We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming family-run hotel”
Review of Astir Thira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astir Thira Hotel
Ranked #49 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming family-run hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is one of the best places to stay in Fira. It is away from the hustle & bustle of the main town but close enough to go to all the cool places by foot (max. 15 minutes of leisurely walk). Argyro is helpful, polite and tries her best to make your stay as wonderful as possible. This family run hotel makes you feel like you are at home. Argyro's mom prepares a simple but nice breakfast and always has a smile on her face. The rooms are clean, cool (functioning A.C.) and simple.

Room Tip: Caldera facing rooms are great but you must book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    93
    58
    17
    8
See reviews for
42
114
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Fira, Santorini is a beautiful setting for a holiday, it ticks all boxes on every level!
The hotel Astir Thira is set just outside the main town, just 5 minutes walk to the square and main bus station. This is a family run hotel and the staff are amazing, very helpful and they went out of their way daily to help all their guests. The guests in the hotel come from all over the world, young, old, families and singles. The buffet breakfast is just enough to get you by till lunch, mainly a continental selection - cheese, ham, toast, fruit, yogurt. The rooms are basic but everything you need, very clean with fab air conditioning. We had a sunset view room which had the most stunning sunset views every evening. The hotel pool area was just big enough for the 23 rooms in the hotel. There were always sun beds available and it was great for a refreshing dip at the end of a hot day - pool open till 10pm.
We enjoyed many many restaurants in Fira, we loved Mamas House - 5 mins from the hotel by the bus station.,the food is delicious and Mama is tiny but wow what a character.
We travelled around the island by local bus only €1.60 - €3.20. We saw the sunset at Oia and spent days at the Kamari beach.
Our favourite day in Santorini was a sunset cruise, this was organised through the hotel. Dream catcher catamaran, picked up at the hotel, travelled to Oia and sailed around the volcano visiting the hot springs. Are 2-3 swim stops dinner was serviced. Traditional Greek food, very delicious!
We then sailed to view the red and white beaches just in time to watch the sun setting over the sea.
All in all highly recommend the hotel - Santorini is everything you expect and more!
If your looking for a small quaint bar try the Kira Thira Jazz Bar in Fira, the staff are great, the cocktails to die for and the music is JAZZ and more. See you soon Santorini!

Room Tip: Go for the sunset view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dechantler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This family run hotel really took us by surprise,and a very pleasant surprise.Great location with our room over the front looking out over the Caldera with views of cruise ships coming and going.An easy walk up to the town which had everything we could want,a beautiful pool in the centre which gave a welcome relief to the heat.Wonderful staff whom nothing was too much trouble for them.Definitely staying here next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldKiwiFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It's not in the townsquare of fira, but quite easy to the town. About 10 minute walk. Great if you are into walking. Carrefour is nearby. Rooms are clean. AC is wonderful. My room faced the pool which was lovely. You can't swim past 10 however. It has a great place for breakfast. Staff (morning staff) are very friendly. The hotel is manned 24/7. There was some initial snag with internet but it's more iPhone and Mac related and it fixed itself for some reason. I find the in room fridge very helpful on a hot summer day. I also enjoyed the running path outside of the hotel. It's not the cheap but it's very easy to get around. Rented a car one day and it was easy because the staff arranged for drop off and pick up. The airport pick up was also nice. You should pre-arrange it with the hotel. I very much enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vedison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

santoriny is very famous for sunset. people go to Oia just to witness the beautiful sunset.Astir thira hotel is located on such a place of Santorini island that one can enjoy the first ray of sun from the back side of the hotel and sunset can be enjoyed from front of the hotel .the internal ambiance of the hotel is also very tastefully designed. We enjoyed our stay over there a lot. Hotel staff was very helpful in every manner. this is the best located boutique hotel having walking distance from main market and city bus stand. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on left side are best as having views of both sunset and sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sagrawal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is situated in an ideal location to visit Santorini, especially Fira. The hotel staff is VERY helpful and helped us in understanding bus schedule and booking tours. We were granted an upgrade free of charge when we arrived and the extra space was wonderful. Pool a welcome treat after a hot day. Breakfast was plentiful. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor close to the pool so that you heard alot of water running through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryna20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had two weeks on Santorini and this was an excellent base to explore the island. Spotlessly clean, very helpful and friendly staff, nice rooms and the breakfasts were lovely. (Try the home made Yoghurt and Jam)

The pool, like the rest of the hotel, was sparkling clean and if you wanted any help with places to go or eat the staff were happy to help with good suggestions and bookings.

It is only a few minutes walk from the town centre and the main bus stop for the island but just far enough out to be a nice quiet spot. We really enjoyed our fortnight there.

Room Tip: If you pay a bit extra you get a view of the volcano rather than the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Nemesis Rooms & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#38 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Philippion Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#44 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#31 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Daedalus Hotel
Daedalus Hotel
#73 of 80 in Fira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir Thira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Thira Hotel

Property: Astir Thira Hotel
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Astir Thira Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Fira, the capital of Santorini, a few meters from the main square, is the Astir Thira Hotel. It’s a newly-built luxurious hotel with a spectacular view of the Volcano and the beautiful sunset. Our facilities offer 23 luxurious and comfortable rooms, all equipped with private bath and balcony, telephone, channels of music, fridge, colour television with greek and satellite channels, air-conditioning, hair-dryer and safe deposit box. The Hotel also offers a breakfast area, a salon with TV, Internet access and a relaxing swimming pool for enjoyment. The warm, friendly and family atmosphere as well as our helpful staff guarantee, a fantastic and unforgettable vacation. Have a nice day and many thanks for your staying at ASTIR THIRA HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astir Thira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astir Thira
Astir Thira Fira
Astir Thira Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing