We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A little paradise"”
Review of Porto Carra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Porto Carra Hotel
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A little paradise"”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 8 days and it was the best experience in my life!It was like being in paradise!Everything was magic!The owners and the staff were very kind and hospitable.The room was very clean and the view breathtaking!This hotel has the best bar in Santorini,so I suggest everyone to visit it!I spend many hours watching the stunning view,while drinking cocktails!Tell the barman about your favourite tastes and let him create the most suitable drink for you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have recently stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. The owners , brother and sister Maya and Ahman are the best!! The most kindness and hospitable people you could meet. We love this hotel and would certainly stay again. The most wonderful views . Love this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed there with my friend Wendy for 3 nights and it was extremely amazing! I like our room No.4 with a fantastic view of in the balcony with the volcano and Aegean Sea. A glass of red wine made in Santorini with the sunset would be fabulous! The owner is a very nice lady and her brother is also kind. They provided nice breakfast for guests everyday but it was not written on booking, which surprised me a lot when I got free breakfast there!! It is said to be the oldest hotel in Fira. The present owner bought it last year and they renovated it all over. Now it looks pretty fabulous and every room has its own balcony towards the sea view. I would say it is the best place in Fira with best room and best people!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Forget all that messing about going to Oia to stand with the hundreds of babbling tourists. Grab a drink and sit on their roof terrace and soak up one of the best views on the island. Maya and her husband are very friendly lovely people, so it is a win win situation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DT_Northerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel is very simple, its location, location, location!!
You have Caldera View, and are in tou the centre, what more do you want!
They even have sunloungers on the terrace and embrella's.
The beds are hard, but thats greek. For 3 nights its okay, for more comfort you have to pay more.
We were here in May 2007.

Tip; Go to Kamari for another 3 days!

Room Tip: all of Caldera view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The view is beautiful and the rooms are okay. The walk up to the top of Fira which is were the hotel is can be very difficult to get to with bags. The rooms was a little musty but I have stayed in worse. We paid 70 Euro and it inlcuded breakfast, which was toast and coffee) we went out for breakfast after.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walshie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Thames
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We were recommended this hotel by the man at the tourist office at the port when our ferry to Crete was cancelled because of the strong winds (The Hellenic Seaways Flyingcat – I gathered later this is a common occurrence) and we needed a room for the night. It was a bad mistake. This hotel has two serious problems. The first is indeed the overpowering stench of mule excreta mentioned by another reviewer. It is not just that the steep path up which the poor animals have to haul their clients adjoins the wall of the terrace of the hotel, but the fact that during the day literally dozens of them are tethered there waiting for a customer, and while waiting they urinate and defecate, as one might expect. By the end of the day the smell is simply disgusting and permeates the whole establishment.
The second is that the hotel is a very long way from a road, via a large cobbled pedestrian area and then down maybe fifty cobbled steps or more and hauling your cases to it is a very serious problem. Getting them back up again is a worse problem but at least a waiter offered to help us, for a fee – but that was 5 Euros very well spent.
Apart from these issues, the room we were in was very sparsely furnished – no pictures on the walls – and the bathroom was primitive even by greek standards – the shower was a dribble which nevertheless soaked the floor of the whole bathroom because there is no shower tray. The breakfast was basic – a few pieces of sliced bread toast and some orange juice and coffee as I recall.
The views from the terraces are indeed spectacular, as they are from almost all hotels on the caldera side of the island, but the rooms do not all have private terraces, and most share a terrace with two or three other rooms which is the only means of access to those rooms.
The legend on the back of the door said that the standard rent for our room when we stayed was 148 Euros. We paid 100 Euros. I suppose that is cheapish for a view of the caldera on Santorini, but it really wasn’t a pleasant experience. We won’t be going back to the hotel- ever - or even to Santorini any time soon. Santorini is a one trick pony. The beaches on the island are few and no more than moderate, and prices in the restaurants and bars are generally very high. Once you’ve spent a few hours looking at the caldera from various angles (maybe the best viewpoint is the Santos Winery, on the way towards the port) and marvelling at the houses – in fact mainly hotel cave rooms – perched on the cliff, it begins to get boring very swiftly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freeman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Loucas Hotel
Loucas Hotel
#65 of 80 in Fira
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santorini Reflexions Volcano
0.1 mi away
Kastro Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cori Rigas Suites
Cori Rigas Suites
#38 of 80 in Fira
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adamis Majesty Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Odyssey
Hotel Villa Odyssey
#69 of 80 in Fira
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Carra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Carra Hotel

Property: Porto Carra Hotel
Address: Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Porto Carra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the hotel Porto Carra, the panoramic view of the volcano and the famous magnificent sunset of Santorini directly from your room. Our complex consists of 10 double and 3 triple rooms with verandas overlooking Aegean Sea. It is located at Fira center, the capital of Santorini a short walk from the shopping area, restaurants, cafes and bars. All rooms equipped with bathroom, TV, air-condition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Porto Carra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Carra Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing