We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twin sisters' ideal 50th birthday present!”
Review of Porto Fira Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Porto Fira Suites
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
1 review
“Twin sisters' ideal 50th birthday present!”
Reviewed 26 May 2009

My wife and her twin sister had talked about visiting Santorini for so many years... So, her sister's husband and myself decided to surprise them on their 50th birthday by making their dream come true. We couldn't find a better hotel for this trip than the Porto Fira Suites!

The Porto Fira Suites are situated in the main town of Fira, right on the caldera, just like you see on all those TV spots on CNN. It was truly the ideal setting, living for a few days in the white-washed cave houses in full view of the dormant volcano. Every afternoon, we would sit outside on our terrace waiting for nature's legendary show of the Santorini sunset, one of the things every person must see during their lifetime.

We highly recommend this hotel for all those who wish to live the true Santorini experience, while savouring the hotel's lush amenities such as large private terraces and in-room jacuzzis. A big thank you to the hotel staff for finding us two rooms side-by-side... we'll never forget this vacation!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    68
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
66
237
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We stayed in room 18, which had the most awesome views of the volcano and the sea. Everyday was incredible. The staff was very helpful in every way. The breakfast was always had delicious fresh yogurt and fruit. This was our first visit to Santorini and we loved it all!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pattypar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

My wife and I decided to spend Easter in Santorini this year... got a great mid season price at the Porto Fira and decided to stay there. It was nice and quiet, not crowded and close to the maintown church festivities, which are beautiful to experience in Santorini. The hotel was clean and well maintained, service was good and on time, the staff friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants and local traditions. Top notch overall!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Porta Fira Suites was an excellent choice for our stay. Staff were extremely friendly and very helpful during our stay. Our room was absolutely fantastic- with amazing views to wake up to each day, and a great place to watch the sunset in the afternoon. We read other reviews on trip advisor before booking, but really we could not fault the beauty of Porta Fira at all. Breakfasts were amazing and the view brilliant. Would certainly recommend this as the place to stay. Mind you make sure you pack your bags well before you go on outings because it is a BIG walk up to the top of the cliff from some of the lower rooms- but it will certainly keep you fit!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2009

My girlfriend and I just started out on a winter excursion all over Greece, a difficult endeavor if you consider the fact that ferry lines are sparse and island life is reduced to a stand still. But we both feel that this allows us to indulge in the true rhythms of everyday life in rural Greece, which was definitely the case in Santorini and the Porto Fira Suites.

Everything in Santorini is closed during the winter-time. At first we thought that we would be bored stiff here. However, the Porto Fira staff kept us busy and entertained, showing us all the local tavernas and cafes, introducing us to the local wineries, arranging a trip out to the volcano, even hiring a boat to nearby Anafi island.

The hotel itself was well-maintained, the rooms were warm and clean, the breakfast was fresh and hearty. Last but not least, the location... the best winter sunsets we've ever enjoyed! If you want to shift gears down a bit, enjoy the slow life and just relax, Porto Fira in the wintertime is the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonamills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

This hotel is well located on the cliff (plenty of steps to keep you fit) with magnificent views of the Caldera. Our room was cosy and our bedroom window faced the sea - it was delightful waking up to such a view each morning. The bathroom was okay however did smell a little when using the shower. The breakfast was okay however we noticed mouldy fruit a couple of days and the honey jar was cracked and looked like it had't been washed properly for a while. They could definately improve the presentation especially for the price you pay per night. The pool area is tiny and very tired looking. The biggest let down is probably the reception service. They don't appear to make much of an effort to welcome you and seem a little inconvenienced when you ask them a question. They just seem a bit bored. Overall we enjoyed spending time in Satorini and staying at Porto Fira but we wouldn't reccommend or stay there again.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Tiredness of the place (service/food presentation/decor)
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2008

On the edge of the world over loooking the sea,there lies a cave or two. I could have never imagined the view from the side.
To be able to retreat from the summer sun,inside the coolness of the suites was pure pleasure.I loved this place,away from the crouds,close to the town.
Everything was charming,the staff,the food,the service,I could not complain.They made a lasting impression on my travells in greece. I shall return again.

  • Liked — The spacious suites and the amazing views
  • Disliked — I had to leave after 4days
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ozziegreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
0.4 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.1 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#17 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Fira Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Fira Suites

Property: Porto Fira Suites
Address: Caldera Cliffs, Fira, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#13 Family Hotel in Fira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Fira Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a privileged location, on Fira's Caldera cliffs, with magnificent views of the volcano, the deep blue of the sea and the most famous sunset from your private balcony. A stylish property newly renovated consisting of 13 suites with a Cycladic style using local materials, stone-built suites with organic forms and smooth curves blended nicely with whitewashed walls combines simplicity with luxury. This combination plus the unique décor make the atmosphere really relaxing. From our Superior Deluxe Suite's Jacuzzi to the private balcony of our Petite Suite cave room, combine the simplicity with the luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Fira Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Fira Hotel Fira
Porto Hotel Fira
Porto Fira Suites Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing