We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream you never want to end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Enigma Apartments & Suites
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dream you never want to end”
Reviewed 31 January 2009

I cannot think of anything but positive things to say about this place. The stuff was super friendly and helpful. They knew exactly what we needed and gave us great tips. Even before we arrived there I already developed a great communication with them and when we arrived they knew exactly who I was.

All the rooms are unique. We stayed in the one at the bottom. The room was very cool with some interesting designs. Our bathroom was located on the bottom floor, I felt like I had to go down the cave.

And the view....just look at my pictures. Amazing views of Kaldera in the morning and sunsets.

Did I mention they bring down to your room a delicious breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, warm croissants and many more things.

Thank you for wonderful memories Enigma.

  • Liked — Unique style, View, Staff, Breakfast, Service
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs to walk but it's a great workout
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank olgaehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    33
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
155
498
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at Enigma for our Honeymoon in June of 2008. It was simply a dream come true. We stayed in a Jucuzzi suite. The views and accomidations were perfect. He never had to leave to hotel, but when we did we would ask the front desk for advice on where to eat or go. They never steared us wrong. We had the best meals of our trip thanks to the Enigma. By mentioning where we were staying, we were moved to tables with better views. I simply can't say enough great things about this place, other then to THANK them for making our honeymoon. (We visited Mykonos and Ios. While we had a great time and stayed in great places, Engima was easily the high light of the trip)

  • Liked — Views, views...did I mention we had our own jacuzzi to drink wine and look at the view?
  • Disliked — We had to come home!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geomod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

We stayed here for one night as an anniversary treat. It is the most fantastic place we have ever stayed.

We had a private jacuzzi and could enjoy the beautiful views whilst drinking our complimentary wine.

It may have been an expensive treat to ourselves but it was well worth every single penny.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kearw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2008

What a mythical and mystical island! What a great place to stay on this island. What a relaxing atmosphere, what a beautiful light.
We are newly weds, visited Santorini end of September and fell in love with the place. Stayed in two apts. no 1 and 2. Beautiful, small boutique hotel, great service - thanks again Chris, Eddy, Anna, Demetris and Christos!
Great restaurants nearby (our favorite was Archipelagos restaurant in a renovated captain's mansion, close to Enigma), excellent shopping and dining all over the island. Don't miss Oia village!
We'll definitely be back!
Marion and Franz

  • Liked — relaxing atmosphere, great service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank summer0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2008

I hadn't been to Santorini in quite some time, 16 years to be exact. The last time I left I had made a pact with myself the next trip there would be for a special occasion. My girlfriend and I planned to visit Santorini during our trip to Greece in September. I told her to find the property she would like to stay at. Little did she know she picked the location where I would propose to her.

My fiance did her due diligence and found Enigma. I contacted the Hotel and found there was no availability for the dates we were to arrive. Not to worry. A few days later, Chrisoula, the manager of the hotel, contacted me and explained there was a cancellation and the room could be ours for the four days we requested. We were ecstatic when we confirmed the room, and after our stay, we couldn't have been more happier.

First of all, the location of the property is perfect. A spot carved into the landscape of Fira with views that are second to none. We spent quite a bit of time just sitting on the patio soaking it all in. Sunsets at night, cruise ships sailing in and out of the harbor during the day, and the calm of the sea whatever time of day. In addition, the center of the vibrant town is less than a two minute walk away. Location is a key to this property.

Secondly, the room was very accommodating. A large living area, a small kitchenette and a bedroom nestled up a set of small stairs. The bathroom was of good size and provided everything needed. Of course, the jacuzzi was an added bonus when the time came for catching the sunset. The breakfast that came every morning certainly would satisfy most everyone's needs. A large choice of items was available, and you tell the staff what time you would like it. The staff delivered breakfast directly to our room at the exact minute we had requested daily. Eating breakfast while overlooking the sea was a highlight every morning.

Finally, the staff. Chrisoula and the rest of the staff at Enigma were terrific. They did everything in their power to make sure our stay was everything we could have expected and more. They went above and beyond their call of duty to satisfy all of our needs. Smiles all around were the norm, and any request we had was taken care of immediately. I can't say enough about the people employed at Enigma. They made our stay one that shall remain with us for the rest of our lives.

I highly recommend Enigma to anyone looking to visit Fira. I doubt you would be disappointed. The size of the hotel and the staff's attitude make a stay there a truly personable experience in one of the world's most beautiful destinations.

  • Liked — Location, the room and the staff.
  • Disliked — Had no complaints.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nikos95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed at Enigma Hotel for a week in early September 2008. Before going to Santorini I spent a lot of time finding perfect hotel for our family vacation there. I was looking for a hotel in Fira (best location at the middle for discovering Santorini); with caldera view (romantic evening, as it was also our 5 years anniversary); big enough to accommodate four of us; stylish and with traditional Santorini design; and of course with good reviews on TripAdvisor :) So, we choose Enigma and we really loved it!

It has excellent position right at the heart of Fira, close to shops and restaurants (try Nikolas Tavern!). We were lucky to have Jacuzzi Suite #8, which is most private with magnificent views over caldera and decorated with traditional Santorini white and blue colors. Our apartment has living room, kitchenette, bathroom and two bedrooms. From one of the bedrooms there is access to the very private terrace with huge Jacuzzi (4 of us was sitting there and still had place for more people :)) We also had baby cot free of charge for our 2-months old baby girl. Room is clean and romantic, fresh flower were there during our whole stay. We also had three complimentary bottles of white wine (one on arrival, one sometime on the middle and one on our last night) and fruits plate on last evening. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We haven't had any problems to go all the way down with two kids as whenever we needed we had help from the staff.

Sounds too perfect, but it's really is :) We loved every moment there.
Marina, Alexander, Roman and Mia from Finland.

P.S. All the photos was taken by me and my husband, Alexander Shalamov. If you are interested in more from this trip – send me a message.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarinaShalamova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We stayed for 3 nights in a standard apartment suite in early October. The room was comfortable and clean. There was a small kitchen and facilities to make yourself tea and coffee, which was great after having come from italy where this is unheard of in most hotels. The room had a small balcony with panoramic views of the caldera - worth the price of admission alone! You can't get tired of the beautiful view. The hotel staff are first rate - friendly, polite, helpful, and knowledgable about getting the most out of your stay. The location of engima in Fira itself is very convenient - with the entrance running straight off the main Gold Street, a popular spot for people to walk and take in the view. There are numerous excellent places to eat within easy walking distance, and there a couple of supermarkets as well. The included breakfast is delivered to your room each morning (you pick the time and what you want from a menu) and it was on time, fresh and plentiful. The pot of coffee to kick start the day was also very good! The complimentary bottle of local wine was also very much appreciated after a long day hanging around airports!!!
Thira is such a spellbinding place - it is impossible to take a bad photograph here! I hope to return to Thira soon, and would not hesitate to stay at Enigma again. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Views, value, service
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DonFinlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
1.5 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enigma Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enigma Apartments & Suites

Property: Enigma Apartments & Suites
Address: Ipapantis, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#2 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Enigma Apartments & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Enigma Hotel in Santorini (Apartments & Suites) is perched on the cliff side of western Santorini, in the heart of Fira, the capital of Santorini island. Its wonderful location provides its guests with a spectacular view of the famous Santorini volcano and Caldera complex, the Aegean Sea, the island’s traditional old port and, best of all, the celebrated Santorini sunset. This view, along with the hotel’s excellent service and facilities, places it as a fine Santorini hotel in Fira.The Enigma Fira Santorini luxury hotel provides an amazing atmosphere for your holidays in Santorini. Enigma’s luxury Santorini suites, apartments and studios are elegantly-designed and feature a plethora of modern amenities that fuse harmoniously with the charming island-style architecture, creating one of the most picturesque hotels in Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Enigma Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enigma Apartments And Suites
Enigma Apartments Hotel Fira
Enigma Hotel Fira
Enigma Apartments & Suites Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing