three different wineries and a micro brewery.

All were different! All were amazing!

Michales' knowledge and banter made the trip truly authentic and interesting. We got to mix with a small but diverse group of just 10 and made some nice friends along the way.

Crazy Donkey makes great beer too!

We purchased a couple of nice bottles of Santorini wine and vinegar to take home.

A very full day that went a good two hours beyond the set closure but you would not have known from the fun that was had.

Worth the effort, investment and a heap of fun! Only improvement could be a little more food offered for the wine that was consumed.

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great day - worthwhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Did the Wine Adventure combined with cooking class. Dimitrius our fantastic and very informative host took us to 3 quite different wineries, all we're very good, as well as Crazy Donkey Brewery, this was 4 hours and then he took us to Nichteri Restaurant at Kamiri Beach for 2 hour cooking class where we ate afterwards. Highly recommend this tour as a great experience as well as a good tour of Santorini and learning about its history, culture and people. A fun day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Highly Recommended: Wine Tour & Cooking Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I (on our honey moon) decided to get a semi private wine tour and cooking class based off the positive feedback on trip advisor and it lived up to the reviews. Michael, a sommelier and chef, led us on the wine tour. His impressive background and passion about wine showed as he taught us more about wine than we have ever learned before and we have been on several wine tours in different wine regions around the world. He was extremely friendly, informative, and entertaining. We saw some other tours with large groups that did not get the attention and information we did from Michael which only made us appreciate the tour more.

Afterwards two wineries we went to the cooking class at a restaurant located right on the black sands beach of Kamari Beach (awesome view). The chef was friendly and awesome and we cooked awesome food including salad, tomato fritters, grilled calamari, and pork. The meal was one of the best we had. It was a great all around experience and we met two other great couples on the tour.

Santorini Wine Adventure Tours even gave us a free bottle of wine because another couple overslept and delayed the start of our wine tour. Great company, very informative, great food, and a great experience. Highly Recommended

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santorini Wine Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Santorini Wine Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing