We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque and peaceful setting- perfect for cross-country skiing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, NY
1 review
“Picturesque and peaceful setting- perfect for cross-country skiing.”
Reviewed 26 December 2009

We enjoyed two nights in our own tupa (Pohjan), very convenient and romantic. The trails were well groomed and lovely, mostly through the woods, with good variety of easy to more challenging. The Finnish sauna was a great treat, and the staff were very friendly. The only disappointment was the limited illumination on the trails for night skiing.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cimattiharries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
63
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

My wife and I both turned 60 this year, a perfect age to try new sports! I decided to have a go at XC skiing; my wife always wanted to snowshoe. Lapland Lake is a perfect place for both.
First, the sporting aspect: The XC trails are well-kept, clearly marked, and advertised properly. The easy trails are just that, easy, and perfect for rank beginners such as myself. But if you need more of a challenge, the intermediate trails definitely will do that. I tried some of them, and quickly went back to the easy ones. The hard trails, well, I can only imagine... I signed up for a private lesson. Richard, the instructor, was patient with a keen eye. He quickly spotted my many problems and gave me simple "keys" to think about to improve. I left Lapland Lake feeling that I certainly had gotten better. The private lesson was well worth the expense (which, by the way, was much more reasonably priced than the bigger resorts, and I seriously doubt that the individual attention or the quality of instruction would have been any better). As for snowshoeing, my wife is now hooked; she loved it! She enjoyed the fact that the snowshoe trails are separated from the XC ski trails. They were pristine and for the most part well-marked, although she did get confused at one point... so she just turned around and followed her own tracks back!
Second, the lodging: We rented one of the little cottages, or "tupas", for 2 nights. Not fancy, but having lived in Scandanavia for 5 years, exactly what we expected. Clean, neat and comfortable. The only problem: we had the misfortune of being there on one of the coldest December nights in recent memory. It got down to -15F the first night and we woke to frozen water lines; no running water at all! It took the staff the better part of the day to heat up the pump house and get the water flowing again, but they did, and all was well. A minor inconvenience, but we felt that perhaps it could have been avoid with a little closer attention paid to the forecast... and yet, -15F is downright cold and I really think the severity of the weather caught everyone by surprise.
Bottom line: This is no rip-off resort. As a guest, you are not nickeled and dimed. Trail fees are included in the price of lodging, which is very reasonable considering the fact that you can step right out of your tupa and onto the trails. Amenities are basic. No TVs (in the evening we watched DVD movies on my laptop) and NO CELL PHONES, which suited us just fine). Where else can you watch skiers woosh by right outside your window while you sip on your wine? Ann and Olavi, expect to see us again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanDeb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We visited Lapland Lake as they were just opening up for the 2009 season. They didn't have things running 100% smoothly yet -- it was much of the staff's first or second day -- but took great care of us. The tupa (cabin) we rented was clean, cozy, and very comfortable; the skiing was very good, the snow was very good (we discovered on our way home that this place gets nice fluffy snow even when 30 miles south in Amsterdam it's pouring rain), and the food was great and reasonably priced.

Do not expect some kind of impersonal and shiny spa-and-resort experience! This is a family-run Nordic ski resort which probably looked about the same in 1985 as it does today. Nothing is brand new but everything works and everyone is focused on taking great care of the guests. If you can't put up with quirks like having to take your dinner to-go when the restaurant closes at 4:30 on weekdays, or you need cellphone service 24/7 (there's none at all there) then go elsewhere. If you want good snow, friendly people, a good value, and comfortable and clean, if not super-stylish, lodgings, this is the place for you.

Oh, and kids love the reindeer.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neenscrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Staying at Lapland was our first trip to the Adirondacks. We came with another couple and spent 3 days soaking in the beauty of the place. The tupa was quaint, well-equipped, and spotless. Ann and Olavi are very gracious hosts, and they provide a wonderful opportunity to retreat from the "busy-ness" of day-to-day living.

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
Thank Ann46Johnstown_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central NJ
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I've stayed at Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center on numerous occasions since my first visit over 20 years ago. There are many reasons why I keep returning. The cottages (called "tupas") are immaculately clean and nicely appointed and, thankfully, not equipped with TV. The resort affords a good deal of privacy as it is tucked away, well off the main road. There are several hiking trails nearby, and attractions such as the Adirondack Museum are only about an hour's drive from the site. The hosts, Ann and Olavi, are gracious and welcoming but not in the least intrusive. Every time I return to Lapland Lake I feel as if I am coming home.

Helpful?
Thank geeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Could not describe a better way to get away from it all for a weekend if you appreciate all that nature has to offer combined with gracious hospitality. Make it at least a 3 day weekend to leave one day to discover the charm of Saratoga Springs...a city that still has a main street full of 'yesterday's' elegance in the 2ist century. Truely an exciting experience

Helpful?
Thank OttawaCandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Unspoiled nature, charming hosts, impeccable cabins (AKA "tupas"): Lapland Lake has lured our family back every summer for more than 15 years. It is simply the perfect retreat. Even if we can eke out only a few days' family vacation, our kids--now adults, plus one teenager--insist on returning. They never tire of the locale, and they obviously relish the chance to have some real family time, uninterrupted by the buzzes and beeps of modern life. We can't imagine summer without at least a few serene days on the pristine beach at Lapland Lake.

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

Property: Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Address: 139 Lapland Lake Rd, Northville, NY 12134-3962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Northville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Northville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center offers a touch of Finland in New York's southern Adirondack Mountains! We offer lodging in cozy tupas (housekeeping cottages), a pristine non-motor lake with sandy beach for swimming, fishing, kayaking and canoeing along with scenic hiking and mountain biking. Visit in winter for the day or overnight to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. Our four-season woodland retreat was proudly operated by former U.S. Olympian Olavi Hirvonen and his family for more than 35 years. New owners Kathy and Paul Zahray offer you their warmest welcome. We offer year round lodging in ten immaculate tupas (housekeeping cottages) featuring up to four bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens (refrigerator-freezer, range, microwave, toaster, electric coffee maker), baths with showers, screened porches, electric heat, wood stoves including all wood stove supplies, outdoor fire pit and BBQ. Our authentic Finnish wood-burning sauna is complimentary year round for overnight guests. Professional massage therapy is available. During the spring, summer and fall seasons overnight guests have access to our stunning 70-acre, motor-free lake with sandy beach. Woods Lake offers exceptional swimming, fishing, kayaking & canoeing with complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, rowboats and paddle boats. Our 30-mile of private hiking and mountain biking trails are available for our lodging guests' use. Our 3-mile self-guided nature trail is a delight for children and adults alike. In the winter months you are welcome to visit for the day or to lodge with us to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. 50Km of scenic ski & snowshoe trails are surrounded by the pristine southern Adirondack Forest Preserve. Trails are available for all abilities, from beginner to expert. Lapland Lake offers meticulous snowcat grooming; well-trained, courteous staff; two-story warming lodge; full rental-retail shops; daily PSIA ski instruction; children's tubing; ice-skating and two food service locations. Tavataan ladulla! See you on the trails! Come join us to experience Adirondack Splendor and Finnish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Hotel Northville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing