We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, location and price”
Review of Hotel Golden Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Golden Star
Ranked #58 of 79 Hotels in Fira
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great service, location and price”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The rooms were very cute, great balconies overlooking the pool and in the distance the sea. They picked us (4 of us) up at the port and we didn't even book it! I understand it is a family run hotel, and everyone was very kind and helpful. The pool was clean and quiet. Do not have breakfast there, 7euro for not very much. Walk up the street and there are many different restraunts to eat at. Great value I will stay here next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which overlooks the pool, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    81
    36
    19
    18
See reviews for
33
98
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Picked up by courtesy bus, close to the center of Fira shops & bus station. Our host Katherine very informative. Enjoyed the massive pool very clean, highly recommend to families.We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Free transport to and from the port which was very helpful. Reception staff was friendly, not the best recommendations for dining however. Close to the center of town and ATV rental. Nice pool to relax by. Clean and affordable, but not the most luxurious spot to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Location: perfect, short walk to centre Fyra and busstation.
Rooms: clean but a bit to small if you are travelling 2 people + 40kgs luggage. There is not enough place to put your suitcases or closetspeace. Bathroom is ok. View and terrace are amazing.
Service: shuttle service is nice because it is free but not very reliable. When we arrived we waited 45 min and 2 phonecalls before we were pickedup. When we departed via the harbour the shuttle bus departed 30 minutes after the agreed time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get the best view and terrace. Groundfloor looked like not much privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kulevliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were looking for a place to call home for 5 days while in Santorini for a destination wedding with some other guests. This hotel is beautifully situated on a hill overlooking the sea, close to town with restaurants and shops galore. A steep walk uphill to town but better walking down to hotel after all your adventures! Katherine met us at the front as we arrived and checked us in while welcoming us with a glass of delicious red wine. She presented us with as much information as we had questions for her. She seemed to be always there, helping to book shuttles and taxis, suggest restaurants and excursions if we were interested but without being pushy! She was the gracious queen of her domain running it very smoothly. Guests were all happy. The room was a bit small but we didn't spend much time in there other than to sleep. When we were around the hotel we were always at the pool which gave you a feeling like being at a spa! The property was always tidy and clean while staff were perfect at keeping the rooms clean and stocked with towels. I highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back again!

Room Tip: ask for a room by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMSheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Myself and my fiancé stayed here for 4nights a few weeks ago. We read all the reviews and they didn't send us wrong. The hotel is a great base for the town of fira itself about a 2 minute walk up hill but all downhill coming home! They picked us up from the port and dropped us back free of charge. The only downside is the showers are very small but that s the only fault we could find. Will defo be back to stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Myself and two friends stayed here at the end of June and absolutely loved it. We were greeted at the airport with a big smile and a complimentary transfer back to the hotel. The location of the hotel is also excellent for the price tag, just a short walk up to the centre of Thira. The pool was also excellent and clean. We would swim in it all day long. The best part about the stay was the friendly service from the family run business. They helped with any questions we had and advised us of the best parts of the island to visit. Best of all was getting privately transferred from the airport and back and forth from the port when we were either leaving or arriving the island. I would definitely recommend staying here and if I ever come back to Santorini, will not hesitate to book here again.

Thanks again to Katherine and the gang :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#45 of 79 in Fira
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#42 of 79 in Fira
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Ilios
Villa Ilios
#59 of 79 in Fira
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#57 of 79 in Fira
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#44 of 79 in Fira
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Star

Property: Hotel Golden Star
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 79 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden Star 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GOLDEN STAR HOTEL is a family hotel 150m away from Santorini’s main town of Thira, with traditional Cycladic architecture and with a sea view to the east!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Golden Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Star Hotel
Hotel Golden Star Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing