We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The magic of Finland, the best of the US” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“The magic of Finland, the best of the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We spent two nights at a 2-bedroom tupa (Kota Tupa) at Lapland Lake and had the most marvelous time!! Walking into the tupa we felt like we had 'come home,' even though this was our first visit. We had only booked one night's stay but decided within 5 minutes that we wanted to stay another night!

The tupa was very well furnished and stocked with everything you might need--from cooking utensils to board games, it was all there! I've stayed at a lot of cabins but most of them were bare-bones when it comes to equipment, so this was amazing!! The wood-burning stove is a great touch, the electric heat is enough to stay warm but the stove gives you the real 'cabin feeling.'

As for the rest of the place--it couldn't have been any better! The owners are extremely friendly and welcoming, the ski rental is easy and they even heat up the sauna every day! The trails are great for cross-country skiing, and if you are so inclined you can even take their lovely dog Kiva for a walk. And not to forget: great Finnish (and other) food! Buy some of the Finnish chocolate they sell, you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
60
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cummington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Very cute cabins, well supplied, but bring your own cutting board and knives, but I would say this for virtually all vacation rentals with kitchens. They supply wood and kindling for the cozy woodstove. Ann and Olavi are great hosts. Olavi is a fountain of information on cross country skiing, waxing etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Spent 2 nights in a small tupa, with a lovely wood burning stove. Took a ski lesson to bolster our confidence, and had a great time traversing the trails. One of the most restful, and beautiful, winter weekends we have had in a long time. If you like to cross country ski, I would highly recommend Lapland.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NycCjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We met friends and family at Lapland Lake and had a great time. The cross-country trails are very well maintained and the service at the ski center was wonderful. The tupas (cabins) aren't huge, but the pot-belly stoves keep them quite warm (along with the electric heat). Very kind people across the board. Make sure you know when the restaurant and snack bar are open and plan your food accordingly; it's a ways back to town. It's very much like a little piece of Finland in the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cybrarian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I have been in the hospitality business for over 30 years-but the folks at Lapland Lake embody the very zenith of gracious hospitality. The whole spirit of the place is warm welcoming, and friendly. The cabins couldn't be cuter and more comfortable to stay in-great for either families or romantic getaways. The wood stove is always stocked with wood, and we feel very comfortable there. This was our second trip there, and we will surely be back

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLB229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laplandlake, Manager at Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you so very much for taking time to tell everyone about your experience at Lapland Lake. Receiving praise from you, with your lengthy experience in the hospitality industry, is very special and heart-warming. We have posted all of your comments for our employees to see. They are the folks who make Lapland Lake special, and they appreciate knowing their efforts are recognized. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We love Lapland Lake. It is a charming cross-country ski area that offers activities beyond cross country. You can take lessons, enjoy a delightful homemade lunch, snow shoe, ice skate, and even go tubing. There are 55+ kilometers of groomed cross country trails and they offer lessons for all levels. We enjoy it every time we come and are grateful for the fair prices, warm service, and great conditions.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laplandlake, Manager at Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are beyond pleased that you love Lapland Lake! Customers like you make this such a very special place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enola, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Our first time at Lapland Lake was a wonderful winter get away. The staff was friendly and attentive. Our ski instructor was knowledgeable and experienced, with a great sense of humor. The on-site restaurant had good, reasonably priced food. The Finnish platter was excellent, I thought we were in another country, not the Southern Adirondacks. The restaurant also had a local folk singer on the weekend. He played original music and took requests. This added a really nice atmosphere to the already beautiful outdoor surroundings. We walked back to our cozy Tupa (cottage) after a day of cross-country skiing, and snow shoeing. The wood stove is charming,warm, and the wood is always replenished well. There is also electric heat. It was nice to take a real break from all the electronics and converse with our family. Our daughter was shocked there was no television or phone in the cottage, but she enjoyed it! There is wireless internet at the main building, and in the restaurant.
This was a really relaxing winter break.

Room Tip: We chose the cottage across from the ski center so our daughter could easily walk over to use the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laplandlake, Manager at Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your first visit with us and hope you will return for many years to come. Thank you so much for taking time to post such a detailed and very positive review. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northville
16.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

Property: Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Address: 139 Lapland Lake Road, Northville, NY 12134-3962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Northville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Northville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center offers a touch of Finland in New York's southern Adirondack Mountains! We offer lodging in cozy tupas (housekeeping cottages), a pristine non-motor lake with sandy beach for swimming, fishing, kayaking and canoeing along with scenic hiking and mountain biking. Visit in winter for the day or overnight to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. Our four-season woodland retreat was proudly operated by former U.S. Olympian Olavi Hirvonen and his family for more than 35 years. New owners Kathy and Paul Zahray offer you their warmest welcome. We offer year round lodging in ten immaculate tupas (housekeeping cottages) featuring up to four bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens (refrigerator-freezer, range, microwave, toaster, electric coffee maker), baths with showers, screened porches, electric heat, wood stoves including all wood stove supplies, outdoor fire pit and BBQ. Our authentic Finnish wood-burning sauna is complimentary year round for overnight guests. Professional massage therapy is available. During the spring, summer and fall seasons overnight guests have access to our stunning 70-acre, motor-free lake with sandy beach. Woods Lake offers exceptional swimming, fishing, kayaking & canoeing with complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, rowboats and paddle boats. Our 30-mile of private hiking and mountain biking trails are available for our lodging guests' use. Our 3-mile self-guided nature trail is a delight for children and adults alike. In the winter months you are welcome to visit for the day or to lodge with us to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. 50Km of scenic ski & snowshoe trails are surrounded by the pristine southern Adirondack Forest Preserve. Trails are available for all abilities, from beginner to expert. Lapland Lake offers meticulous snowcat grooming; well-trained, courteous staff; two-story warming lodge; full rental-retail shops; daily PSIA ski instruction; children's tubing; ice-skating and two food service locations. Tavataan ladulla! See you on the trails! Come join us to experience Adirondack Splendor and Finnish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Hotel Northville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing