We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santorini”
Review of Galatia Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galatia Villas
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Santorini”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Gelatia villas is a 10 minute walk from the bus terminal. We had no problem with that but in hot weather carrying a 15 kg rucksack it is hard work! The property itself is very clean and the owner is very welcoming and friendly. The room we had was quite sufficient,comfortable bed and mosquito screens which means the window can be opened at night.It could do with being painted a light colour though ,it was a dark red! Bathroom shower was a bit cramped but adequate and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    100
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
32
185
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My room was a bit small and so was the bathroom. Paid 55 euro for two of the nights and 70 euro two other nights. You have to go down a hill to get to the hotel but it is manageable.
It is on a quiet street. However, the last night in Fira I ended up staying at the Astro Palace for only 100 euro. I say skip this place and spend a little more money and stay at Astro Palace which is in a much better location with views of the water and the rooms are huge. The owner at Galatia Villas was v. nice. But again, you can get a lot more elsewhere if you are willing to spend a little more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very clean, beautifully decorated B&B. Owners are super friendly and helpful. For the second part of our trip, we stayed at luxury hotel and the owner of Galatia had his son drive us there for free. On top of that, we realized that we had forgotten our leather jackets at Galatia on the day we were leaving. We called Galitia and they agreed to ship us the jackets back to NYC. In summary, John and his family are awesome! Make you feel like family.

The only negative for me was the mattress. It was rather uncomfortable, but then we had the same experience in Italy...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BakaryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We checked in after 5pm for a 2 night stay and were greeted by a friendly staff member who was only helping out for the night. We were taken to our room which was not where the hotel was but was 1min down the path opposite some other hotel pool area. Not very private. The room was not the one we had booked online. It was small however it was clean and the bathroom was newly renovated.
I had a little drama which required an emergency package to be delivered from Athens. It was a Saturday and I needed it by Monday latest. John the owner was very helpful and assisted me and we were able to receive it the following afternoon by ferry. That really made the trip!
The pool was inviting but chilly. I think if you stayed in the main hotel part it definitely would have been a lot more pleasant.

Room Tip: Confirm the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We have been traveling extensively for 2 months and this is by far our favourite place, the island of Santorini is beautiful but when coupled with a gorgeous villa like this its magical:-)
The owner George was so helpful, upon arrival he gave us a map of the island and explained where all the best beaches and main town areas were, and even made some restaurant recommendations. The villas are spacious and very clean and the service is excellent, a must stay if you are visiting Santorini.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Damianza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Galatia for 5 nights in early June. We discovered them through a Hotwire booking and were not disappointed. Very clean, quiet and tastefully decorated ( a Santorini Modern style ) our economy room was small but laid out so it was not so noticable. Some rooms dont have views of the water and others do so make sure you ask if that matters to you. Bed was very comfortable and linen changed daily. Argolis and his parents are the perfect hosts, if you need help with something just ask. We spent so much time hiking and exploring the entire island our room was mainly a place to clean up, rest and recharge. We had a cute patio in front of our room which was perfect for coffee in the morning. Make sure you have some of the coffee cake that Argolis's Mom makes. The walk into Fira is easy and made more fun by trying to navigate the maze of pathways instead of walking on the main roads. Value, location, beautiful grounds and exceptionally nice people, its got everything. The most important detail about the Galatia is I would stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly built economy rooms it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbehre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansasville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

it's the second time we've been in this fantastic place.This time was once again unforgettable since we got married!We chose this place for our guests and each one of them felt like home.This time we stayed in the brand new apartments - fully equipped and clean as always.Argiris, the hotel owner decorated the whole building very elegantly.It was really moving. Thank you for everything once again.We will definitely see you again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IDorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.3 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#44 of 80 in Fira
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#47 of 80 in Fira
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Nautilus Dome
Nautilus Dome
#24 of 80 in Fira
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Philippion Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#58 of 80 in Fira
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galatia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galatia Villas

Property: Galatia Villas
Address: Next to the Laografik Museum, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#24 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Galatia Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galatia Villas offer 6 double rooms and 4 studios that can accommodate up to 4 people. Some rooms have sea views while others overlook the relaxing patio or even have access to it.All rooms feature modern amenities and are decorated with taste by paying attention to every single detail. The wood and burgundy in conjunction with the dominant white color gives warmth to the rooms that will make you feel relaxed all day.Studios also have a sofa bed and dining table to give even more comfort to you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galatia Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galatia Villas Hotel Fira
Galatia Hotel Fira
Galatia Villas Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing