We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmopolitan Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Suites Hotel
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Cosmopolitan Suites on our honeymoon. We had very high expectations of the hotel and Santorini in general as we had heard good things about the island from friends and relatives and also were paying quite a lot to stay at the hotel. Unfortunately, we were disappointed both with the hotel and Santorini itself.

First, the positives:

The hotel is centrally located in Fira with easy access to many restaurants and shops.
There is a great view from the hotel overlooking the caldera and the ocean.
The staff were very friendly and we could see that they were really trying to take care of the guests.
We had a choice of breakfast and we enjoyed having a healthy alternative which included fruit salad, muesli and yoghurt.

Now, the negatives:

We were offered a welcome drink when we arrived at the hotel, however, never actually received the drink. Not a major issue, but if you are going to offer me a welcome drink then I expect to actually receive one!
Each morning we waited at least one hour for our breakfast to arrive after ordering it. We know that there weren't many staff members working but the breakfast we ordered each morning was quite simple - fruit salad, yoghurt with muesli and honey and a cup of tea. It really shouldn't take over an hour to make.
I booked this hotel because of the photos of the pool area in travel brochures. Whilst it was an infinity pool and was quite nice, there were only 4 double sun beds available by the pool so a maximum of 8 guests could lay by the pool at any given time. Of course, there were more than 8 guests staying in the hotel at any given time so never enough sun beds to go around. What else is there to do in Santorini but sit by the pool? (not much) Not only that, but despite a "first in, first served" policy by the hotel whereby guests were not supposed to "reserve" a sun bed by just leaving a towel on the sun bed and not actually using it, some guests would place their things on the sun bed and then proceed to sit at another table for hours before ever sitting on the sun bed. This was not controlled by the hotel staff and so some guests were left unable to sit by the pool at all.
The hotel room itself was average and not really what I would expect when paying so much to stay there each night.
We paid extra to have a "semi private terrace/balcony" which of course, was not private at all. In fact, other guests had to walk through our "semi private balcony" to get to their own rooms. At one point we actually had another guest standing right in front of our open door talking to his partner for some time while we were inside our room.

Some of these things, of course, can't really be helped and are not the fault of the hotel staff members, however, we paid 500 euros per night to stay there, so needless to say, we had high expectations. In my opinion, this hotel was not worth the money we paid to stay there, especially in light of the fact that the week prior we had stayed in a beautiful villa in Tuscany for around 800 euros for the entire week with the accommodation being far superior.

We did still enjoy ourselves as we needed a much deserved break and the staff were very friendly which is why I have scored the hotel a 3/5.

Some tips for future travellers to Santorini:
Do your research on accommodation options. I regret not having done more myself.
Stay in Oia and not Fira, especially if you are a couple or on your honeymoon. It is much nicer in Oia, cleaner, a bit more upmarket with nicer boutiques and less tacky souvenir shops like in Fira, less people, more traditional Santorini type buildings and it doesn't stink of donkeys!
Find somewhere with your own balcony/pool if possible.
We stayed for 4 nights and it was more than enough time in Santorini.
Be prepared to pay a lot for pretty much everything there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Courtney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    33
    15
    6
    16
See reviews for
31
265
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol District, Cyprus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The staff where wonderful unfortunately we booked 3 rooms for 3 couples . Our 2 rooms bellow the breakfast terrace where noisy small and badly designed. The bathrooms overflowed and the rooms where very tiny.There is no where to sit if windy and the pool area has very limited seating and if windy no protection. The breakfast area was very uncomfortable the chairs where terrible . Very central location and the staff where wonderful. The web site was so so misleading !!! would defiantly not recommend it

Room Tip: rooms under the breakfast where horrific !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am not sure if there is another hotel on earth that is as wonderful as this one! My husband and I just returned home from our honeymoon and after looking back at all of the places we stayed this tops the list. When we arrived we were greeted so sweetly by the staff and taken to fill out our check in documents while sipping a complimentary glass of champagne and looking at the beautiful view. When we mentioned that it was our honeymoon they were eager to upgrade us to a stunning suite overlooking the pool area and of course the caldera. There was a bottle of complimentary wine in our room which was perfect, we pupped it open and sat outside watching what was our favorite sunset while in Santorini right at the hotel. The staff were always so wonderful and gave us great dinner recommendations, they would always call ahead to make sure that we got a great table with a great view. We just loved the level of service and it really seemed like the staff cared about us and making sure that we had a great time! The breakfast at the hotel was the best on the trip, it is so great that you can order it and eat it wherever you would like (at your room, by the pool, in the dinning area)! Overall this was a wonderful hotel, you cant beat the location (right in the center of Fira), the views (breathtaking), the staff (kind and helpful) and the food(The yogurt with cherries was the best)! If you are looking to splurge on one hotel on your trip make it this one, you will really feel like you have the place to yourself since it only has about 10 rooms and the staff will be attentive to your every need. We are looking forward to spending an Anniversary here in the future, in fact I really could move in and spend the rest of my life there!


**When you arrive note that this hotel is located off a street that does not allow cars so you will need to take your bags uphill about 2 blocks on cobble stone streets but if you are unable to you can always ask the hotel porter to come and help you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you come to Santorini and you don't stay here, then you have missed out!
Such a lovely hotel, run by such nice people (Viki and Dimitria)

Lovely pool area, gorgeous infinity pool with the best views of the volcano!!

I was looked after so well and made to feel so welcome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuarterBackPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I just stayed at Cosmopolitan with a group of girls for 4 nights. We had an amazing time. First, the hotel is in the center if Fira which made dining out very easy. The pool is gorgeous, with an incredible view. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Vicky. They set up excursions for us, made dinner reservations, sent our laundry out etc. We had two rooms which were both very lovely. If I had to give one criticism, it would just be that the rooms are a tad small and dark. But it's hard to complain when the only time we spent in them was to sleep. We really took advantage of the island, doing a catamaran one day, renting ATV's another day, wine tasting, shopping etc. The complimentary breakfast is probably the best deal of all. It's huge and delicious so don't miss it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Simply Stunning!

This would have to be one of the best places I have stayed at. This hotel has everything going for it. Right in the heart of Fira, the best infinity pool I have seen, amazing views, beautiful breakfast and wonderful staff! The hotel only has 10 rooms so feels really cosy., and whilst we were there all the guests got to know each other, making it all the more enjoyable. We will never forget our time in Santorini and a lot of it has to do with the wonderful people we met at the Cosmopolitan and the magical views we woke up to everyday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cpale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

What an amazing experience we had here. First of all, the view from the pool is better than what you see online. It's breathtaking. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is served every morning and it is DELICIOUS. You can even have your breakfast in bed if you'd like. The pool also never gets crowded. The location is also great, with unlimited choices of restaurants and bars nearby. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fefi_223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.2 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athina Luxury Suites
Athina Luxury Suites
#20 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nefeles Suites Hotel
Nefeles Suites Hotel
#29 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aria Suites
Aria Suites
#22 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Suites Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Suites Hotel
Address: Fira, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#16 Family Hotel in Fira
#17 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the cerulean Aegean Sea and the azure sky of the Cyclades Islands, the Cosmopolitan luxury suites in Santorini are nestled in the heart of Fira town offering the most amazing panoramic view of the iridescent sea and legendary Santorini sunset. Miraculously hanging from one of the volcanic cliffs of the Caldera, these Caldera view luxury suites in Santorini reflect the stunning architecture of the Cyclades islands and fully embrace the essence of island holidays in Greece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Cosmopolitan Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Fira
Cosmopolitan Suites Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing