We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adequate motel, convenient location”
Review of West Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Gate Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stopped at the Best Western because it was the most convenient location for us on a recent trip to the Nyack area. Our room was very clean and had all the necessities, including a refrigerator and the obligatory 1-cup coffee maker and hair dryer. The room was a generous size, the decor I would describe as average-motel decor. Furniture in good shape, bathroom very clean. So in all those respects it was completely adequate.

At check-in, we were given vouchers for breakfast, served 7 - 10. We arrived about 8. We waited nearly 30 minutes to get our orders taken by the lone waitress who was authorized to do that. The other waitress was the "drinks" person, and they had a fellow bussing tables, but that was it for a room of about 30 tables. One of the 4 categories you were to order from (like a Chinese restaurant) offered the choice of yogurt or fruit cocktail. When we placed our orders at about 8:30, we were told that they were out of both (ditto the cream cheese for my bagel). I'm not sure how a restaurant runs out of both offerings in a category, unless they are breaking the "only one from a category" rule, or there was some major error in ordering from the supplier. If I were a regular here, I would skip the eggs and hashbrowns, too, and plead for yogurt and fruit. This place needs to look at the staffing and their ordering.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the Thruway, which passes by on the back side of this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThreeRosettes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear ThreeRosettes70
We want to thank you for your review and comments of your recent stay. We are glad you found our rooms with the necessities you mentioned to meet your needs. We do take into consideration all comments and recommendations from our guest to see how we can improve in all categories. Although our breakfast served in our restaurant offers most items, there is always room for improvement and that also pertains to staffing as well. Again we appreciate you pointing these out to us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Gregory Parseghian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Once again, this family owned, family run hotel has come to our rescue.
The hotel has been completely renovated, is clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The attached restaurant is good and with coupons given with room reservations, very affordable.
During Sandy we needed a clean, warm landing place that the Best Western offered.
In the last few days, again with a home emergency of a blown water heater, this hotel was a refuge.
We send our friends and family when they come to town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Carol F. Thank you for taking the time to respond your comments about our facility. We are happy that we were able to accomodate you at your time of need. We look forward to having you visit us again and thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have 3 kids and are used to some mess, but this place took the cake - and apparently smushed it right into the carpet. Our baby's hands and feet were BLACK after 5 min of crawling, and we had to dust the wardrobe shelf to use it. Nice staff and good breakfast, but not enough to bring us back. Yech!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Mitchell S
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns regarding your stay with us. Feedback is one of the most valuable tools to help us correct any problems and conditions of our rooms. We
deep clean our carpets twice a year and more frequently as needed. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Would not recommend. Motel allows patrons of attached lounge to park in the motel room spaces so there are no spaces for those staying at the motel. 3 people could barely move in the cramped double room. We were given vouchers for the free breakfast in the attached diner but choices were limited to one each box with items placed in boxes randomly. For instance, juice belonged in same box with fruit cup (same) not in the same one as coffee so one had to choose between coffee & juice. They were often out of items so there was no choice. Waitress forgot to bring some items. They did have good cheesecake though. The bath had a good shower head. The lounge has live music on weekends so avoid rooms in hearing distance of lounge. There was no pool; 1st BW I've been to without one. There was a bug on the wall over the bed. No cream was provided for the coffee in the room, making it useless.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I WOULD NEVER EVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE.
This was the first and last time I will ever be stepping into this ..motel. Within the first few steps we took, the smell of urine took over the entire entrance to the front desk. The carpets were dirty. The exterior of this building was falling apart. The location was so inconvenient & representative of a ghetto. The lighting and windows were dark and in need of dire washing. The night auditor Arturo was EXTREMELY rude, offering us no help and little empathy in a seemingly simple situation. We arrived at 3:30 in the morning and were treated so bad, belittled and insulted that we cancelled our reservation right then and there and went down to the Comfort Inn in Nanuet (BEAUTIFUL!!). The staff in this dirty motel need to be trained and qualified to do their jobs and offer exceptional services to their PAYING guests. You're better off spending 15$ a night more and having a clean, classy hotel with a friendly staff there to help you (Comfort Inn!). DO NOT- I REPEAT- DO NOT IGNORE THIS COMMENT, as you will regret your stay at the Best Western Nyack 100%! The front desk clerk Arturo is not someone who should be working in the hotel industry!! And you will not want to seek help from him. As someone who works in hotels, I believe AND KNOW that a hotel is supposed to roll out the red carpet for its guests as competition is on the rise. This hotel provided NO MATCH to its surrounding competitors and in my perspective, will not last long.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Close to Village of Nyack and Tarrytown. For the price and the condition of the rooms I'd say it's overpriced. Carpet needs to be replaced and it was cold the first night I was there. Couldn't get the heater to work so had to ask for blankets. With a little work this could be a nice place.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Overall convenient to where we were going. Staff were excellent! Had a good understanding of the area, local restaurants and where to get anything needed. Good breakfast in the morning and great cheesecake!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 147JamesH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyack
0.1 mi away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
870 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
4.8 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawthorne
154 reviews
4.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Gate Inn

Address: 26 Route 59, Nyack, NY 10960-2913 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Nyack on Hudson)
Region: United States > New York > Nyack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
Price Range: £70 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location with easy access to all major highways makes this mid-priced family operated Nyack hotel a favorite for guests with a full itinerary. Hotels near the Tappan Zee Bridge make it simple for travelers to take in and enjoy the most popular local destinations. With close proximity to NYC, the city is only 30 minutes away, but many guests prefer to stick close by. There's no end to the entertainment, with the West Gate Lounge featuring disco and live Salsa bands and the Scenic Hudson River Valley in your backyard. Weekly rates are available, making travel easy for those on extended stays. This hotel near Tarrytown and Sleepy Hollow is popular with business travelers in town with Ampacet or the favorite local Kuka Brewery. The West Point Military Academy brings a number of long-term service men and women to the area, and with Camp Shanks near this Nyack hotel, our staff members specialize in making your longer stay as homey as possible. Hotels near Nyack College welcome academics, students and their loved ones year-round. Whether you're here for graduation or to teach a term, everything you need is at your fingertips. Palisades Center Mall and the Woodbury Commons Premium Outlets are a shopper's paradise, while there are numerous historical sites within Rockland and Westchester County for history buffs. Whether you're looking for hotels near Nyack hospital for medical tourism or simply a getaway, you'll enjoy our on-premise restaurant that serves award-winning cheesecake. Slip away to Nyack Beach State Park for a romantic stroll or Rockland Lake State Park for some water recreation. The proximity to numerous hiking and biking trails brings outdoor travelers from around the country to our West Gate Inn Nyack. Local gifts, crafts and antique shops as well as the comedy shows at Levity Live make for a one of a kind escape. Reserve a room at West Gate Inn Nyack today! Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your West Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nyack On Hudson Hotel Nyack
Nyack Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing