We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eggs Benedict down over there...”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict down over there...”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Caldera, or not... there are so many amazing choices of accommodation on Santorini, and you may not get it right the first time, grotto, or windows...
Away from the breezy brink, breakfast is served all hours at the Pelican and the adjoining garden restaurant serves all meals in its spacious tropical bar and eating areas.
The rooms are clean and double-glazed, the staff are helpful and savvy, the location is central and easy, groups like ours can meet in the foyer before starting their day, and gather next door in the evening.
During the day you could check out more esoteric digs, with views to the west, wind in your face, and perhaps even those eggs, then return to the hot water and comfy linen at the Pelican, where they could probably do a Hollandaise sauce if you wanted.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianfromAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    58
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
48
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

LOCATION
excellent location. this place is one of the closest hotels to the Fira main area. there are restaurants across the street and next to the hotel. you are less than a minute from the main street with ATMs, restaurants, souvenir shops. you are on the same road that takes you to the old port. you are less than 10 minutes from the local bus station which connects you to beaches, archeological sites, Oia for between 1-2 euros (much cheaper than tour buses!)

SERVICE
staff is direct and helpful. they spoke English. staff was willing to help. they were happy to chat or not as you chose. they made dinner reservations for us. rooms were cleaned daily. helped arrange a taxi for our departure. i had requested a room we could reach with no stairs, and they not only said they had it, they showed me the room and held it for me even though i had not pad yet. they also had an icepack for my friend's sprained ankle and they were happy to swap them out and keep us well iced when we were in the room.

FACILITIES
room is simple and spacious. wifi is Fast. room has A/C and windows open too. bathroom had enough space too with a bathtub and shower. there is also a flat screen TV in the room, but we didn't really use it. humidity in room was occasionally an issue, but the A/C fixed it. lobby area is nice with couches and coffee tables. lobby has a separate wifi password which is a little strange, but it has wifi so i was happy with that.

Room Tip: room 17 is on the ground floor, you don't have go to up any steps once you're in the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vuchli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were really expecting a good trip to Santorini. However, upon reaching the harbor my hotel forgot to fetch us. Can you imagine calling the hotel at close to 1am and nobody willing to entertain us. We were worried and couldn't even dreamed of what we would have to do at the harbor till morning.

Luckily there was 1 taxi driver willing to wait for us while we made our phone calls to the hotels asking for available accommodation and we hesitated with the taxi driver's recommended hotel as we worry they were going to overcharge us.

To cut the long story short, we agreed with the taxi drivers recommendation, which was Pelican Hotel. Luckily the hotel had an extra room. The amazing thing was, the hotel and taxi driver did not overcharge us. In fact it was cheaper than the rates online. So there was a silver lining after all.

The room given to us was spacious, clean and was very nice. It was even quiet (well at 2.30am there isn't anyone awake but us). The toilet was clean and the water pressure was great. It even had a bath tub.

The next morning, we woke up late due to the events of the night before. We found out that we did not have any breakfast that came with the room. To our surprise, the staff offered us free breakfast. It came with a cup of orange juice, tea, many assortments of bread, yogurt and an egg!. What a wonderful hearty breakfast we had.

To add a little spice to our trip, the hotel location was perfect and the staff allowed us to keep our baggage at the counter as we walked around the town of Fira. It was 5 minutes to the bus stop and we could plan all our travel on the bus from there.

So my holiday in Santorini did not start off quite as good but it was a marvelous blessing in disguise for us staying at Hotel Pelican.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I would like to comment on my residence in Santorini. It is a very beautiful island, which I would definitely visit again and again. I' ve already been there three times! As far as Pelican hotel is concerned, we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and the personnel was very helpful. Also, everything was close, so we felt comfortable. That's why I totally recommend it and I will stay there during my next visit!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have been in Santorini during winter time, and it was windy, rainy and cold.
The island was still very beautiful but it was difficult to find a warm and economic place to stay.
In Santorini, in low season, most of the hotels (we have tried three already before Pelican) are without reception desk and without heating.
Pelican seemed at that time like an oasis for us. There was Valentina in the front desk to welcome us and provide us with all we need to know about the island.
The rooms were just fine, (no views), warm and clean.
The breakfast in the morning was fresh and delicious.
Overall,If you want view or luxury go elsewhere.
If you want low budget vacation and warm hospitality, Pelican is a great choice!

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor are more quite
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 964ANNYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Hotel is located near the bus terminal.. 5 mins walk.. also close to restaurant.. shops, etc. Room is clean, decent.. wifi good. Breakfast is simple.. coffee, juice, egg and bread…
Staff very friendly. Informative... remembers your booking ☺.. a plus…
If you wants a central location to stay and to use the bus to move around.. then you should stay in Fira. Took the bus from airport to Fira. Remember to get the bus schedule so you can plan your other trips to Oia… must go.. to see the sunset.. problem is what to do for 2 hours while waiting for the sun to set.. and if you taking the bus back to hotel.. don’t wait till the sun finally set before you go to the bus stop, chances are the bus will be full and standing rooms only..
If you staying in Fira.. you should try ‘To Chorio’.. grill house just down the road from Pelican… fresh.. good service… great food… ☺.. alternatively can try Mama’s House…

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cylee3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

That sounds like a tongue twister :)
The magnificent much talked about sunset from the Oia village of this Greek Caldera Island has a magic pull. Everything I had read or seen of this place was about the beaches, summers, sunsets but as luck would have it I got an opportunity to come here only in Dec-Jan. It breaks your heart to see every hotel closed during winter months and as I searched more on the net, found out that the island is empty during winters, barring a few thousand locals and tourists you can probably count on your fingers! Its cold, raining and most of the places are closed.
But I am glad we decided to still go ahead with our plan.

We were suggested to look for a place in fira, the town center. Found Pelican most suitably located, having its own bar/restaurant so food gets taken care and very well. One of the staff there helped my husband plan a surprise dinner with cake, music & sparkling wine(on the house) for my bday just after the new years eve. Breakfasts with the greek yogurt, local fruit preserves and honey were superb.

The reality conforms with the positive reviews on tripadvisor. The rooms are basic, clean, keep you warm. The staff is pleasant and very helpful. Danae gets a special mention and thanks because even in her last trimester she did her best to attend to our requests. The night shift staff didnt understand english very well though and I had a difficult time explaining to him when I wanted another blanket but I am not complaining.

There is a tavern right across the street that has great food and service as well. There are all kind of shops you would expect on a small island, nearby. Bus stop is just behind the hotel. But the best way to explore is walking. And one thing you will miss is the touristy buzz and open stalls selling curios and souvenirs. For all of that you have to come in summers and I hear its too crowded and hot and you have to share the streets with the mules.

Sea can be rough at this time so we flew from Athens. Andreas from budget rent a car agency gave us a great suggestion. He said 'go to Sento Wines for it offers a beautiful sunset view point'. Its on the cliff around Athinios port. After a night of hailstorm, I thought we were fortunate to be able to watch a golden sunset. The free wine tasting, an incentive!

Its a small island but offers such diversity in terms of beaches, you have red, black and pebble beach all very close. The hotel offers assistance with booking the rental car, boat trips and other activities. We just explored the island driving around and walking through marbles(streets as the locals call it) of Oia in North and the winding streets following the shape of the hills in South villages.

Great convenience and value for money!

Room Tip: Road facing first floor rooms are good in winters. Sun peaks in and you can see the moon over the Ae...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santorini
Hotel Santorini
#46 of 80 in Fira
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#47 of 80 in Fira
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#58 of 80 in Fira
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costa Marina Villas
Costa Marina Villas
#5 of 80 in Fira
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nemesis Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: Central square of Fira, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pelican Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the vibrant central square of Fira, the capital of Santorini, just a few steps away from the famous caldera, shops, restaurants and bars, bus and taxi station, Pelican is an all-time classic hotel in Santorini and it is open all year round.Pelican Hotel offers free WiFi internet access, air-condition, central heating and travel agency services. Right next to the property is the café-wine restaurant “Pelican kipos”, in a beautiful garden where the hotel guests can enjoy their breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks.The rooms, simple and clean, include free WiFi internet access, private bathroom with a bathtub, hairdryer, LED/LCD TV, air-condition, safe deposit box, electric kettle and a fridge.Perfectly located and with very reasonable prices, Pelican is one of the best value for money hotels in Fira, right next to every single hot spot of Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Fira
Pelican Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing