We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience”
Review of Maroni's

Maroni's
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Northport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Experience”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Maroni's is one of the few local restaurants that offers diners "The Experience of Getting Lost in Time, in a Beautiful Place, far, far away from the World." The chef is Top Notch, has his own culinary style and a full bodied personality; and couples or families can come to celebrate life here by the Northport Harbor, with few or totally nonexistent distractions. The food is excellent, and always very fresh, and the wine is also fantastic. For a more reasonably priced experience, daytime is best, or order normally off of the existing menu. For greater fanfare, and a higher price, one can order off of the Tasting Menu or book reservations on a Saturday for special celebrations, intimate dinners, or just, well, because Life should be celebrated.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    27
    19
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had heard about this restaurant from friends and decided to try it. It is a very small restaurant but reservations were easy to come by as it was early in the week. We went on a night the tasting menu happened to be a special price so that was nice. It's cheaper to order off the menu but you won't get to taste all the wonderful dishes on the tasting menu. It was worth it as we had soup, fish. meat, salad and vegetables. The staff will walk around to the tables offering other dishes such as house made pizza or even small grilled cheese bites to try as you are eating the other dishes. We stopped the server when we were quite full but did leave enough room for dessert and espresso. All in all a nice experience, the staff was friendly, knowledgeable and the food was quite good. Drinks are included in the tasting menu as well. Order from the tasting menu if you are hungry and they will not stop feeding you. We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wocaplel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rushed for no reason”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Took several business clients to Maroni's. At on point this was one the very best dining experiences to be had on Long Island. I am a local Northport resident and have been dining at Maroni's for several years. We have watched as the once quaint restaurant has deteriorated over the past couple of years. It is a family run business which is great however might be part of the problem. There are no two ways about it the most senior Maroni's , Mike father is totally rude and out of touch with reality. The success of the restaurant has been its down fall.
The food has gone down and the service followed.
For the cost, the service and meal were not up to par.
If I wanted crappy service and average food there were plenty of restaurants at half the price in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Coolest restaurant on Long Island”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Sure, you can get red sauce anywhere, and their take out is great. But pop for the $100/pp tasting menu and you will be in for a fine surprise. Course after course, and includes all the wine you like. Laid back, cool people, Pink Floyd playing, but great service and impeccable food. Like the amuse bough, "million dollar potato chips," homemade chips with caviar--excellent. I've eaten at great restaurants all over the world, this place is fun, and worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missbuilding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superlative experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Went for the famous tasting menu. The food was fantastic and creative. The restaurant was small, but it felt friendly, like we were all in this together. Expensive (about 150 per person, including wine), but we left staffed, FULL, and taken on a great culinary journey.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ms5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maroni's also viewed

Northport, Long Island
Northport, Long Island
 
Northport, Long Island
Northport, Long Island
 
Northport, Long Island
Centerport, Long Island
 

Been to Maroni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing