We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elkaza Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elkaza Villas
Ranked #41 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Fira
keratsini
1 review
“the best holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

Greatest experience ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My girlfriend and I stayed in this little cozy and friendly hotel middle August, having booked a double studio with view and private balcony,
Everything was perfect, from the welcome drink that we found in our bed till the last deco detail, the room was fully equipped and there was also a small kitchenette available for us to cook, I will have to agree with these other reviews about the bathroom which is small but why do you need a big bathroom (that’s the size for a normal bathroom in Greece) since this was always clean and equipped with everything you might need (toiletries and towels ), the breakfast was absolutely a small surprise every day, and the coffee was available day and night in our room
Liberty, the lady that runs the place was more than helpful and she recommended great places to eat and visit for the day
I would recommend this place to everyone who wants to stay in a simple friendly hotel .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIMMYSKeratsini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    13
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Our 2 night stay at Villa Elkaza was great. Liberty was super helpful and made our stay there enjoyable.

We were traveling with suitcases and should have taken Liberty's advise to take a taxi from the port to the hotel. Instead we took the bus to town and TRIED to walk there. Because we didn't know the streets well, we ended up getting lost for 2 hours - completely our own fault! Though when we finally arrived (after many kind Greek people helping us along the way), Liberty was kind enough to soothe our pain with a couple of beers! Super sweet. We also liked the breakfast basket that is prepared for you the night before.

The sunrise view from our balcony was amazing!!!

Our flight was around 9pm on the last day ~ we left our luggage there until we had to go to the airport and Liberty was kind enough to let us use the bathroom so we could have a pre-flight shower after a long day!!

It's a pretty laid back and independent place so don't expect someone to be 'at your service' around the clock.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybeancowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Villa Elkaza is a family-run (I believe), fairly new complex at about 5 minutes uphill from the centre of Fira, which is advantageous as one is distant enough from all the clubs that rage on into the early hours of the morning). This is not really a hotel, but rather offers studios.

As a last minute booking, this was one of the cheaper offers, and I chose it due to other good reviews. My room was large, with a huge bed and balcony looking out on to the sea (however not the “sea” where the sunsets or the volcano are that have made Santorini famous, but still a great view). The room was also quite well decorated and clean, offering air conditioning, a basic little kitchen, fridge and bathroom. The bathroom itself was quite small, with a non-compartmentalized shower (this is common in the Greek Islands). However when we arrived, there was a slight odour of “toilet” probably owing to the guests who beforehand had thrown the toilet paper in the lou (for those of you who don’t know, the lou paper, due to general poor plumbing systems in Greece, can cause blockages, so throw it in the paper basket). It did go after a couple of days, but my impression was that you are at the mercy of the guests before you (there is a sign which does explain all of this in the loo). Breakfast, which is provided and left in your fridge for the following day (orange juice, toast, croissants, biscuits, filter coffee etc), is not too bad but quite convenient as you can just eat it on your balcony when you please. If it’s not enough, you can ask the management for more, and they will happily provide.

The receptionist herself was very friendly and helpful. However unlike other establishments which had similar prices, no one came to pick us up from the port, which in Santorini would have been very convenient as getting to the hotel, apart from using a relatively expensive, rare and “multistop” taxi service (they cram in as many strangers as possible to maximize their profits), is not so easy. A bus service will take you (cheaply) to the centre of Fira, but then you will have a 15 min walk to Villa Elkaza, over smooth and rough terrain, and steps, which can be quite trying for trolley luggage. We were emailed a map by Villa Elkaza, a computer map made by a human – I would advise you either to google it, or to walk up the main road of Fira until you get to Europe Car which is on a junction, take the right down the steps, and then follow the map.

3.5/5.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilbaldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

On the first night we had a couple drinks on the balcony and were possibly making a little too much noise with the ipod speakers but were not given a warning, we were simply stormed in on and our friend was told to leave as he was falsely and aggresively accused for staying without paying.
The breakfast is stale bread with a million different spreads (each equally foul), this is if they bring the breakfast at all.
The towels do not get changed, but on one instance i approached management and asked them if they could please change the towels as it had been 48 hours with the same towel and their policy is to change towels within this period and she said yes no problem but told me that in order for this to happen i had to go back up to my room, grab the dirty towels and deliver them to her, because the housekeeping staff had gone home so apparently it automatically became the guests responsibility.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 333bennyboy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

We think Elkaza could be a very good option for a budget accommodation in Santorini. Although some aspects should be improved:

- The map to the house, that we received by e-mail from the owner and that is available on Elkaza website, does not represent Santorini streets and don’t shows the real options you should take to get to the house. We got lost and when we arrive very close to the house we couldn’t find it. We asked to some locals that lived there and no one knew Elkaza. We found a very nice Greek lady that helped us, but even she – that is living there for years – could find Elkaza with that map. We had to call to the owner and finally we found it and we realize that we have been there before but the sign in the house saying Elkaza was turned to the main road and not to the path given by the map. We told that to the owner and she told us that there was another sign on the roof. But that one was also turned into the wrong direction…
- The breakfast was poor for 3 persons: in the last day we only received 5 bread slices (perhaps we should eat 1,6666667 slices each). We had 1 littler of orange juice at the fridge when we arrive there, but in the last day it disappeared and was replaced by a juice jar so we only got a glass each.
- The toilet paper run out in the last night and there wasn’t a reserve one.

Elkaza is not in the center, but is at reasonable walking distance (we recommend you to eat at Mamma’s House the waiter is very nice and the food is good at reasonable prices). Don’t expect a traditional Santorini view with is lovely white houses from Elkaza: it’s turned to the other side of the island.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Walter Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

I stayed at Villa Elkaza for four nights in July with my teenage daughter. It was a little hard to find, but luckily we found someone along the way to give us instructions. The room was like a small apartment with a coffeemaker and fridge. It was very clean. A small breakfast was left each morning which was enough to get you going in the morning. You do have to go up a steep hill to get to town, this was not a problem for us. Liberty (the owner) was helpful and kind. She arranged a taxi to take us to the airport at 5:00a.m. and it showed up right on time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Nice place. Clean room. The owner was really kind and helpful with us.We appreciate all and the place is really cozy and friendly. Bravo fili.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex_Tramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
0.4 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#56 of 82 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Splendour Resort
Splendour Resort
#17 of 21 in Firostefani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pansion Zaharoula
Pansion Zaharoula
#21 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#20 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Caves
Aura Caves
#40 of 77 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkaza Villas

Property: Elkaza Villas
Address: Agiou Athanasiou | Main Street, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elkaza Villas, if you are looking for a home away from home you have found it. Our fully furnished home Villas are created accordingly to cover the needs and excite the mood of our valued guests. The smart location of the complex and the attractive surroundings makes this place ideal for couples, families or group of friends. The location of Elkaza villas is really a strategic place for those who wish to be close to the action of the center and nightlife but still a bit away from the crowds. The villas are located on the main street of Agiou Athanasiou and that means you can park your car or scooter just outside your house. Or you may park it and enjoy nightlife or sunset walks around on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elkaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkaza Villas Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing