We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple hotel, view is priceless!”
Review of Porto Carra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porto Carra Hotel
Ranked #61 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel is very simple, its location, location, location!!
You have Caldera View, and are in tou the centre, what more do you want!
They even have sunloungers on the terrace and embrella's.
The beds are hard, but thats greek. For 3 nights its okay, for more comfort you have to pay more.
We were here in May 2007.

Tip; Go to Kamari for another 3 days!

Room Tip: all of Caldera view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

The view is beautiful and the rooms are okay. The walk up to the top of Fira which is were the hotel is can be very difficult to get to with bags. The rooms was a little musty but I have stayed in worse. We paid 70 Euro and it inlcuded breakfast, which was toast and coffee) we went out for breakfast after.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walshie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We were recommended this hotel by the man at the tourist office at the port when our ferry to Crete was cancelled because of the strong winds (The Hellenic Seaways Flyingcat – I gathered later this is a common occurrence) and we needed a room for the night. It was a bad mistake. This hotel has two serious problems. The first is indeed the overpowering stench of mule excreta mentioned by another reviewer. It is not just that the steep path up which the poor animals have to haul their clients adjoins the wall of the terrace of the hotel, but the fact that during the day literally dozens of them are tethered there waiting for a customer, and while waiting they urinate and defecate, as one might expect. By the end of the day the smell is simply disgusting and permeates the whole establishment.
The second is that the hotel is a very long way from a road, via a large cobbled pedestrian area and then down maybe fifty cobbled steps or more and hauling your cases to it is a very serious problem. Getting them back up again is a worse problem but at least a waiter offered to help us, for a fee – but that was 5 Euros very well spent.
Apart from these issues, the room we were in was very sparsely furnished – no pictures on the walls – and the bathroom was primitive even by greek standards – the shower was a dribble which nevertheless soaked the floor of the whole bathroom because there is no shower tray. The breakfast was basic – a few pieces of sliced bread toast and some orange juice and coffee as I recall.
The views from the terraces are indeed spectacular, as they are from almost all hotels on the caldera side of the island, but the rooms do not all have private terraces, and most share a terrace with two or three other rooms which is the only means of access to those rooms.
The legend on the back of the door said that the standard rent for our room when we stayed was 148 Euros. We paid 100 Euros. I suppose that is cheapish for a view of the caldera on Santorini, but it really wasn’t a pleasant experience. We won’t be going back to the hotel- ever - or even to Santorini any time soon. Santorini is a one trick pony. The beaches on the island are few and no more than moderate, and prices in the restaurants and bars are generally very high. Once you’ve spent a few hours looking at the caldera from various angles (maybe the best viewpoint is the Santos Winery, on the way towards the port) and marvelling at the houses – in fact mainly hotel cave rooms – perched on the cliff, it begins to get boring very swiftly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freeman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

The only really good thing about this hotel is the views. And the views are spectacular. Each room has its own balcony overlooking the caldera. There were a few issues with the room-it smelled like donkey since our room was right next to the donkey trail up the cliff AND the room was kind of dingy, but it is all WORTH it. The views are just extraordinary. If you require more than a comfy bed and breathtaking views, stay somewhere else. Otherwise, stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyhearttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Very very nice place in Thira,,huge terrace and large room ,the hotel is on the caldera view but the price is very reasonable,i will return!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank one-romanian_artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

clean hotel with an incredible view of the amazing caldera of Santorini.Good and tasty food at the restaurant.
But the rating of an hotel or restaurant is not only a question of cleaning and quality of food.
It's principally a question of kindness and hospitality.
The reason of my lowest rating about Porto Carra is just depending on the last two factors.
The day before my departure I was witness of a shameful episode: a young man, with his little child coming from the famous and arduous path of the mule from port of Thira to downtown asked to Mrs ....(hotel administrator, I don't remember her name) for the toilet to be used by the child.
Instead of allowing (as he was obliged to do so) to use the toilet she made understand to the father that the WC would have been opened to his child only if he had had a coffee otherwise they had to look for a toilet downtown (it means almost 200 metres of stairs!!!!).
I was simply disgusted of her objectively condemnable and ashamed behaviour .
I think I'll never go back to this hotel.
People like the administrator of this hotel don't deserve to stay neither in a so beautiful island like Santorini nor with the human beings!!!God forgive them...

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank miller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2007

This must be one of the best value for money hotels in Thira!! The views were unbeatable and that for less than 100 Euros including breakfast. Our room was very spacious and clean. Even though the owners speak very little English, they were very helpful and friendly. We are going back there this year!

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank Carla28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.2 mi away
Aroma Suites
Aroma Suites
#31 of 81 in Fira
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 81 in Fira
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 81 in Fira
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#7 of 81 in Fira
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
1.7 mi away
De Sol Spa Hotel
De Sol Spa Hotel
#9 of 81 in Fira
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Carra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Carra Hotel

Address: Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Price Range: £89 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Porto Carra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the hotel Porto Carra, the panoramic view of the volcano and the famous magnificent sunset of Santorini directly from your room. Our complex consists of 10 double and 3 triple rooms with verandas overlooking Aegean Sea. It is located at Fira center, the capital of Santorini a short walk from the shopping area, restaurants, cafes and bars. All rooms equipped with bathroom, TV, air-condition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Carra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Carra Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing