We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Location, but no views”
Review of Villa Roussa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Roussa
Ranked #32 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Unbeatable Location, but no views”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Fira was hard to figure out on maps, which would be a good place to stay on the island ...we chose this place due to cost & location ...which turned out well . Owner was quite helpful, He picked us up from the ferry and dropped back too
Mama's House is next door for hearty breakfasts and other meals, if you like ...most travel agencies are close by , so is the local bus station for bus to Oia, Akotri and various beaches

was great value for the price we paid, though on second thoughts, would have been ideal to pay higher to book something in Fira or Oia with direct Caldera views

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajeshkjindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    46
    23
    0
    4
See reviews for
16
57
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Villa Roussa is well located just near by the bus station at Fira Santorini. The room clean and good sized. The cleaning lady does an excellent job every day. Wifi connection is free and working everywhere.
The price is very reasonable for Santorini. The Villa Roussa is also located just at the beginning of Fira Main Street.
Highly recommended for budgeted travelers.

Room Tip: Try to have a room in the first floor. They are ventilated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloGeo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

near the bus station with small balcony very close to the center and the view to the sea. The manager let us stay late without asking. The price was reasonable. The place is close also to the prehistoric museum that includes finds from the Minoan Akrotiri. The museum is closed also on Tuesday.

Room Tip: me and my friend got rooms to different directions - both were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 826miri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Villa Roussa is an excellent option for those seeking an unbeatable location with excellent value. The bus station is directly opposite (literally 20m away) and the main streets of Fira are 100m up the road. There is even an excellent laundromat nearby. Despite this, the Villa Roussa does not carry an extra hefty price tag like many other accommodation options this close to the town. And don't fret, there is virtually no noise carried over from the bus station or surrounding streets. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained with solid air-con and a fridge for those who like to self-cater. The staff are friendly. Everything you could possibly need is provided. The reception is sometimes unstaffed, but this is all part of the Greece-hotel experience as you will come to learn. Take it from us - there is nothing better than stepping off the bus after a long day of beach/village hopping and having your room ready a mere 20m from the station. Perfect choice for the location and budget conscious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c-j-dob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Perfect stay for my sis & I, as it is located right next to bus station yet do not get noisy at all. its is very close to the town center as well. We could see the bus station right from our window. We booked double room for 2 person and the room is so spacious with air con, fridge and kettle available. Room service is superb as everyday room is cleaned, provided with new towels as well. No complaints at all, we really loved our stay here and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nithiyaa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I'd been there for one night in july'13 and i loved it so much!! The price was low (just 48 euro per night). Location is excellent -near the bus stop( 2 min walk, but its not noisy ot smth like that), near the city center with all restaurants, shops etc. ( 5 min by feet). Rooms are clean and large, bathroom is modern and shiny ( our room number was 12).

I highly recommend this hotel.

P.S The only thing, our balcony view wasn't nice, we just saw another ordinary houses. But for me its not a problem:)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArturKulaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Villa Roussa is ideally located in Fira, very close to the bus and taxi stations and just five minutes away from the caldera. Rooms are rather cramped, but the price is right and they are spotlessly clean. It is a good choice for people who do not care about looks and value their money. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
0.2 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#57 of 79 in Fira
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofia Hotel Santorini
Sofia Hotel Santorini
#19 of 21 in Firostefani
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#44 of 79 in Fira
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santorini
Hotel Santorini
#50 of 79 in Fira
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Markakis Studios Fira
Markakis Studios Fira
#21 of 75 in Fira
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Giorgio Villa
San Giorgio Villa
#5 of 49 in Fira
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roussa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roussa

Property: Villa Roussa
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Roussa 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Roussa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roussa Hotel Fira
Villa Roussa Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing