We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tranquil oasis in the middle of bustling Fira”
Review of Aria Lito Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aria Lito Mansion
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A tranquil oasis in the middle of bustling Fira”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed in the Aria Lito Mansion for a week, on what was our first visit to Santorini. We picked this hotel because of the location, and the previous reviews on TripAdvisor.

The location is superb. It's a 2 minute walk to the cable car down to the old port, there are probably 20+ good restaurants with a 10 minute walk, there are car hire places 2 minutes away, and the bus station is about 10 minutes walk away.

Despite being sandwiched between the main traffic street, and the shopping lanes full of tourists and donkeys, it was a really quiet and tranquil oasis in the middle of the town. As soon as we stepped through the gateway from the lanes to the hotel, it felt like it was a different world. There's a sign on the gateway saying 'Guests Only', and passers by looked envious as we entered the hotel grounds from the lanes!

The hotel is beautifully maintained and decorated. In the grounds are a small swimming pool, chairs on the patios outside the rooms, a garden in which to have breakfast, and a covered area in which you can eat breakfast, have a drink from the bar, or simply relax. The areas outside the rooms can be baking hot, as there is a lot of pale paving reflecting the sun. But the rooms are cool, and there is shade in the hotel grounds.

The room we stayed in was spacious and clean, and was positioned so we had a great view of the sunrise and the whole of the east side of the island. It was only about 10 yards from the pool and the outside bar - ideal!

The breakfasts were generous and tasty, and served wherever you wanted.

The staff were all very friendly, and helpful in recommending trips and restaurants while we were on the island.

I cannot fault the place. If you are going to stay in Fira, then I would highly recommend Aria Lito.

(PS Stefanos the bell boy must be the coolest man on Santorini!)

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking for a room which looks over the east coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    57
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
179
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We were very happy with our stay here. The location is perfect - close enough to the shops and restuaurants that you can walk anywhere within minutes. The staff were very kind and made sure we were always comfortable. The rooms were clean, bright and spacious. I would definately stay here again!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JessBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

You rarely go on holiday and stay at a friends chateau in France or Castle in Edinburgh. Wel this is how Aria Lito, and their lovely staff make you feel, as though you are staying with friends in their beautiful mansion home.

A warm welcome and tour of the grounds, view and fruitful garden and orchard (perfect for the light but plentiful breakfast away from the hot sun). If you stay here don't expect in your face, over the top service, if this is what you want then don't come to Greece. If you want to feel welcomed, relaxed and at leisure to do as you wish, with the comfort that, should you need anything (at any time of day or night) one of the friendly staff will gladly bring it to you. Anything from discussing what beaches to go to the 'madness' of wanting to take bicycles out on the island.

Perfect sun exposure in the day, beautiful pool and terraces. But of a night you can't beat coming home form dinner (at the Salt and Pepper 20 years away) to a candle lit Aria Lito in low light, sit in the garden or on the terrace. Its has to be experienced!

The rooms are spacious and well made, high ceilings, twice a day maid service and a well stocked mini bar/fridge (great for storing lunch materials and after sun!). Beautifully decorated with antique furniture and statues, Aria Lito made our holiday comfortable and relaxed, only a stones throw from the calderra and business of Thira through the "secret door' onto the main path.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was our first visit to Santorini, and we were very lucky to have chosen this hotel. It is simply stunning, and an oasis of calm. The room was bright and comfortable, and nothing was any trouble to any of the staff. We got lost on our way to the hotel, but I rang and spoke to the manager who sent out the 'Bell Boy' to find us.
The hotel is ideally situated within a few steps of the lovely old part of Fira, close to all the shops and a few minutes from the cable-car to the old port at the bottom. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and certaily hope to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAMIE020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Absolutely brilliant!

It isn't by any means your usual tourist hotel - it really is a 19th Century mansion at the heart of the old town - the ads don't lie as its all true. The staff are friendly courteous and even welcome you with a glass of local fizzz. If you sneak out of the back door you are literally in the old town of Santorini opposite a gift shop. A really,really cool and different place to stay.

I heartily recommend suite 4 which is 8ft from the pool and six feet from Stephan - your friendly local barman between 4 and six pm

Good points - centrally located, ten minute walk to the bus station. You really do exit through the gift shop to pop up in the old town. Unique 19th century decor and furnishings

Bad points - only one. Be warned that the swimming pool is very small and can only accommodate one adult at a time. But then a hotel in the center of Fira that has its own private pool? Grow up!

Having travelled around the world we don't normally post reviews here but this place deserves a special mention - it's that good

Room Tip: This hotel is excellent for couples - very friendly but a bit hard to find for the truly Independent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was our first visit to Santorini and to Aria Lito - the first of many I hope! The mansion is beautiful and intimate and the staff cannot do enough for you. After a bit of a tour of Fira in the hire car (getting our bearings! it is a little tricky to find although once you know where it is, it's easy!) we found the hotel and were given the choice of two beautiful rooms after our welcome drinks. We chose one of the 'House' rooms, which are more traditional and built into the cellars of the mansion (I think). A good choice as they were very cool and comfortable. The beds are very comfy - something I always seem to have trouble with when I go away. The mansion is right in the heart of Fira, steps lead up to the main throughfare through the town, but, this was one of the quietest and most relaxing hotels I have been to. Breakfast was served in the garden area although you can have it in your room or on the terrace. The garden is so lovely and smells delicious, that we ate in here every morning.
A first class hotel with amazing staff. If you are looking for nightlife and an action packed holiday, Santorini and this hotel is probably not for you but, if it is a relaxing getaway with your other half, this is definitely the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in House 5 - cool and quiet with a nice seating area outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poufle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We went to Santorini for our babymoon and wanted a special hotel for such a memorable trip. Everything about our stay at Aria Lito Mansion exceeded expectations, especially for a hotel booked as part of a package tour (Olympic Holidays), this is the type of boutique hotel we would only normally expect to book independently. Excellent value for money.

The location is ideal, one entrance is straight onto a cobbled pedestrian shopping street with a wide variety of restaurants on your doorstep. You are in the heart of Fira but without the noise.

Breakfast was really tasty, you can have it in the jasmine fragranced garden or at your own table outside your room, just lovely!

Rather than book the standard double room we upgraded to the superior double and we felt it was really worthwhile having done so. I'm sure the standard doubles are really nice too but we loved the position of our room, Room 5, right by the pool.

The decor of the hotel was stunning, not over the top, just beautiful.

Being such a small hotel the level of service was great and very personal, we were made to feel very welcome.

All in all, could not find a SINGLE fault with this hotel, would HIGHLY recommend it.

Santorini itself is really lovely, picture postcard Greek island, similar in many ways to Mykonos.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior double if you can. Room 5 was very nice. If you can afford the best pick suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.5 mi away
Nomikos Villas
Nomikos Villas
#36 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#38 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#17 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#32 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nefeles Suites Hotel
Nefeles Suites Hotel
#31 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panorama Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Lito Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Lito Mansion

Property: Aria Lito Mansion
Address: Parodos Eikostis Martiou, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#23 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Lito Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aria Lito Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aria Lito Mansion Hotel Fira
Aria Lito Mansion Fira
Aria Lito Mansion Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing