We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Hotel Golden Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Golden Star
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This was a great place to stay for a vacation. It was clean and very authentic looking. The staff was very friendly, always willing to help line up adventures and answer questions. It was a good location, right by the bus station and close to bars and restaurants. We were able to get a shuttle to the ferry for no charge. Overall, I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    80
    35
    19
    18
See reviews for
33
97
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Best of the best hotels. Run by a truely caring family. All perfect felt like home
Clean. Swimming area was the highlight of the hotel. Service was Amazing especially by the daughter Katrina and father. Good breakfast. Excellant location at the center of the city Fira.
Very good for the money only 55 Euro per night per room for 2 end of May even include transport from and to port or airport. Free internet and WiFi, Cannot be better. Sure will be back again
They got another hotel with Amazing sea views called Nefeli I think and that was even better but bit more expensive run by the mother who was even more caring and with an exceptional customer service. Thank you guys for your hospitality and for the good time we had

Room Tip: All Rooms are pool side so no worries
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojuventus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We just recently stayed at Hotel Golden Star and it was beyond amazing. The breath-taking views , the professional service and purely just excellent standards all around. The room was always kept tidy by one of the friendly staff which was absolutely fantastic. The swimming pool is very big with gorgeous sea-views. We felt right at home and Catarina was so helpful, so amazing and the smile never left her face! Thank you for everything, we will definitely be back! Great food, Great service, Great staff! 5 Stars! from Peter and Aimee Matti- New Zealand :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterMattiNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

In all the hurry I didn't have time to do my bookings in Santorini! Thought will take it as it comes and just go with the instincts. When I got down from ferry to Santorini I looked around a bit for the tourist information center and an old man approached me. He took me to his booth and showed a couple of options based on location (you can either stay at Fira or Oia two towns in Santorini) and price ranges. Hotel Golden Star was very conveniently located near Fira Square, the bus stop and cafe's and clubs overlooking Caldera (inactive volcano). I was merry happy to choose them as the this family run hotel was pretty friendly and had location as a major advantage at a price of just €40 a night!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NareshS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We had not made reservations ahead of time due to the strikes, so when we got off the ferry we met the owner's son, who showed us photos of the hotel and had us follow him there. We decided to stay there and were very satisfied with the hotel. The room was very nice, and the hotel had a big pool and a large parking lot. It's an easy and short walk to the main part of town where there are many shops, restaurants, and travel agencies. Our room had a balcony with a scenic view.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Lois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel in September for 4 nights. We were driven from Port to hotel and to airport upon leaving. Katarina the receptionist is extremely helpful and nice. The room was quite small as was the bathroom but very clean with big fresh towels every day. There was a seaview with amazing sunrises. It was a short walk to the main square and not much furher to the centre of Thira. Its a very reasonable price for such a well located budget hotel by Santorini standards. The pool was lovely but there was no pool bar as was shown on website. The breakfast was fine and plentiful. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it especially for its central but quiet location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlovindub8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Hotel "has been" but clean and with very nice owners.
Perfect location, good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.3 mi away
Galatia Villas
Galatia Villas
#39 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#43 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#41 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ilios
Villa Ilios
#58 of 80 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#59 of 80 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Star

Property: Hotel Golden Star
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden Star 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GOLDEN STAR HOTEL is a family hotel 150m away from Santorini’s main town of Thira, with traditional Cycladic architecture and with a sea view to the east!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Golden Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Star Hotel
Hotel Golden Star Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing