We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Certificate of Excellence
Depew, New York
1 review
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The area was beautiful and we enjoyed our stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shell6702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My trip took place several years ago, but it left such a lasting impression that it is forever engraved in my heart. Anne and Olavi made our 7 hour drive well worth it, and I am anxiously awaiting the time I can go back with the family for Thanksgiving. We had a wonderful Tupa, and it was such a relaxing, beautiful atmosphere all around. I went on my first hike, and we sat by the lake, admiring the view. It was nice to have such a clean, quiet room to go back to in the evening. A trip well worth taking.....

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asweetascanbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Point, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We can't say enough about our experience at Lapland! Anne and Olavi care so much about their place and about sharing it's beauty with their visitors. Our cabin was clean and very comfortable. We had some chilly nights and plenty of wood provided to us for the wood burning stove in our cabin! Woods Lake is beautiful too and we paddled around the lake in the canoes provided with our stay. We really can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bburke2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We went in september and it was 3d calendar land! Very quiet and peaceful, wonderful lake where you can go kayaking (for free). A sweet house with a lovely wood-stove. Great staff Ann and Olavi (very helpful and kind). And there was internet at the office.The cabins are a little dark but very cosy,especially in the evening. Hope to be back!.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepe069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Our cottage was very clean and everything is perfectly arranged. Stay here!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinka82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This is my first time to Lapland Lake, and I am thinking next year a return visit. The Tupas are clean and comfortable, and equipped. There is easy and immediate access to trails and water, and the trails are varied in length/level of difficulty clearly marked. For me, there was more than enough to do without leaving. The woods are splendid, lush, and generally well-groomed and marked. Access to the sauna and on-spot massage are definite pluses, and highly recommended. Owner/staff are courteous and always helpful.
What more can we ask than these comforts away from home?
Donna

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnagj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We've been to Lapland Lake in both the winter and the summer numerous times, and it's hard to pick which one we like more. The winter skiing can not be beat. Perfect for new and experienced skiers alike. And if you want to try something new, like skate skiing, Olavi will set you up with what you need.

Spending summer days on Woods Lake can not be beat. The lake is clear and clean and refreshing, and the lack of development and prohibition on motorized boats makes you really feel that you are away from it all.

The Tupas (and we've been in at least 4 or 5 of them) are always very clean and comfortable. Due to dietary restrictions in our family, we are always happy to find a well equipped kitchen.

We can not wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashazmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

Property: Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Address: 139 Lapland Lake Rd, Northville, NY 12134-3962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Northville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Northville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center offers a touch of Finland in New York's southern Adirondack Mountains! We offer lodging in cozy tupas (housekeeping cottages), a pristine non-motor lake with sandy beach for swimming, fishing, kayaking and canoeing along with scenic hiking and mountain biking. Visit in winter for the day or overnight to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. Our four-season woodland retreat was proudly operated by former U.S. Olympian Olavi Hirvonen and his family for more than 35 years. New owners Kathy and Paul Zahray offer you their warmest welcome. We offer year round lodging in ten immaculate tupas (housekeeping cottages) featuring up to four bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens (refrigerator-freezer, range, microwave, toaster, electric coffee maker), baths with showers, screened porches, electric heat, wood stoves including all wood stove supplies, outdoor fire pit and BBQ. Our authentic Finnish wood-burning sauna is complimentary year round for overnight guests. Professional massage therapy is available. During the spring, summer and fall seasons overnight guests have access to our stunning 70-acre, motor-free lake with sandy beach. Woods Lake offers exceptional swimming, fishing, kayaking & canoeing with complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, rowboats and paddle boats. Our 30-mile of private hiking and mountain biking trails are available for our lodging guests' use. Our 3-mile self-guided nature trail is a delight for children and adults alike. In the winter months you are welcome to visit for the day or to lodge with us to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. 50Km of scenic ski & snowshoe trails are surrounded by the pristine southern Adirondack Forest Preserve. Trails are available for all abilities, from beginner to expert. Lapland Lake offers meticulous snowcat grooming; well-trained, courteous staff; two-story warming lodge; full rental-retail shops; daily PSIA ski instruction; children's tubing; ice-skating and two food service locations. Tavataan ladulla! See you on the trails! Come join us to experience Adirondack Splendor and Finnish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Hotel Northville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing