We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dream Island Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kavalari(Fira)(Great Value!)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lilium Villas(Fira)
US$405
US$396
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$270
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$275
US$264
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Hotel(Fira)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Evgenia Villas & Suites(Fira)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$376
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$259
US$249
Cancelon
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
411
93
15
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
93
15
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa family run hotelpool arealittle touchesfree airportpick up and dropshort walkthe busbeautiful hoteltown centremain partnice poolthe main squaredefinitely stay here againferry portvisit santorinilocation was perfectrestaurants and shops
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 529 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My friend and I stayed at Dream Island from 11-18 Aug and we both loved it!! It's a great little family run hotel and the owners Georgia and her husband were lovely and very hospitable. Their daughter, Konstantina was a real credit to them, very knowledgeable and always on hand to give us advice on where to go and how to get there. Even their little dog Athina welcomed us with open paws! we just fell in love with her!!

The hotel is in a perfect spot, within easy walking distance to the town and bus station (you can basically get anywhere on the Island from there and it's cheap!). We stayed in a suite with a double balcony (with table/chairs/parasol/clothes airer) which had a lovely view over the pretty pool area and the sea not too far in the distance. It was a great spot for watching the sun come up in the mornings. The staff kept the whole place spotlessly clean. The suite was cleaned daily with clean towels provided. Sheets on the bed were also changed frequently.

Sadly, during our stay there was a big explosion at the power plant which had huge implications for the little Island of Santorini. It meant there was no electricity and sometimes no water for the majority of the week on the whole of the Island, however the family did their very best to keep us informed of what was going on and tried hard to ensure it didn't ruin our holiday. They lit the communal areas as much as possible for guests safety with light from a small generator and provided lanterns for our rooms. It must have been a really stressful time for them as the owners, and also their staff, who worked tirelessly to keep us comfortable during a difficult time.

Complications aside, we still had a great holiday and can't recommend this place enough!! We felt like family ourselves by the time we left and will definitely be going back with more of our friends.

Ashlie & Alyson, from Surrey, UK

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshlieJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

As our first stay in the dreamislandhotel hotel last year was fantastic we decided to stay again this year. We visited from the 10th to the 18th of Aug and unfortunetly during our stay the island had a black out and water storage. In the beginning we were worried as we have 2 kids but we can assure u that the staff was remarkable. They provided light with a generator and running water, helpful and friendly when we needed them. Our stay i can say was adventurous and unforgettable even though the whole staff was under a lot of pressure. Would go back with my eyes closed well done to u all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kena1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I find it soooo disturbing that anyone would say anything negative about Dream Island Hotel. We were staying at the hotel during the ISLANDS power outage. Let me make it clear that it is not the Hotels fault, the whole Island didn't have power. The family at the hotel was more than apologetic and accommodating. They brought in generators so that the hotel could have water and we could shower. They were helpful in finding us Restaurants that had generators so we could eat. They went above and beyond to do the best during a trying time. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are spotless and the pool is breathtaking. We too were asked if we could pay cash for the reason being if there wasn't any power how could the visa/mc machine work. That only makes sense! I would only recommend this hotel to my friends and family in the future. We will miss the Karamalegos family

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Konstantina and Georgia made our stay very special. From the moment we arrived they accommodated us with everything from great recommendations for dinner to even booking a cruise around the island.. The hotel is decorated elegantly with a very romantic poolside. The place is very clean and breakfast was wonderful - even eggs! They picked us up from the airport and even dropped us off at the ferry! The location is very convient as it is just steps away from town. If your taking a honeymoon or a romantic getaway we highly recommend staying here and renting an ATV to drive to the beach. It is not scary at all and is a very adventurous way to explore the island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Our stay was very unfortunate with our timing as it overlapped exactly with the power outage in Santorini. We had a 3 night stay on our trip at Dream Island and for 2 and half days we had no power at the hotel. For 1 of the days we had no running water. We had cold showers and candlelight for the other days. We feel the staff could have been much more obliging during this time. Although they were under pressure during these days, we found the staff to be rude and unhelpful. Times like these can really show the hospitality of a hotel. At check out, we were dealt with rudely. I produced my credit card and was asked for cash payment and accused of lying when we replied we wouldn't have €500 cash on us (all atms were down). We looked for a transfer to another hotel and were told this was not possible or the norm, again in a rather gruff manner. After the inconvenience of the previous 3 days and our clear frustration, we feel the hotel could have been much more positive and obliging as we had paid the bill in full, regardless of the lack of hot water and electricity. Since our stay here we have had transfers from other hotels, no problem. All in all, our experience was very much tainted by the customer care. A shame.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickBatemanAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiaDreamy, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dream Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

First of all we would like to apologise for the lack of electricity which lasted for five days and also meant a great ordeal and frustration as we had to make sure that our clients were as pleased as possible.
Being that as it may we were some of the few hotels on the island which had running water right from the first day of the power cut incident since we acquired our own generator and were able to lit the common areas of the hotel.
After your pick up from the port we offered beverages of your liking free of charge. You also neglected to state that the owner offered to lend you cash in case you couldn't withdraw some from an ATM machine!
As far as check out is concerned we indeed asked if you could pay in cash- as we asked the rest of our clients -and when you said that you didn't have the total amount in cash we tried to figure it out by connecting the UPS (even if we didn't know if there was enough current to make the transaction).
As far as transfer is concerned we are licenced to drive costumers to and from port/airport and not to any other destinations.
We are really sorry for the unpleasant experience you faced but considering the lack of electricity "an island problem" we tried to do the best we could.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews