We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Collection of Classic & Unusual Antique Cars”

Northeast Classic Car Museum
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Over 170 classic and vintage vehicles from 1899 through the early 1980's in 5 climate-controlled repurposed factory buildings. Historic Pre-war exhibit, Nostalgic Post-war 50's, 60's & 70's cars, Cars Made in NY State exhibt, Largest Franklin exhibit in the world, Period fashions, WWI & WWII airplane engines, videos, & more. New exhibit open May 20th "Open Road, Open Sky: a Collection of Convertibles & Motorcycles" runs through April 2018. Open 7 days a week from 9am-5pm; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas & New Year's Day. Wheelchair accessible. Group rates available; ample parking for buses & RV’s. Easy to find in a beautiful Central New York rural setting. Event Room for rent for your family reunions, Bachelor parties, corporate events, Car Club dinners & meetings. Buses welcome, make us your lunch stop, catering from local restaurants available at booking.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Cincinnatus, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Collection of Classic & Unusual Antique Cars”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Northeast Classic Car Museum is an excellent destination not only for serious car buffs but for anyone who likes a bit of history and seeing beautiful cars from years gone by. You will see a wide variety of cars from Franklin, Duesenberg, Packard, to the classic "woodies". The museum displays the cars nicely in a series of buildings connected together making a pleasant viewing experience no matter what the weather outside. The museum houses about a hundred and fifty cars, some that are quite unusual and I never knew they existed before my visit. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the Northeast Classic Car Museum to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeckyS1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neccm, Marketing Coordinator at Northeast Classic Car Museum, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thanks for the kind words! We are very proud of our variety and displays, and are glad you enjoyed them. (We will note that the main display of Wagons & Woodies will be leaving in April 2014, to be replaced with a new limited-time exhibit.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Car Museum”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this Museum which has an amazing selection of cars and lots of history. My husband appreciated the guided tour given by one of the volunteers. This is car photographers paradise and I enjoyed snapping away at not only the cars, but the beautifully dressed 'dummies' wearing 1940's and 50's clothing. On Tuesday's in March they do 2 for 1 admission which we benefited from. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neccm, Marketing Coordinator at Northeast Classic Car Museum, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope you got some great shots. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

If there is a better museum of classic cars in America, I would like to know where. The number of cars and variety is stunning. From a 1931 Cadillac convertible, a classic electric car, a front wheel drive Cord, tucks and numerous others in immaculate condition is just incredible. Every car has a placard detailing information on that vehicle that is very informative. There are men and women mannequins (mostly women) depicting attire of the time which adds to the overall enjoyment. Some of the cars are very unique and/or extremely rare. There is a nice small gift shop area and very knowledgeable and friendly volunteers who will take you on a tour and/or answer any question you have. The outside look of the building is nothing special but once inside, look out, this immaculate showroom(s) just explodes before your eyes. Plan at least 2 hours but you can easily spend more. Don't miss it. For $9.00 it's a steal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neccm, Marketing Coordinator at Northeast Classic Car Museum, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thanks for the great recommendation! We're pretty proud of our museum, too. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chenango County, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easy to find, all indoor facility well worth the visit!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Easy access, street level, multiple comfortable new buildings housing a rotating collection of hundreds of classic cars and trucks. The largest collection of Franklins automobiles anywhere! I especially liked the collection of New York made vehicles from small and obscure NY manufacturers. Whenever we have visiting family or friends we make sure to visit again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PictureLadyHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neccm, Marketing Coordinator at Northeast Classic Car Museum, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for the kind words and for sharing the Museum with your family and friends. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The museum is very large and immaculate. The information by each car is quite interesting. I liked the mannequins that were dressed in period fashion that matched the year of the vehicle. A cheerful volunteer came by on a golf cart and told us about the founder of the museum who was a local. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank filhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neccm, Marketing Coordinator at Northeast Classic Car Museum, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thanks for making the trip up from NJ and for the great review. We should give a shout out to the local Chenango County Historical Society, who helps us maintain the great period fashions on exhibit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northeast Classic Car Museum also viewed

 

Been to Northeast Classic Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing