We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic view, great location, helpful staff”
Review of Astir Thira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astir Thira Hotel
Ranked #48 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic view, great location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our two week honeymoon of Greece and Turkey and it was, hands down, our favorite hotel!

Our room had a beautiful view of both coasts, and we spent every night watching the sunset on our balcony. While some reviews we had read, complained about the noise from the street, we didn't find that this negatively impacted our stay. It was only noisy when you were on the balcony but we enjoyed watching people walk and drive by, including watching the donkeys heading to and from town each day.

It was very convenient being within walking distance to Fira, about a 10 minute walk, with restaurants, and shopping available. In addition, there is a medium size supermarket one block away with anything you would want to purchase to make your own meals. I don't think we would like to be any closer to the town, as we caught a 6:00a.m. shuttle to the ferry on Sunday morning and were surprised when we got outside to hear the disco music still going. We spoke to others on our tour who were in a hotel closer to town who indicated they hadn't slept all night because of the noise. In fact, almost everyone who was in a hotel other than the Astir Thira had complaints about their hotel.

We were also super impressed with the staff here. Both ladies at the desk were incredibly helpful with everything from restaurant suggestions, to directions to stores to buy specific souvenirs, to helping us book a car for the day. In addition, when we accidentally broke the key off in our door lock, it was changed within 10 minutes.

The breakfast was good, decent variety for a hotel of this size and while it was sometimes challenging finding a seat, sharing a table with others was a great way to meet people!

The pool was also beautiful, clean, enough seating, and with rarely anyone using it. Also, this was the only place we stayed with FREE wifi!

As an aside for Santorini first-timers - renting a car is totally worth it! We just did one day and went from end to end of the island and then up to the highest point (not for the faint of heart but worth it!). Navigating is easier than we thought and outside the city driving is very easy

Final advice? make no mistake, this is a boutique hotel: small, quaint, clean and great service. If you are looking for something bigger, than go bigger. If you are looking for a nice, safe hotel to use as your base while you explore this beautiful island, than this is the place for you!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor over looking the street have the most incredible views of the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    93
    58
    17
    8
See reviews for
42
114
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 3 females staying in the triple ground floor volcano view room. Each morning we were enchanted by the sight of donkeys trotting past on their way to town. The room was very clean. My best impression is of the lovely staff who posted my lost cardigan back to me in Sydney at no charge. They were always kind, helpful & very patient. Thank you so much. Tip: skip the pleasant basic breakfast at the hotel at least once for one in town at a cafe on the cliff with dramatic views.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JoLMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Astir Thira was a short walk from the center of town. The staff was helpful and kind. There was FREE wifi. During a midnight thunderstorm, rain oozed in under our door. We had an adequate room. Our friends paid more for a view of the caldera, but they got the blazing western sun in the afternoon as well. I think this hotel is a good value.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jnp48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Hotel is relatively new, and only a 5 minute casual walk into the centre of town. We stayed in a room by the pool and loved it. You can booked a room with a sunrise or sunset view, but we preferred by the pool as one needs only to walk out to the front of the hotel and see a spectulnar
Sunset. Breakfast is continental only. Free wifi everywhere in the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel is a good 4 star rating

Room Tip: I erred on the restaurant as there in not one. Breakfast is self serve in a dining area which is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikecudgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The Astir Thira has a lot going for it: great location, clean, and in our case, spacious, clean room, and very helpful, interested staff. We were warned that operators can be tired of tourists at the end of the season, but there was no evidence of that at this hotel. We did find the bed very hard and uncomfortable, though and this detracted from what was a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank patchycrowsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Although only a one night stay in mid September, we would be happy to go here again. We did have a lower level room beside the pool, but if staying longer we would want a better room. Lovely room once in side and very clean, also a very good quality breakfast. Located only 5 mins walk from Thira bus station this is ideal for trip to Oia and to Kamari in one day. The rest of the town is also in easy walking distance, even the 530 steps down the donkey path.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel was in the perfect location for us; about 1/4 mile from the old town so far enough away not to hear the night music but close enough to walk to it (up hill) to access museums, cable car, restaurants, shops, the market -- and there are several laundromats (not self-service) not far either. We had a balcony room on the top floor looking out on the caldera. Yes there was a bit of traffic from the road but it stopped by 10pm. We enjoyed the pool too and the staff were friendly and helpful. Wi-fi was good as was breakfast.

Room Tip: If want to see volcano, ask for a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGKCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Nemesis Rooms & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#38 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Philippion Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#44 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#31 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Daedalus Hotel
Daedalus Hotel
#73 of 80 in Fira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir Thira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Thira Hotel

Property: Astir Thira Hotel
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Astir Thira Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Fira, the capital of Santorini, a few meters from the main square, is the Astir Thira Hotel. It’s a newly-built luxurious hotel with a spectacular view of the Volcano and the beautiful sunset. Our facilities offer 23 luxurious and comfortable rooms, all equipped with private bath and balcony, telephone, channels of music, fridge, colour television with greek and satellite channels, air-conditioning, hair-dryer and safe deposit box. The Hotel also offers a breakfast area, a salon with TV, Internet access and a relaxing swimming pool for enjoyment. The warm, friendly and family atmosphere as well as our helpful staff guarantee, a fantastic and unforgettable vacation. Have a nice day and many thanks for your staying at ASTIR THIRA HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astir Thira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astir Thira
Astir Thira Fira
Astir Thira Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing