We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of Celestia Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Celestia Grand
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We returned to Santorini this July, 19 years after spending our honeymoon there, now with our two daughters. The beauty of the island, of course, speaks for itself - it is as stunning as we remember it to be. After spending some time searching for the perfect place to stay for our family holiday, we came across VVV, and immediately recognised it to be a truly special place. From the first call while booking from Niko, to our arrival and first impressions, it definitely did not disappoint! We stayed in Villa Artemis, which had newly been renovated to become a two bed/two bath villa - it was absolutely stunning! The views from everywhere (especially the private pool, hot tub and very large terrace!) were incredible. It was a private oasis on a very vibrant island. I think what sets it apart, though, is the incredible commitment that Niko, the manager, has to ensure that his guests get the ultimate enjoyment from their holiday. His desire to genuinely ensure that we were able to find whatever we were hoping to get out of the island was incredible. From sailing, to dining, drivers to private car hire, touring etc he had it organised before we needed to give it a second thought. He is a truly special person who will ensure you have everything you need. Favourites were - Santorini Sailings - private sunset cruise, Metaxi Mas (best restaurant on the island! - we went twice), Ambrosia in Oia - fab food!, Archipelagos in Fira - gorgeous for sunsets, and Sea Side by Notos in Perivolos Beach (definitely plan to spend some beach time here!) Made to order breakfasts served on our private terrace by the very friendly Kimo was a perfect start to each day in this magical place. Santorini is busy in the summer months - but definitely not unbearably so - Fira has a fun vibe with all the people wandering its lovely narrow streets - and then returning back for a refreshing dip in our pool was a wonderful way to wind down before watching the sunset.....
This is a place I would definitely recommend! We have so many pictures from this beautiful island that will remind us of how beautiful it is - there is a photo op around every corner! I hope to go back again, someday very soon! Thank you for everything Niko - perfect in every way!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePlacesYouWillGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
171
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
232 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I've stayed in lots of true 5-star hotels (Burj Al Arab, Amanusa, Four Seasons Maldives (Landaa Giraavaru)) and this has to be one of the top overall experiences I think I've ever had. We stayed in July 2013, and here are some factual observations:

1. We booked Villa Erotas, but were upgraded to Villa Ianthi. The layout of Ianthi is much, much better, and I would pay for it when we return. The villa was two floors, spotless, and was air conditioned. The bathrooms could probably use a little updating, but this is fairly minor. The bed was a king sized bed, and not two twins pushed together. The view from the in-villa pool was STUNNING!! It's the type of thing you see in American Express Fine Hotel ads.

2. There is one guy (Nico, I think) that is the butler/concierge/whatever-you-need-guy for the six villas. Nico was EXCELLENT! We have stayed in many other rooms/hotels with butler service, and we usually get annoyed by it, and don't believe anything they tell us. ALL of Nico's recommendations were great. And he suggested some things that we would have NEVER found otherwise (even looking through TripAdvisor). He truly, truly seems like he cares that you have a good time. He was a large part of why we enjoyed our stay so much (and again, this is unusual for me to say since I generally hate hotel concierges).

3. The Villas are actually part of the adjoining hotel, but they really are treated separately. You check in/out in the main lobby, but after that, you interact with Nico, and not the hotel (e.g., if you need laundry done, you talk to Nico, not the lobby). Hotel guests are not allowed down to the villas, but villa guests can use the facilities at the hotel.

4. The villas are a 5 minute drive from Fira. They have a shuttle that runs at regular times, and was reliable when we wanted to use it. Nico set up a rental car for us one day (and made the guy come to our villa to do the paperwork).

5. The villa includes a free transfer to/from the airport or port. Free breakfast is also included with the villas, and it is served to you in your villa whenever you want.

6. The internet is free in the villas, and it worked very well (unlike most other places in Greece).

7. My only nit is that they were super stingy with towels!! We never felt like we had enough towels, whether they were pool or shower towels. We could have called Nico for more (and he would have probably brought us 50 of them), but it was just a bit surprising.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tacostuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a one of a kind property even for Santorini.
The volcano view villas are simply luxurious,tasteful and to the point.
It is not an extravagant venue but it blends with the surroundings harmoniously and offers the best sunset view of the calder.
Most people are "tricked" in to thinking that the best sunset view is in Oia,and that might be true for many because of the ambience the village of Oia has to offer, for many others it comes as a surprise to find that actually the best views of the caldera sunset are to be found around Agia Eirini,the location of this venue.
Breathtaking views in one word.
The service provided is of a very high standard by people that truly love to offer hospitality.
Sakis at the reception is a gem and a gentleman, Niko, the manager of the villas will gladly go beyond what duty calls for to satisfy his guests.
The owners of the hotel are generous local people that strive to bring perfection to their hotels.
To summarize I recommend this venue as being top value for money that will leave you life long wonderful memories.

Room Tip: All villas are magnificent and each with great views! Personal favorites are 4 & 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rescue1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I originally booked a 2 bd/2 bath family apartment in the hotel. I subsequently saw a very good villa price on Bookings.com and took the plunge and booked Villa Aphrodite. I cancelled the hotel booking which was easy as it was in the Terms. Not long after I made the booking I received a phone call from Niko, the villa concierge. We discussed our travel party, exact bedding requirements etc. I was very impressed with his attention to detail, even before we arrived. Niko picked us up from the ferry at 2 am, with a smile on his face. When we arrived at the villas he informed us that he has upgraded us to Villa Artemis which had a better view and also a hot tub on the terrace. What a start to 5 days of luxury. The villa was nicely appointed and very comfortable. Our bathroom was larger than many of the hotel rooms we've stayed in in Europe! Breakfast was served on our terrace the next morning and each day thereafter. Yogurt, fruit, breads, OJ, eggs made to order, tea and coffee. Anything we wanted! Niko was full of suggestions, one of which was to take a sailing trip with Captain Ted on the Dreamcatcher. This day was a highlight for us. Just do it. He helped us with a hire car and made excellent restaurant suggestions. He told us that Metaxi Mas was the best restaurant on the island and he was right! Very inexpensive too. My mom had to report her stolen camera and Niko escorted her to the police station to facilitate her report. Having a private pool was a real indulgence. We felt like royalty. The villas are VERY expensive. If you can make the stretch to pay for one - do it!

Room Tip: Depends if you need a one or two bedroom villa. Artemis and Sapphire have hot tubs while Aphrodite d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Booked into the Hotel part of this property and were a bit disappointed......the info package said to inquire about an upgrade to a Villa; so we did. Niko the villa manager could not have been more helpful! We immediately moved and being it was a two suite villa; invited another of our traveling companions to take the other suite. It was a dream vacation on a dream island. Niko had activities for us to do and suggestions of restaurants...even wine tasting in our room with the wines we picked up at the Santorini wineries. As we had 8 people total in our traveling party; having the villa made it a perfect spot to meet. We could accommodate all 8 people in the living room or any of the balconies. We set out plates of wonderful Greek fruit, cheese, pastries and wine poolside and after a long day of site seeing; could relax, eat, drink and enjoy the pool without having to fight for a spot at the hotel pools and bar. A perfect vacation!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed in the Ianthi Villa, and felt very pampered. We were picked up at the dock as promised and brought to the hotel. Nikos met us upon arrival, with wine and fruit, and helped us become familiar with our surroundings and to help us plan our time in Santorini. I'm glad he did, I thought I knew exactly what we were going to do, but with his recommendations mapped out for us, we easily found better options. He recommended Santorini Sailing and a few restaurants, which were easily some of our vacation highlights. He took care of any detail, including booking the sailing trip, including our ground transportation, and renting a car for us for 1 day (very inexpensive).

The upstairs is sparcely furnished, and includes a kitchenette but we really didn't spend much time there. The bedrooms, downstairs, were large, comfortable, clean, and each had their own bathroom. By far the best part of the villa is the area outside around the pool. Absolutely beautiful views, and a beautiful place to have breakfast, which was brought to us daily. Our only complaint was that breakfast was brought on the first day with WAY too much food (we felt guilty for the waste). We let Nikos know, and the 2nd day our meal was perfect. I recommend staying in a villa at this hotel.

The location isn't right in Fira, but it was nice to be away from crowds. We rented a car for day 2, and this was a nice starting point to drive the whole island in the day.

Room Tip: I recommend the Ianthi Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyBMarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We are couple from the Philippines, this was our first time in Greece. We stayed overnight in Santorini at Volcano View Vista last March 24-25, 2013. I forgot the name of our villa. What I cannot forget & will forever be etched in my heart was the kindness & hospitality given to us by Mr. Nick Dinos. Upon arrival, he knows we only have few hours to explore santorini, he drove us to the places we need to visit. The next day, he even served us very delicious breakfast! He even contacted his friend to drove us around the island (sorry I forgot the name of his friend, who I may add, is also a very good person). Volcano View Villa is highly recommend for travelers! Amazing & unforgettable view! I shall return together with our family!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
1.9 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
2.6 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
5.6 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celestia Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celestia Grand

Property: Celestia Grand
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Celestia Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celestia Grand Executive Villas (ex- Volcano View VIP Villas) are under New Management! We welcome you to discover Celestia Grand from our Trip Advisor page and by visiting us in person on beautiful Santorini Island in Greece. Celestia Grand consists of 6 independent luxury villas with private pools. The spacious and private villas are nested atop and on the edge of the Caldera cliffs with stunning views of the Aegean and the famous Santorini sunset. The service in world renowned -- friendly and unimposing. The villa complex is just 1.8 KM south of Fira town in a peaceful location but still close to shopping and entertainment. Each concierge villa offers a furnished and spacious cliff-side terrace with magical views, private pool, hydro massage tubs, AC, computer and wifi. The villas are perfect for families, honeymooners, persons seeking anonymity and privacy, executives, and other VIPs seeking peace and personal service in a stunning setting. Choose from either one bedroom or two bedroom villas with breakfast included and served to the villa (Winter self catering packages do not include breakfast) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celestia Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano View Villas Hotel Fira
Celestia Grand Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing