We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, "unplugged" family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“wonderful, "unplugged" family vacation”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We have been going to Lapland Lake every winter to x-country ski for the last four years. Every year is a delight--our comfortable, cozy tupa (we love Pohjan) is clean and exactly what we need--and not more than what we need!--which makes for a lovely, rustic stay. We all (mom, dad, kids now 9 and 12) learned to ski the first year and have progressed ever since on the beautiful, well-groomed trails (of all ability levels). The kids love to sled and ice-skate (and kick-sled when the lake has no snow on it) as well as ski. After full days outside we warm ourselves by the wood stove, read, and play board games. A fantastic "unplugged" vacation! Every year we wish we could stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scholarmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Immaculate rustic cottage with a wood burning stove.
The fire was prepared for us and ready to light upon our ready.
The grill restaurant served large portions of delicious, hearty food with plenty of vegetarian options.
The many trails are peaceful and well-signed and groomed.
Very friendly and helpful service.
Options for snowshoeing, tubing, skating, private or group lessons with skilled and friendly instructors. live music and spiced wine on saturday nights.
free wifi, but no cell phone service--nice to feel away from it all!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmaPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2010

My husband and I and sometimes our grown children have enjoyed Lapland Lake for over 14 years - sometimes twice in one ski season. We travel over six hours to get there.(It is lovely in summer as well.) We started XC when we lived in Norway at age 50. We tried several ski centers on the East Coast upon our return and found them beyond our skill level at the time. Olavi has created and maintained a ski center that offers something for everyone and every age. Flat to slightly rolling trails on one side and exciting intermediate and double black diamond trails across the stream that runs through the 300+ acres. We honed our skills and now enjoy challenges at another venue. We always start our season at Lapland to get our "ski legs" ready for the season. Sometimes we return to savor March skiing as well. The "tupas" are cosy, clean and situated in the middle of the trails for easy ski-in and out. Oliavi's wife Ann manages the resort effeciently and creatively. The staff is friendly and helpful. And, did I mention the Finnish sauna! What a way to end a long day of XC! There are no painful joints after this experience. We usually end the day with a run on the lighted Lake Trail. Can't say enough good things about Lapland Lake.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Rumors that Lapland Lake has an "in" with the Powers-that- Be are well-founded. This place always seems to have snow, when other x-country areas barely have their trails open. The trails are meticulously groomed and tracked, and the layout is interesting, with various levels of challenge. The accommodations are cozy and clean and well maintained. What makes Lapland Lake unique, however is the people and the service. I have been coming here as a solo traveller since the mid-90s, and I'm always greeted by warm and friendly staff who go out of their way to make me feel comfortable and welcome. Best of all, Lapland Lake IS x-country. It's not just a nordic ski run tacked on to a downhill area. These people are experts who know the score. If you want lessons or skis, Lapland Lake is the place to get them. There is excellent and thorough (and patient!) instruction, whether you're a relative beginner or an advanced skier hoping to hone your skills. The ski shop has just what you need in terms of quality inventory at a good price, and they will work with you to find the right style and fit. I've purchased both of my ski sets at Lapland, and if I need (or just want!) another pair, that's where I'll go.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inyourdreamsNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delaware
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Our second trip to Lapland Lake. Stayed in on of the tupa's (cabin) for four nights. The cabin is rustic and kitchen is well equiped but small. Wood burning stove in the tupa is more than enough to keep you warm on the coldest of nights. The well groomed ski trails were a pleasure to ski on. Hit the trails as early as possible to be the first one out, amazing. The lessons that are available are first rate, took an intermediate class to improve my skills and another lesson to learn to skate ski. If you like the outdoors and like XC ski this is the place for you. Wood burning sauna for apres ski relaxing is just the best experience. Owners Ann and Olavi are great hosts and provide a fun New Years Eve experience with a bonfire, smoers and champagne event.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apm1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

A very special New Year, to ski the Lake Trail, roast marshmallows for somemor's and then a toast, in Finnish and English, before skiing back to our cozy tupa. We have skied in Canada, France, Colorado, Massachusetts, Vermont, and New Hampshire- Lapland is among the most serene , yet fun places we have visted. Don't forget to skate on the pond, or visit Talvi and Vilme, the resident Reindeer. Sometimes you can also converse with chicadees.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageuseNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grega66
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We absolutely love this place. We have been coming here in the summer since the children were 2 and had a great time at the lake and biking. For the last couple of years we have taken up x country skiing, just because we loved the place so much in the summer, and it didn't disappoint. The kids really enjoyed skiing and even suggested that they would leave their video games at home, so we can play board games at night. A great way to unplug and connect with family and nature.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grega66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

Property: Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Address: 139 Lapland Lake Rd, Northville, NY 12134-3962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Northville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Northville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center offers a touch of Finland in New York's southern Adirondack Mountains! We offer lodging in cozy tupas (housekeeping cottages), a pristine non-motor lake with sandy beach for swimming, fishing, kayaking and canoeing along with scenic hiking and mountain biking. Visit in winter for the day or overnight to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. Our four-season woodland retreat was proudly operated by former U.S. Olympian Olavi Hirvonen and his family for more than 35 years. New owners Kathy and Paul Zahray offer you their warmest welcome. We offer year round lodging in ten immaculate tupas (housekeeping cottages) featuring up to four bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens (refrigerator-freezer, range, microwave, toaster, electric coffee maker), baths with showers, screened porches, electric heat, wood stoves including all wood stove supplies, outdoor fire pit and BBQ. Our authentic Finnish wood-burning sauna is complimentary year round for overnight guests. Professional massage therapy is available. During the spring, summer and fall seasons overnight guests have access to our stunning 70-acre, motor-free lake with sandy beach. Woods Lake offers exceptional swimming, fishing, kayaking & canoeing with complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, rowboats and paddle boats. Our 30-mile of private hiking and mountain biking trails are available for our lodging guests' use. Our 3-mile self-guided nature trail is a delight for children and adults alike. In the winter months you are welcome to visit for the day or to lodge with us to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. 50Km of scenic ski & snowshoe trails are surrounded by the pristine southern Adirondack Forest Preserve. Trails are available for all abilities, from beginner to expert. Lapland Lake offers meticulous snowcat grooming; well-trained, courteous staff; two-story warming lodge; full rental-retail shops; daily PSIA ski instruction; children's tubing; ice-skating and two food service locations. Tavataan ladulla! See you on the trails! Come join us to experience Adirondack Splendor and Finnish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Hotel Northville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing