We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Enigma Apartments & Suites
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Enigma is situated in the perfect location on the cliffs of Fira, Santorini. The photographs do not give justice to the beauty and amazing location that Enigma is surrounded by. The hotel staff was incredibly helpful in planning the best use of our 4 days in Santorini and led us on some amazingly beautiful and tasty journeys. They also kindly warned us of where prices may be higher for tourists and the best restaurants and shopping to find a great deal. Breakfast each morning was wonderful and served on our private patio and was delicious and the best way to start the day. I will absolutely stay at Enigma again and highly recommend it to anyone! They provided us a laptop and internet connection to keep up on emails and plan our next destination, arranged all our transportation from the airport and to the port and provided a bottle of wine for our first night and bottled water for each day. Amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katebrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

Enigma cafe was rated in a guide book as one of the top 10 places in Santorini to watch the sunset. Well our amazing room had a balcony just under the cafe, and I would have to agree that the view is stunning! We took hundreds of sunset pictures and felt that each night it only got better. In addition to the sunset, the Enigma breakfast, staff, and location cannot be beat!! We had a flight out of santorini at 6:45am and the bell hop was waiting to carry our bags to the car at 5:45am! Breakfast had been delivered to our room the night before our early flight, right after the croissants had come out of the oven! The only suggestion/criticism I can give is to listen to the hotels options for rental cars and tours, but then walk around and price your other options. We ended up with a rental car for 3 days at 20 euro cheaper than the hotel quoted us for 2 days!! We have many other trips in mind in the future, however, we will return to Santorini and Enigma.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeybelle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Quite possibly the best hotel room I have ever stayed in located in a tourist town. We had the first apartment and while it seems odd that it is right beside the checkin desk, completely blew us away. great double balcony doors that open up onto an unobstructed view of the caldera and two additional windows that open up to the same view. We actually spent 2 of 4 nights in our apt to watch the sunset, it was that comfortable and amazing.

Lofted bedroom that can sleep 4, with a full kitchen. Breakfast was amazing, and the location was right in the heart of the town. Free internet and they will lend you a laptop for your stay if you didn't bring one (als free). We originally were in this apt and were to move to a lower apartment that had a separate bedroom. When we were moved the second day, we immediately asked to be moved back into our original apt as the view could not be beat (and the stairs up to the street level were just excruciating). Staff was so accomodating and extremely helpful. We were attending a wedding that happened to be taking place at the restaurant right next door (Sphinx) that was chose specifically for the view. No complaints whatsoever and the price was also a steal (beginning of the low season and got a discount for paying in cash).

Extremely close to supermarkets, restaurants, shopping, sights, etc. Couldn't be closer to the center with such an incredible view if you tried.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glai79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

The place was wonderful. Chrisoula Voura, the manager, and the rest of the small staff very so hospitable that it made the stay just perfect. There are only 8 rooms which made the stay even more intimate. I would recommend the place everyone with one exception, the room we had had a loft bed so for us older folks it was a bit of a problem going up and down during the night. In addition the bathroom, which was lovely, had a small step down by the shower that was not readily noticeable because of the colorful floor tile so after one or two missteps we put a towel down to distinguish the step
So if your going to Santorini it is a perfect place at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chazelcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

My wife and I studied Tripadvisor before our trip to Santorini. Thanks to all you for posting reviews. You were correct ... Enigma is a great place to stay. We were there in September of 2009 and loved it!

Pros: 1) Worderful staff ... Chris and the others will take care of your every need ... from carrying your luggage up and down all those steps to helping you with day planning and meals. 2) Location ... Enigma is right in the heart of Fira and near restaurants, shops, and bars. 3) The bus station is only a few hundred yards away from which you can reach any location on the island. 4) The is a small grocery store just down the street with alcohol, snacks and everything you left at home. 5) Sunsets ... I can't believe there is a better location to view the stunning Santorini sunsets. 6) Accomodations ... we stayed in apartment number seven. It was quite unique. Built back in the cliffs, it was well decorated, comfortable and the "cave shower" can't be beat! 7) Price ... if you want to stay on the cliff, I couldn't find a better value in Fira. 8) etc ... I could go on but go and you'll find out what I'm talking about.

Cons: I can only think of one ... the "boat people". Cruise ships arrive on a daily basis and crowd the town. Not to worry though ... they don't stay long and spend most of their time in line waiting for the chairlift back to the dock.

Why would anyone ever take a cruise? Just go to the island you want to see and enjoy. If your going to Santorini ... stay at Enigma!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

This hotel absolutely lives up to all the great reviews! We stayed in Room 2 for 4 nights. Not as modern as we're used to in the U.S but perfectly fine.
My husband and I just fell in love with the location, the service & hospitality, the small quaint feel, and the view is just breath taking. We were the only couple that stayed at this hotel and ALL of our relatives were completely jealous of what we got for the pay...because they paid sooo much more for no view! The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful - the restaurant recommendation was also right on.
The only downside? be prepared for stairs so not good if you have any walking issues. Other than that, GO! You won't be sorry for choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JARinCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Ideally situated in the heart of Fira, convenient to everything.

Stunning views from every balcony, staircase, and window.

Charming rooms and suites.

Excellent staff and service.

We stayed in room 5 for 3 nights and suite 7 for one night. Room 5 was small and quaint with spiral stairs down to the bathroom. A little inconvenient at night, but also kind of fun. Nice little kitchen, gorgeous view from the small balcony.

Suite 7 was big and beautiful, at the very bottom of the stairs. Two beds, large living/dining area, kitchen, tall arched ceiling. Big bathroom had a very unique shower with a window. Shared courtyard with suite 8 and easy access to the lower street through the "back door".

I can't say enough about the service. Wonderful breakfasts delivered to our door every day. Our heavy bags carried up and down all of those stairs. Everything was spotlessly clean.

We stayed at other hotels during our visit to Greece. The staff at these hotels were polite, but somewhat reserved and distant. Chrisoula, the host at Enigma Hotel, was the complete opposite. She was warm, welcoming and talkative. She gave us great advice about what to visit on the island. She recommended wonderful restaurants, told us which ones to avoid, and helped us with our car rental. She really made us feel at home.

The Enigma Hotel is top notch - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhatNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
2.8 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 51 in Imerovigli
600 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 81 in Fira
834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#3 of 81 in Fira
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
1.6 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#7 of 81 in Fira
787 reviews
0 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 81 in Fira
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enigma Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enigma Apartments & Suites

Address: Ipapantis, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fira
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range: £152 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Enigma Apartments & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Enigma Hotel in Santorini (Apartments & Suites) is perched on the cliff side of western Santorini, in the heart of Fira, the capital of Santorini island. Its wonderful location provides its guests with a spectacular view of the famous Santorini volcano and Caldera complex, the Aegean Sea, the island’s traditional old port and, best of all, the celebrated Santorini sunset. This view, along with the hotel’s excellent service and facilities, places it as a fine Santorini hotel in Fira.The Enigma Fira Santorini luxury hotel provides an amazing atmosphere for your holidays in Santorini. Enigma’s luxury Santorini suites, apartments and studios are elegantly-designed and feature a plethora of modern amenities that fuse harmoniously with the charming island-style architecture, creating one of the most picturesque hotels in Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Enigma Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enigma Apartments Hotel Fira
Enigma Apartments And Suites
Enigma Hotel Fira
Enigma Apartments & Suites Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing