We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Amazing”

Northeast Classic Car Museum
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Over 170 classic and vintage vehicles from 1899 through the early 1980's in 5 climate-controlled repurposed factory buildings. Historic Pre-war exhibit, Nostalgic Post-war 50's, 60's & 70's cars, Cars Made in NY State exhibt, Largest Franklin exhibit in the world, Period fashions, WWI & WWII airplane engines, videos, & more. New exhibit open May 20th "Open Road, Open Sky: a Collection of Convertibles & Motorcycles" runs through April 2018. Open 7 days a week from 9am-5pm; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas & New Year's Day. Wheelchair accessible. Group rates available; ample parking for buses & RV’s. Easy to find in a beautiful Central New York rural setting. Event Room for rent for your family reunions, Bachelor parties, corporate events, Car Club dinners & meetings. Buses welcome, make us your lunch stop, catering from local restaurants available at booking.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 7 December 2013

If there is a better museum of classic cars in America, I would like to know where. The number of cars and variety is stunning. From a 1931 Cadillac convertible, a classic electric car, a front wheel drive Cord, tucks and numerous others in immaculate condition is just incredible. Every car has a placard detailing information on that vehicle that is very informative. There are men and women mannequins (mostly women) depicting attire of the time which adds to the overall enjoyment. Some of the cars are very unique and/or extremely rare. There is a nice small gift shop area and very knowledgeable and friendly volunteers who will take you on a tour and/or answer any question you have. The outside look of the building is nothing special but once inside, look out, this immaculate showroom(s) just explodes before your eyes. Plan at least 2 hours but you can easily spend more. Don't miss it. For $9.00 it's a steal.

3  Thank rbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neccm, Marketing Coordinator at Northeast Classic Car Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thanks for the great recommendation! We're pretty proud of our museum, too. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"classic cars"
in 28 reviews
"old cars"
in 14 reviews
"muscle cars"
in 13 reviews
"beautiful cars"
in 9 reviews
"on display"
in 16 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 11 reviews
"car enthusiast"
in 7 reviews
"great car"
in 4 reviews
"knowledgeable volunteers"
in 3 reviews
"pre war"
in 3 reviews
"down memory lane"
in 3 reviews
"classic car museum"
in 24 reviews
"electric scooter"
in 2 reviews
"revolving exhibits"
in 2 reviews
"very nice gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"answer questions"
in 7 reviews
"back in the day"
in 5 reviews
Filter

146 - 150 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Easy access, street level, multiple comfortable new buildings housing a rotating collection of hundreds of classic cars and trucks. The largest collection of Franklins automobiles anywhere! I especially liked the collection of New York made vehicles from small and obscure NY manufacturers. Whenever we have visiting family or friends we make sure to visit again.

1  Thank PictureLadyHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neccm, Marketing Coordinator at Northeast Classic Car Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for the kind words and for sharing the Museum with your family and friends. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The museum is very large and immaculate. The information by each car is quite interesting. I liked the mannequins that were dressed in period fashion that matched the year of the vehicle. A cheerful volunteer came by on a golf cart and told us about the founder of the museum who was a local. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank filhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neccm, Marketing Coordinator at Northeast Classic Car Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thanks for making the trip up from NJ and for the great review. We should give a shout out to the local Chenango County Historical Society, who helps us maintain the great period fashions on exhibit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you're even remotely a car buff you'll enjoy your visit immensely! I was amazed at how many automobiles were being shown at the museum. I found the entire collection impressive, especially the display of car built in New York State. I had no idea how productive the industry in New York had been. The last time I was there I was able to sit in a couple of cars, including a Model T like my grandfather's, to see how they have changed over the years. It made me appreciate the comforts that my current vehicle has! I highly recommend taking the time to visit.

1  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neccm, Marketing Director at Northeast Classic Car Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a nice review. We drive the vehicles on occasion for parades, etc..., and truer words were never spoken about appreciating the comfort and amenities of modern vehicles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I did not know what to expect when I visited this museum. But the huge collection of antique autos is wonderful! This museum has the largest collection of Franklin cars in the US--and I had never heard of that brand. There is also a display of cars manufactured in the state of NY. I did not realize that NY produced automobiles. The care and attention to details at this museum made it a must see for anyone coming to this area. The docents were helpful, and yet, let you take your time to see the cars for yourself as well. And, you can take all the photos you want. I have been to several classic and antique car museums, and this is one of the best!

1  Thank Candy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neccm, Marketing Director at Northeast Classic Car Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks for the kind words! So happy you enjoyed your visit, and learned all about the great automotive manufacturing history of New York State.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northeast Classic Car Museum also viewed

 

Been to Northeast Classic Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing