We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise !”
Review of Galatia Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galatia Villas
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise !”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

(sorry for my english as I'm french) We only stayed there 1 night just before leaving Santorini and we had no expectations considering that the price was very low. We were really surprised when we got there as the small room was actually very charming, modern and very nice. The bathroom was very nice !! We were welcomed by very nice people too and felt very comfortable right away. The location is great too. It is only a nice 10 minutes walk from Fira. Very close to all services. The wifi worked very well. They also arranged for us to be picked up by a taxi driver in the morning, right in front of the hotel. Overall, it was a great surprise ! I would book it again when I go back to Fira and I will recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonica22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    96
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
182
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We booked one night at Galatia Villas before doing some hopping around on the island - and it was such a lovely surprise! Our room was pretty small, BUT it was incredibly clean, had some charming touches to it, and the bathroom had been newly redone and was one of the nicer ones we had in Greece (shower was western style, had a shower curtain, great water pressure, etc...fyi that not all bathrooms have been redone, so just a head's up that you might have a more traditional-style shower). Very quiet location, great for sleeping.

And THEN - what a surprise when we came down for the breakfast, which we'd added on, only to be served by the owner himself, which was a delicious spread that had been made by his wife. Ample breakfast, very satisfying, and very tasty (especially the eggs!). Between the warmth of the owners, and the friendly, smart information we got from their son - we loved this place.

Really, for the price, this was such a find. It was so great, in fact, that when one of our hotels fell through toward the end of our stay in Fira, we came back for one more night - it felt really nice to end our stay in Santorini with the same hospitality we got from Galatia Villas when we'd arrived :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingBGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

So nice villas with beautiful decoration. Close to Fira and next to folklore museum, quite place and nice sunrise!! Reception is very helpful and George (receptionist) is very friendly. Suggested for sure!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with sunrise view are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santoriniman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

LOCATION: this is one of the worst hotel locations in Fira. you are Not in the main area of Fira, in fact you are a 10 minute walk from the main square in a remote area. (it is exacty 10 minutes, i used my phone to time it) this hotel is a particularly poor choice because there are plenty of hotels which are a mere 2 minute stroll from the main square (Merkakis, Anatolia, Lignos, Pelican *Pelican is a little more expensive) the Galatia hotel owners will tell you their is close by, but even on their map of Fira when they show you the main area the Galatia barely makes it onto the page! another challenge of the location is that taxis will not pick you up front he main gate, the street is a narrow one way so unless the driver is inspired to reverse down the lane to pick you up you are out of luck. if you walk part way yourself they will pick you up, but if you have luggage (and you are traveling so of course you have luggage) it is an inconvenience. walking to the main square requires a steep uphill hike - don't attempt going down the hill in flip flops, you need hiking shoes, it is seriously steep! also there is no food in the area - no restaurants at all. there is a mini-mart which closes at night (after 8 or maybe after 10) that means no food or water available all night. and the owner does not leave a way to contact him, so if you have an urgent need you will just be out of luck.

SERVICE: trying to talk to someone with a significant language barrier and no patience, and a forceful belligerent attitude was a disaster. in a nutshell service was terrible. we arrived at night and the door to our room was unlocked and ready for us. we thought we were lucky that the owner came down when he heard us come in, but the older gentleman who came and greeted us was Rude. my friend had a sprained ankle and we told him we wanted to cancel our reservation based on the inaccurate location that was posted. he got upset and said we'd have to pay in full anyway. despite seeing her in crutches, he continued to tell her to "just walk! just walk!" and despite the late hour he insisted on telling me about the location and 'things to do' trying to be friendly i followed him down a flight of stairs (my friend couldn't come) and tried to patiently listen and make the best of it. his English was poor and his patience was nonexistent. my occasional agreements, comments, questions were met with a 'don't interrupt me' attitude. when he finished his piece he came back to our room and again told us we should be fine and "just walk!" with a brief 'do you have any questions? okay i'll go' he immediately walked out. i actually wanted to ask him about the wifi password, but had no way to find him, he disappeared into the night. i wandered around the hotel, and only found one room with the light on, i knocked and found that it was a fellow traveler. oops! but they were kind enough to give me the password. we tried talking to him again in the morning, which was another fiasco. there was another gentleman who also seemed to be part of the management and spoke English. we tried to talk to him, but he excused himself and although we waited for him to come back, only the older gentleman came back and insisted we talk to him about what we wanted. we were extremely frustrated and we left the hotel to stay at another hotel (one where we would not be bullied) *i used the morning to walk and evaluate several of the local area hotels which met our criteria of being affordable and having a central location which is where my recommendations come from. i visited each hotel, saw rooms, got price quotes, timed the distance from their location to the main street and then left this hotel and switched to another.


FACILITIES: room is small. scarce walking space between the bed and walls. bed just has a cover and pseudo blanket. room did have A/C. bathroom was small and had a standing shower with a shower head that you hold in your hand to use (bathroom gets flooded when you shower and humidity in room is hard to get rid of) had to unplug lamps to use the electrical outlets in the room. wifi requires you to log in each time you try to use it and speed is medium by my estimate. Lots of stairs. many rooms are up stairs, some are circular stairs. stairs are a bit narrow and only one person can go up/ down at a time. they do have a lovely pool area (small, but nice) the place was clean, but just not comfortable.

OVERALL: terrible. seriously stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vuchli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Galatia Villas is budget-friendly and provided a very comfortable stay for us. We felt like part of the family during our stay as everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The studio we booked was clean and came with a kitchenette where we could prepare very simple meals because it was equipped with a coffee maker, toaster, kettle and cutlery and crockery. Housekeeping was efficient. And the bonus, our studio was right beside the pool where we could take a quick dip whenever we wanted to. It's about a 10-15 min walk to Fira but that didn't really bother us. So I'd recommend Galatia Villas if you're looking for something affordable, close enough to Fira yet in a more quiet area.

Room Tip: Ask for one by the pool if you'd like to take a dip every now and then. There are 3 rooms right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javajive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed one night. This seems like a previously residential house that was converted into rooms. The room was clean and respectable and the air con worked well. If you have luggage, try to get a room on the ground floor as the set of stairs may otherwise be challenging :) the owner was friendly but could perhaps have been more subtle in selling us the extra services, but that comes with the territory I suppose.

The walk to the center is about 10 mins walk. There is a free parking nearby but the road to the hotel is narrow and steep.

Overall, clean and safe room at great value!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed at this wonderful cute little hotel for four nights, and the price was great. I felt like I got such a great deal for paying so little for such a nice clean and beautiful place. The location of Galatia Villa is a bit off the main strip of Fira, maybe a short 10-minute walk, which means it's quite, and the distance also allowed us the opportunity to explore the many narrow back alleys that locals take to get home. The young man at the front desk was extremely friendly and welcoming, and offered us great dining tips and clear directions to places. We dined at all three of his recommendations and were so happy about the quality of the food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esther_ysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.3 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#45 of 80 in Fira
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#43 of 80 in Fira
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Dahlia & Jasmine Collection by Angel Studios
0.3 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#59 of 80 in Fira
169 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nautilus Dome
Nautilus Dome
#28 of 80 in Fira
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galatia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galatia Villas

Property: Galatia Villas
Address: Next to the Laografik Museum, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#24 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Galatia Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galatia Villas offer 6 double rooms and 4 studios that can accommodate up to 4 people. Some rooms have sea views while others overlook the relaxing patio or even have access to it.All rooms feature modern amenities and are decorated with taste by paying attention to every single detail. The wood and burgundy in conjunction with the dominant white color gives warmth to the rooms that will make you feel relaxed all day.Studios also have a sofa bed and dining table to give even more comfort to you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galatia Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galatia Villas Hotel Fira
Galatia Hotel Fira
Galatia Villas Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing