We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection teetering on the edge of oblivion”
Review of Aria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aria Suites
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Perfection teetering on the edge of oblivion”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This hotel was, hands down, the best stay of our 3 month tour through Western Europe; the very best among an excellent array of hotels and B&Bs in Paris, Firenze, Milano, Taormina and beyond...There's little I can say that hasn't already been said, but here's a quick recap for those afraid to unleash any bridled expectations: peerless, impeccable, holistic service - expect the very best; intimate surrounds (6 or so suites altogether, versus the hundreds you might find at mass resorts); a quiet location just a minute's walk from Fira's main drag where great seafood and souvlakia await; generous breakfasts brought to your spotless, airy room, more spacious than anything you'll find elsewhere in Europe at this price (the La Boheme suite provides plenty of room for two or more); and a quiet poolside bar to soak up the haunting beautiy and impermanence of this perfection, teetering as it is on the edge of oblivion. Im sure the competition is fierce in Santorini, but this would have to be up there amongst the very best.

One thing to note: the Aria Suites are in Fira, so if you plan on spending most of your time in Oia (reputedly the best sunsets on this island), then stay in Oia. Unfortunately, the transport in Santorini is horrid. Taxis are very limited, and the buses around the island infrequent at best, and dangerously over-crowded or non-existent at worst - we were almost trapped in Oia after a sunset and dinner - not enough buses, no taxis, huge crowds - we only escaped to Fira with the benefit of my wife's mother-tongue. That said, there's plenty of places to catch the sunset in low-key Fira (try Franco's Bar for starters) and we didn't regret staying at Aria Suites for one second.

Room Tip: You couldn't go wrong with any of these rooms, but pick carefully if you want a view of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoodedBanoonigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
90
174
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Good - EXCELLENT STAFF - BEST EVER! Dimitra and Claudio were truly accommodating, excellent hosts, and provided exceptional hospitality. On a number of occasions, they spent as much time as we wanted to advise on things to do, dinner options, beaches, etc. I loved that they loved to take care of their guests as well showed how much they love their island. The breakfast was excellent everyday, served on our balcony at the requested time. We were upgraded for free even before we arrived to the Norma suite, which we believed was the best suite at the hotel. They were so accommodating that they offered to return our rented 4-wheeler the following day for us since the shop would be closed so that we could enjoy our last sunset viewing on Oia. Dimitra has everything down to a science. The day before, she had everything squared away for us (i.e. verified our flight, flight time, transportation to the airport, and ran down an incredible timeline to the T, about what all would happen the following day regarding suitcase collection, taxi, etc). Everything worked like clockwork which is great when you have a 6:45 am flight! We always felt like we were in great hands. Regarding the room, the beds were very comfortable with quiet surroundings. This is a world class hotel with so much great attention to detail!

The 'not-as-good' - Really the only complaint was the dropped/slow internet connection, but really who should be working or surfing online when you are on this beautiful island! Yes, there are powerlines that obstruct some of the view, but if you walk a few steps in front of the hotel, you have a great view!

Room Tip: Definitely request or reserve the Norma suite; we thought out of all the rooms, it had the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank specialk-aggie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed for 11 nights at the back end of August and had a lovely relaxing holiday. We booked a transfer from the airport to the Aria Suites which went smoothly. First impressions were that directions to reception could be made clearer however, we were greeted very warmly by the manager. She could not do enough to help us find locations, bus timetables, places around the island to visit and even a restaurant for our first night. All the staff are lovely and couldn't be more helpful. Special mention too to Stefan for all his hard work around the apartments and delivering the huge breakfasts to your table or room each morning!

The location of the suites is really good as you are able to step right into a main drag into the centre of Fira, down the cobbles into the hussle of bussle of the town. Most rooms are at the front but around the back is a lovely garden area, where breakfast is served and here you can literally step into town. You can also wander past the beautiful church and find your way easily to the stunning views of the volcano on the Caldera side. We walked around this side often to see the wonderful sun sets. 2 little villages, with more bars and restaurants are within fairly easy walking distance around the Caldera side.

Should you wish to explore away from Fira there is a bus station about a 10 minute walk away. As the island is relatively small other destinations of interest are easily reached for about 1.60 - 1.80 euros. Buses are frequent and can be crowded but we managed to spend time in Oia, Kamari (looked like a very good place for families) and Akratori. We visited the ancient city remains (17th Century BC) near Akratori which was a brilliant experience. Visit the museum in Fira too which has some of the frescos and vases excavated at the site, if this is of interest!

All in all we had a relaxing time around the pool at the apartments, read some good books under the beautiful clear blue skies on the loungers and got our fix of culture around what we think is a beautiful place to visit. The sunsets on the Caldera side of the island are a must see.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crooko1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife & I have just recently returned from Aria Suites Santorini. We stayed in the Carmen Suite,it was fantastic. Very spacious,spoltlessly cleanThe service from the team at Aria is the best, from restaraunt advise,what to see on the island and anything we wanted was not to much trouble.
Great pool area,wonderful views on this amazing island.The breakfast on the patio was superb.
This is a top class property with excellent service. Well done to the team at Aria suites
Heather & Steve
Australia.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

With all the choices on Santorini, we naturally wondered if we had made the best choice - and we had no doubt that we had. This is simply the perfect place to stay in Santorini. It is a small boutique hotel with just six suites, managed by a delightful woman, Dimitra, who takes care of her guests as though they were her family. Her staff is marvelous. You sit down by the pool and someone magically brings you a glass of ice water within minutes. The staff brings a wonderful breakfast each morning for you to enjoy on your patio. The view of the caldera is breathtaking, just outside your door (or from your window). The property is just outside Fira town, a few minutes walk, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. If you are very lazy, there is a wonderful restaurant, Ellis, just a minute's walk toward town. Our suite, Tosca, was beautifully appointed and the staff made sure we had everything we needed, even things we didn't even know we needed. I couldn't recommend this exceptional "hotel" more highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connossieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Gorgeous, airy, spacious villas with outside seating & little gardeny bit with loungers. I stayed in Tosca (they're all named after operas) & it was wonderful. Lovely little pool for a dip when it gets too hot or after a bus ride to Oia. And as soon as you sit by it one of the waiters will appear with a glass of iced water for you too. The view is second to none & you're close enough to everything, 5mins walk, but far enough away to have total peace & quiet. The toiletries are also superb, I've already ordered some of the shower gel on line for wheel I get home. And the breakfasts!! Choose what you want from the list & it served at your outside seating area at the time you specify. I had eggs sunny side up, brown toast, earl grey tea, orange juice & a glass of champagne. Wonderful!

You get looked after so well but Dimitra & her staff. Make sure you ask where they would eat of an evening to avoid being ripped off. I'm already planning my return trip :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Two children and two adults. The Norma suite was fantastic, the view spectacular. The 2 bedroom suite was very roomy and spacious. The attention to detail made this a luxurious stay. From the duvets, the robes, slippers, beach bags and towels, everything was great. The bathrooms need a little updating but that was overshadowed by the fabulous views, rooms and three balconies! The management was amazing. Dimitra and her staff looked after every detail possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rain2643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
1.7 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.5 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.0 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Athina Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Suites

Property: Aria Suites
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aria Suites is an elite boutique hotel in Fira with view of the volcano and the historic Acrotiri, and is a hotel filled with the light of the Greek, Mediterranean sun. The six deluxe suites as well as all the outdoor areas give out the sense of simple yet exquisite Cycladic luxury. One of the pleasant surprises for the guest, the few steps you need to go up in order to reach the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Aria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aria Hotel Fira
Aria Suites Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing