We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a soothing and relaxing getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Orendaga on Northville Lake
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Such a great weekend retreat! The Orendaga is little less than four hours from home, but it was like another world. Between the mountains, the trees, and the lake, if you need to exhale, this is where you should be.
The Orendaga cabin on the lakefront was perfectly appointed - so tidy and clean, with space heaters and an electric fireplace (good thing for us - it got a bit chilly!). Organized and non-cluttered, all needs met! Fabulous organic/fair trade tea and coffee blends were supplied for fresh, delicious brew; a bookshelf full of reads, rowboats and kayaks, a fire pit and grills - we loved it. The screened-in porch overlooks the lake, and it was perfectly serene.
The main house and the pottery studio have been refurbed from the original buildings - these artists have stayed true to the feel and history of this place, adding only what was needed, and only in a way that enhances. Absolutely beautiful.
We spent some time in town; shopped and ate locally - kinder, more friendly people just can't be found. If you're staying, ask about a relaxing massage with Donna; she is wonderful! Special thanks to Java John, our friends at the Alpine, and to the wonderful stylist at Just Because Boutique.
I was likely an OCD pain, but Michele helped set everything up via email and supplied information and all the help I needed, with patience and a sense of humor! While we were there, Lorri (sp?) was helpful and lovely - we can't wait to return with friends to rent out all of the spaces (!!) and to visit the Inn at the Bridge, which is what these two, and their husbands, are working working on. Should be amazing!

Room Tip: Most definitely choose the Orendaga if you can. It's set apart, so it's a bit more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

In September, My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at The Orendaga on Northville Lake. It was so peaceful, relaxing, and magical. We canoed on the Lake and was greeted every morning by welcoming ducks. We walked over the bridge into town and had homemade pastries at a small town bakery,We took long romantic walks and enjoyed the natural beauty of Northville NY. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We plan to return every year.

Room Tip: Select The Orendaga Lake Front cabin. It is right on the lake and provides a private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelAngel1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My family and I stayed overnight at the Orendaga in the Blue Heron Suite no. 1. The cabin was very comfortable we especially enjoyed the fireplace. We were in the area looking at property and the owners were very accommodating and helpful with giving us information about the area. We will definitely be returning.
Maggie K

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Every Columbus Day weekend, my wife and i make our sojurn to Northville, New York; to enjoy the leaf peeking season...in the Sacandaga Lake region.
Over the years we have stayed at several different accomodations, until we discovered the Orendaga. Now the Orendaga is our yearly tradition.
The Orendaga, right on Northville Lake, offers memorable views,spacious living rooms,with everything you need for a perfect stay....and very attentive owner/hosts.
At the Southern most entry to The Adirondack Park, this is a must stop for the perfect get-a-way vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We absolutely loved the Bluebird Cabin at the Orendaga. Beautiful setting, clean, quiet, comfortable, has everything you need, and great accommodating owners. We drove around the lake, hiked Auger Falls, and ate in the village. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

A friend and I had only one night in the Blue Heron Suite No. 1. The place is very calm, direct at the lake and the rooms are very tasteful furnished and decorated in harmony with the character of the buildings and the landscape. As it was already mid October when we got there it was cool, but the fireplace made it cozy (and after a while quite hot). I would not recommend this special Suite for winter, especially not when you need the extra bed in the kitchen/living room then you need to turn off the fireplace. I can imagine it is a dream during spring/summer/early fall, especially when you can swim in the lake. Lack of a decent grocery store is a problem, Restaurants where mostly closed that day, but the owners plan to open a bistro in near future. And we also heard from Michele, one of the owner, there is a good equipped supermarket 25 minutes away and a very good farmers market in summer. All in all, extremely nice experience and worth to support the little green and sustainable Inn in a town which is still a sleeping beauty with lots of ideas and little money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gisela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at The Orendaga, in the Orendaga Cabin for our 20th Anniversary. My wife summed up our stay as "Charming Cottage, splendid lake, great coffee, beautiful pottery, lovely soaps, friendly helpful owners. We cant wait to come back. The Orendaga has everything."

We had a great time, Michele, one of the owners was so helpful through out our stay, offering suggestions of things to do, very knowledgeable about the region. The cabin was very clean, beds were comfortable, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Orendaga on Northville Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orendaga on Northville Lake

Address: 732 South Main Street, Northville, NY 12134
Region: United States > New York > Northville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Northville
Price Range: £82 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Inn on the lake featuring organic gardens, pottery studio, and finely crafted private accommodations in beautifully restored antique cabins & suites. Within the Historic Village of Northville, the Inn provides vintage bicycles, kayaks, or a short walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing