We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galatia Villas”
Review of Galatia Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galatia Villas
Ranked #46 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Galatia Villas is one small jewel. Me and my family spent one great week there. The rooms is very clean and comfortable. There are swimming pool and garden with beautiful decoration. The owners were super friendly, helpful and welcoming. Every morning they welcome you with smile and we were very pleased from our stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desislava Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Gelatia villas is a 10 minute walk from the bus terminal. We had no problem with that but in hot weather carrying a 15 kg rucksack it is hard work! The property itself is very clean and the owner is very welcoming and friendly. The room we had was quite sufficient,comfortable bed and mosquito screens which means the window can be opened at night.It could do with being painted a light colour though ,it was a dark red! Bathroom shower was a bit cramped but adequate and very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My room was a bit small and so was the bathroom. Paid 55 euro for two of the nights and 70 euro two other nights. You have to go down a hill to get to the hotel but it is manageable.
It is on a quiet street. However, the last night in Fira I ended up staying at the Astro Palace for only 100 euro. I say skip this place and spend a little more money and stay at Astro Palace which is in a much better location with views of the water and the rooms are huge. The owner at Galatia Villas was v. nice. But again, you can get a lot more elsewhere if you are willing to spend a little more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very clean, beautifully decorated B&B. Owners are super friendly and helpful. For the second part of our trip, we stayed at luxury hotel and the owner of Galatia had his son drive us there for free. On top of that, we realized that we had forgotten our leather jackets at Galatia on the day we were leaving. We called Galitia and they agreed to ship us the jackets back to NYC. In summary, John and his family are awesome! Make you feel like family.

The only negative for me was the mattress. It was rather uncomfortable, but then we had the same experience in Italy...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BakaryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We checked in after 5pm for a 2 night stay and were greeted by a friendly staff member who was only helping out for the night. We were taken to our room which was not where the hotel was but was 1min down the path opposite some other hotel pool area. Not very private. The room was not the one we had booked online. It was small however it was clean and the bathroom was newly renovated.
I had a little drama which required an emergency package to be delivered from Athens. It was a Saturday and I needed it by Monday latest. John the owner was very helpful and assisted me and we were able to receive it the following afternoon by ferry. That really made the trip!
The pool was inviting but chilly. I think if you stayed in the main hotel part it definitely would have been a lot more pleasant.

Room Tip: Confirm the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have been traveling extensively for 2 months and this is by far our favourite place, the island of Santorini is beautiful but when coupled with a gorgeous villa like this its magical:-)
The owner George was so helpful, upon arrival he gave us a map of the island and explained where all the best beaches and main town areas were, and even made some restaurant recommendations. The villas are spacious and very clean and the service is excellent, a must stay if you are visiting Santorini.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Damianza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Galatia for 5 nights in early June. We discovered them through a Hotwire booking and were not disappointed. Very clean, quiet and tastefully decorated ( a Santorini Modern style ) our economy room was small but laid out so it was not so noticable. Some rooms dont have views of the water and others do so make sure you ask if that matters to you. Bed was very comfortable and linen changed daily. Argolis and his parents are the perfect hosts, if you need help with something just ask. We spent so much time hiking and exploring the entire island our room was mainly a place to clean up, rest and recharge. We had a cute patio in front of our room which was perfect for coffee in the morning. Make sure you have some of the coffee cake that Argolis's Mom makes. The walk into Fira is easy and made more fun by trying to navigate the maze of pathways instead of walking on the main roads. Value, location, beautiful grounds and exceptionally nice people, its got everything. The most important detail about the Galatia is I would stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly built economy rooms it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbehre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
0.3 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.2 mi away
Dream Island Hotel
Dream Island Hotel
#15 of 80 in Fira
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#43 of 80 in Fira
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Dahlia & Jasmine Collection by Angel Studios
1.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galatia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galatia Villas

Address: Next to the Laografik Museum, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Fira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#24 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range: £26 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galatia Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galatia Villas offer 6 double rooms and 4 studios that can accommodate up to 4 people. Some rooms have sea views while others overlook the relaxing patio or even have access to it.All rooms feature modern amenities and are decorated with taste by paying attention to every single detail. The wood and burgundy in conjunction with the dominant white color gives warmth to the rooms that will make you feel relaxed all day.Studios also have a sofa bed and dining table to give even more comfort to you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galatia Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galatia Villas Hotel Fira
Galatia Hotel Fira
Galatia Villas Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing