We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”
Review of Porto Carra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porto Carra Hotel
Ranked #58 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Very very nice place in Thira,,huge terrace and large room ,the hotel is on the caldera view but the price is very reasonable,i will return!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank one-romanian_artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SICILY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

clean hotel with an incredible view of the amazing caldera of Santorini.Good and tasty food at the restaurant.
But the rating of an hotel or restaurant is not only a question of cleaning and quality of food.
It's principally a question of kindness and hospitality.
The reason of my lowest rating about Porto Carra is just depending on the last two factors.
The day before my departure I was witness of a shameful episode: a young man, with his little child coming from the famous and arduous path of the mule from port of Thira to downtown asked to Mrs ....(hotel administrator, I don't remember her name) for the toilet to be used by the child.
Instead of allowing (as he was obliged to do so) to use the toilet she made understand to the father that the WC would have been opened to his child only if he had had a coffee otherwise they had to look for a toilet downtown (it means almost 200 metres of stairs!!!!).
I was simply disgusted of her objectively condemnable and ashamed behaviour .
I think I'll never go back to this hotel.
People like the administrator of this hotel don't deserve to stay neither in a so beautiful island like Santorini nor with the human beings!!!God forgive them...

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Rudeness, intolerance of children from the administrator (and her daughter)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank miller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2007

This must be one of the best value for money hotels in Thira!! The views were unbeatable and that for less than 100 Euros including breakfast. Our room was very spacious and clean. Even though the owners speak very little English, they were very helpful and friendly. We are going back there this year!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2005

We stayed at the Porto Carra after asking the locals for an economical option on the caldera rim - 40 Euros in June for the amazing view I have ever seen. My wife and I were blown away - we were surrounded by hotels where people were paying nearly 9 times what we paid for the same view.
Admittedly, rooms were basic, but clean. Also, the hotel has a great bar where you can enjoy a cocktail right on the rim of the caldera.
Unbeatable value for money

  • Stayed June 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tonitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2004

My wife and I stayed at Porto Carra in June, 2004, and absolutely loved it. We had heard stories about how expensive it was to stay on the Caldera, but everyone said there's no point going to Santorini if you are going to stay anywhere but the Caldera. People - it is definitely worth the extra dollars!

Porto Carra has really friendly staff (ahem, though the cleaning lady can be a bit short!), and a lovely wine bar - perfect for a cocktail while watching those magnificent sunsets, or for a coffee and a romantic nightcap.

Located just near the steps - the "donkey trail" - down to the bay, you can sit and watch the donkeys going up and down all day, bringing the tourists in from the cruise ships.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, although like many Greek island hotels, there is a little bit of mildew and damp around the place. We had no complaints about the bed. Towels were a bit on the thin and coarse side, but changed daily. Each room has a large terrace that is shared with the room next door, and is equipped with tables, chairs, umbrellas and greenery.

And when the afternoon comes, grab a bottle of local wine from one of the bottle shops nearby, and settle in for that sunset.

Stay at Porto Carra. Marvel at the view. Then pinch yourself. You only paid 60 Euros.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DWR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Kastro Suites Santorini
0.1 mi away
Adamis Majesty Suites
0.1 mi away
Iriana Rooms and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loucas Hotel
Loucas Hotel
#62 of 80 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nefeles Suites Hotel
Nefeles Suites Hotel
#31 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santorini Reflexions Volcano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Carra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Carra Hotel

Property: Porto Carra Hotel
Address: Thira, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Porto Carra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the hotel Porto Carra, the panoramic view of the volcano and the famous magnificent sunset of Santorini directly from your room. Our complex consists of 10 double and 3 triple rooms with verandas overlooking Aegean Sea. It is located at Fira center, the capital of Santorini a short walk from the shopping area, restaurants, cafes and bars. All rooms equipped with bathroom, TV, air-condition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Porto Carra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Carra Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing