We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the stay”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The staff at this resort were very helpful. We had a wonderful dinner and lunch at their restaurant and were really happy with the quality and cost. The room was of a good size and you were we'll looked after. They offer a shuttle up to Oia for the sunset but we found that the sunset from our room was better and definitely less crowded.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for The Majestic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent two weeks at the Majestic Hotel on our honeymoon, pure relaxation. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help, soya milk and decaf were produced when asked for!
Housekeeping was excellent with fresh towels, clean bedding and fridge restock daily, excellent laundry service too.
It is well worth paying the extra for a volcano view, you do overlook the road which is the main road into Fira but it also means you are only ten minutes walk to all the shops and bars.
If you don't fancy a stroll the food served at the bar and in the restaurant is excellent, or room service is very efficient so eating on the balcony watching the sun set over the Caldera we opted for more than once.
The facilities are more suited to those wanting a slow relaxing pace, there is a gym and games room plus a small play area for little ones but not much for older children and teens. Going in August it was much too hot to be walking around the town all day so if like us you want to soak up the rays all day by the pool the Majestic Hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the volcano view, it is well worth it for the sun set.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinkyminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is resort style with a beautiful pool and magnificent views. The only sticking point is they forgot our transfer from the port, and we had to call them. The driver arrived promptly afterwards. Make sure you confirm your transfers twice! All the staff seemed very happy to be working there and were very attentive. Generous breakfast and good variety. The reception staff arranged wine and fruit to celebrate our anniversary which was very nice. The beaches on Santorini are nothing to write home about, so it was important we had a nice pool at the hotel. You do need to like walking though, as this hotel is not in the centre, but a good 10mins walk just outside of Fira. Oia is the best place for prettiest views and best lunches and dinner. Bus station is around 8mins walk, and only costs 1.60 euro each way to Oia. Lambros at the pool bar, kindly arranged bread and dips for us, when we ran out of time for dinner before leaving for our flight to Athens.
Lyn and Malcolm - Sydney Australia

Room Tip: The rooms with Caldera view are lovely
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Santorini is a picturesque, unique place that we were glad we experienced. And I can't imagine a better place to stay than the Majestic Hotel. The hotel is an ultramodern facility bristling with white walls and marble tile throughout. It is an architectural gem which evokes the feel of an ancient Greek marketplace. Our room was a first floor room facing the caldera. While the main road ran in front of it, the room was sound conditioned such that street noise was not a problem, especially at night. We still were able to enjoy views from the balcony in front of our room. The modern room we had contained a dux-type bed and modernist furnishings. One quip- the clothes hangers in the built-in cabinet were mounted too high. Sleep quality was excellent, and the shower worked very well. So did the complimentary wi-fi, the best we experienced in any of the hotels we stayed at in Greece.
The hotel has restaurants on-site. The restaurant that serves breakfast is adjacent to the pool and one can sit indoors or outside. The breakfasts are quite good here with excellent thick Greek Yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries and nice waffles, among the broad selection of items. The excellent waitstaff serves coffee in small pots on each table so one doesn't have to keep asking for refills. The small but excellent restaurant serves fine meals at reasonable prices. My favorites were penne pasta with grilled chicken and stuffed chicken breast. A fish dish was also good. The menu, however, is limited. The reasonably priced house wine is a very good accompaniment to the meal. We tried both red and white wines.

Service was great in both the front desk and the restaurant. We greatly appreciated them offering us complimentary baked goods, fresh fruit, and coffee in the lobby during our last morning here, since we had a very early check-out to catch a very early flight out of Santorini. And the weather was great- mid 70's with plenty of sunshine during our three-day stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCArchT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

so let me start out by saying the staff is amazing - Marianna, the bell boys - simply wonderful.
the pool- really nice and comfortable with decent service. the rooms- oh boy. mine was on the main road, first floor with all the cars whizzing by. the view was great but a higher floor would have been way better. this was like a motel 6. the lobby is like a kitschy internet club- weird design. the hotel needs a new designer to smack it into shape.
so fira versus oia right?
oia hands down- more expensive but so much more refined.
it's a bit farther but worth the trip. the sunsets are magnificent. eat at OCHRE- reserve a table on the stairs at 7:45 and watch the gorgeous sunset- unforgettable.
also Marianna suggested caldera yachts for a sailing trip - very good. great sailing and amazing lunch. Marianna knows her stuff!!

Room Tip: not on the first floor!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhonda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

lovely place about a mile from Fira, on a "busy" road (really, it's two lanes, and I didn't find it to be that loud, even when sitting on the porch overlooking the caldera). The highlight of the hotel is the beautiful infinity swimming pool overlooking the Aegean, the wonderful service at the poolside bar, and the delightful food. While the offerings at breakfast were the same every day, there was plenty of variety, and they even brought me hot chocolate. The food in the evening was delicious, and frankly, less expensive and more relaxing than the tourist traps in town, even one night when a wild pig got out of its pen and came very close to those of us dining outside al fresco. A great story for my pals. I was at the Majestic in 2008, but I wanted to review it as I am planning to return and wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: the view of the caldera is on the road, I didn' find it a problem at all, but am from a busy Ame...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dressygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is outside Fira , but within walking distance of the centre. The staff is courteous and extremely helpful. The view from our room was undisturbed and excellent. We did not have to wait long to check in even though we had reached way before the check in time. The rooms though simple had all the modern amenities and our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaGrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
1.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.5 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Volcano View Hotel Santorini
0.1 mi away
El Greco
El Greco
#23 of 80 in Fira
1,748 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Main Street | PO Box 11, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#28 Family Hotel in Fira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range: £115 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Fira
Majestic Hotel Santorini
The Majestic Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing