We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #40 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Little more than a B&B. No pool or graden area or views, right beside a busy street and bar.

Room was basic with air con. Some damp in the bedroom and mold in the bathroom. Wobbly electrical fittings.

Breakfast is only continental, no fruit, yoghurts or museli.

Not much security either. No safe in the room and sometimes no one at reception so you can just pick up your key yourself and access the room.

Cheap but not so cheerful. Worth spending extra and getting a view and pool elsewhere even for a few nights after all it is why you come here.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IT-nerd-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2010

We were very pleased of our stay at Pelican hotel. We went totally off season though. The price was very nice (of course). Room were comfortable and nicely decorated. The highlight of our stay was the breakfast which we had the choice to take at the very nice cafe right next to the hotel, called "Kipos". It was probably the best I've been served in the island (in any cafeteria).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happiness_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

It's our first time staying at the little white houses and the Pelican blew our mind. You can never get tired of the white structures and the blue sea. Quiet yet it's situated at Fira, one of the biggest town on the island. We walked down the slope, rented a car and started our Island journey. It's got some more private rooms if that concerns you. Be sure to walk around the hotel before deciding which room to stay at.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xpertkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

At first I only stay in this hotel for one night but due to strike in greece we are force to extend one more night in this hotel and it turn out to be a good stay,eventhough its relatively simple hotel but its very easy to find a good food around the hotel and its very peaceful so you can relax your mind.Staff of this hotel also quite friendly and ready to accomodate your need

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We had already spent two nights in Oia so a Caldera view was not important at this point. We were looking basically for a convenient place to sleep while in Fira and the Pelican met our needs. The room was clean and a decent size. The bathroom included a tub and shower. Others mentioned noise being a problem but our room was facing the back and did not bother us. This place is recommended if you need a clean and comfortable place to sleep in Fira but do not need a view. Restaurants, shops and the bus station are a short walk away. Continental breakfast is included and consists of a boiled egg, assorted breads and jelly, juice, tea and coffee. Free wireless internet is available.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISPpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Convenient for shops, restaurants and bars and with an especially nice outdoor bar/ snackery next door this is a good choice. it's well-run, clean and the accommodation is of good standard. Nice room with good air con and comfortable beds. View was to road - but good d glazing - not conscious of noise. Breakfast is a bit Greek - slightly odd choice of stuff - but lovely service. Fira is though astonishingly expensive and the hotel has no view. Recommended as a good mid-price choice especially if touring the islands. I would certainly stay there again - but this location - and Fira itself are best visited for a couple of nights rather than a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2007

We stayed in Pelican Hotel during the first week of May, 2007. Indeed
is located exactly in the central square of Fira, which is the capital of the island! The location is very central, so you have everything next to your room.

The rooms were as we were promised, clean an comfortable.
Surprisingly, nice bath tubs; usually in low-budget hotels, you find showers. Another surpise was the breakfast that was served all the day, no time-restrictions! Really enoyed that!

The guys at the reception offer great advise and travel agency services, because of "Pelican Travel" that belongs to the same company.

We would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kenrobins32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Costa Marina Villas
Costa Marina Villas
#5 of 80 in Fira
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santorini
Hotel Santorini
#45 of 80 in Fira
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nemesis Rooms & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#60 of 80 in Fira
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#50 of 80 in Fira
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: Central square of Fira, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range: £45 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pelican Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the vibrant central square of Fira, the capital of Santorini, just a few steps away from the famous caldera, shops, restaurants and bars, bus and taxi station, Pelican is an all-time classic hotel in Santorini and it is open all year round.Pelican Hotel offers free WiFi internet access, air-condition, central heating and travel agency services. Right next to the property is the café-wine restaurant “Pelican kipos”, in a beautiful garden where the hotel guests can enjoy their breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks.The rooms, simple and clean, include free WiFi internet access, private bathroom with a bathtub, hairdryer, LED/LCD TV, air-condition, safe deposit box, electric kettle and a fridge.Perfectly located and with very reasonable prices, Pelican is one of the best value for money hotels in Fira, right next to every single hot spot of Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Fira
Pelican Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing