We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski till you drop...”

Lapland Lake Cross Country Ski Center
CAMBRIDGE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ski till you drop...”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

If you are a cross country skier, this is the ultimate comfort place to spend a long winter weekend or even a week...rustic but agreeable. Several minutes after unpacking it hits you, just how relaxed you are...friendly staff, comfortable lodging, skiers gliding past your window. But then you get on your skis and your are in heaven...you won't see grooming on XC trails like this anywhere else...Olavi is a master. The fantastic trails turn back on themselves so many times before long you are not even sure which way you are headed, but the signage is great and you are never lost. Difficulty ratings are spot-on so you are not going to get on something you can't handle. Bring your own evening entertainment...no TV's in the tupas or lodge, and no cell service (if that's not heaven nothing is.) So read a book in front of the wood stove, or more likely collapse into bed with a big smile thinking about the skiing the next day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cambridgevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    15
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome cross country ski center”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

lots of trails for all levels with exceptional grooming everyday. even on weekends it never feels crowded. relaxing and peaceful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stepping back in Time”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is the 4th year my friend and I have gone cross country skiing at Lapland Lake. I feel like it is stepping back in time. I love the chance to enjoy winter in such a serene setting. We have stayed in the cabins with no cell phone service and no TV and thought it was great. The cabins are very comfortable and charming. The wood burning stoves make it very cozy. Neither of us are expert skiers by any stretch of the imagination. It's great because you can go out for an hour or two, come back and warm up at your cabin or the Lodge, and then go out again for as long as you like. We drive 5.5 hours from NJ and hope to do it again next year. We have taken a lesson every year and the teachers were great. The owners Ann and Olavi are perfect hosts.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
337 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Finnish Themed Cross Country Ski Center”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have been going to Lapland Lake for years to cross-country ski as they tend to have snow when no one else in the surrounding area does, as is the case this year. The trails are well groomed for both classic and skate skiing, and there is a nice variety of trails. You can ski up and down hills of varying difficulty and on the lake. There is a snack bar in the ski lodge and a Finnish restaurant on the grounds in a separate building. The trails also have Finnish names. It is a bit of a drive from the Thruway, about 35 miles, and when buses bring people to the ski center, they tend to idle for the whole time there, giving the area a diesel smell.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laplandlake, Manager at Lapland Lake Cross Country Ski Center, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments! We're humbled, as we always are with such positive reviews. Regarding buses idling, this had been an occasional issue years ago, but NYS law now prohibits idling. No buses should be in idle mode for more than 5 minutes. This is a simple fix. If any employee or visitor notices a bus idling for longer than five minutes, they should certainly report this to Ann or Olavi. We are always present (it's one thing customers say they love - that we are always present), and we will immediately make sure the bus driver complies with the law. Our guests come here for an escape to the beauty of nature, and we continually endeavor to ensure their experience is as pure and pristine as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent !!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was our third stay at a tupa (cottage) in Lapland Lake. It was lovely as usual. The facilities are very comfortable and warm, the staff is very helpful. Ski conditions and trail grooming were excellent. We will be returning again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RandMNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lapland Lake Cross Country Ski Center also viewed

 

Been to Lapland Lake Cross Country Ski Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing