We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll never forget what diary is that carpet in this hotel. I don't like this one.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Gate Inn Nyack
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'll never forget what diary is that carpet in this hotel. I don't like this one.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

never would return to stay at this hotel. when I enter the first thing I did not like was the smell he had, lamps ensender could not, then I'll put my kids milk in the fridge and did not work and the beds that deception waoo stained sheets. floor mats, super old and terribly dirty. I definitely be back to this hotel ever again. Best Western Nyack on Hudson.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Mildred B,

We want to thank you for posting your review and especially identifying these issues with your particular room. Management will be working closely with housekeeping to make sure these issues are addressed. We hope you would reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, we thank you for bringing these to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    45
    43
    32
    21
See reviews for
63
43
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a dump. Nyack on the Hudson, in reality, is motel on the freeway. This hotel/motel is completely neglected and outdated. When you can't tell if the room trappings or old or dirty, you know you have a grungy hotel. The sheets are threadbare, tub stained beyond cleaning and carpet in need of replacement. You know you're in trouble when you make sure your toothbrush and razor never touches the counter. It may be clean, but it is so old and dingy that you don't want to risk it. To top it all off, the freeway noise prevents any REM sleep. The best part of this hotel is leaving.

Room Tip: Select another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SolipsisticToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear SolipsisticToo,

We are very sorry that your experience here at the Best Western was less than expected. We do value our customer’s feedback and take them very seriously. Yes, we are a hotel with outdoor corridors conveniently located off of thruway exit. However, we take much pride in the cleanliness of our facilities. We are in the process of renovating some of the rooms in need of repair and that includes some of the carpeting. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you visit with us in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nyack hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
221 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

In general, I like Best Western Hotels. They are almost always a pleasant surprise. The Nyack on Hudson Best Western was a bad surprise. The room was not clean, there were 20 or 30 broken tiles in the shower, and somehow I’d failed to notice when I booked that all the doors were outside doors (less security than I prefer) and the hotel itself is located on the noisiest street I’ve every stayed on. There is a 24 hour cacophony of horns, sirens, alarms etc. Considering the relatively high price I paid to stay there it does not even qualify as a good budget hotel. I will not be returning – ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Consultantgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Consultantgal,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay with us at the Best Western Nyack on Hudson. We take our guests' observations and comments with great concern. We value your feedback and are taking every measure to ensure that all our guests are satisfied with their stay. As you mentioned, we do have exterior corridors, and we do have many satisfied guests that enjoy the convenience of parking in front or near their room. Our management team is working with housekeeping to take care of these items that you brought to our attention. We apologize that your stay was not more pleasurable and thank you for making us aware of the condition in the room you had stayed in. We take pride in the Best Western name and aim to improve in all areas.

Gregory Parseghian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at this motel last week. It's an older motel, but clean and neat with nice furnishings. The staff was pleasant. There were extra towels, and as is the case with older motels, there were towel racks in the bathroom! I appreciate that. The WiFi worked well. Breakfast is served in the adjoining restaurant and features sit-down service, a nice extra. I had a delicious hamburger the night before in the restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Marie S.
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the good value our property offers. We value all guest feedback as we strive to bring our best value. We glad you took note of the towel racks in the bathroom as we think it is a necessary feature that will never go out of style! A number of our guests are very pleased with our hot breakfast and having the added feature of the adjoining restaurant makes it convenient for guest. By the way, one of the favorites at the restaurant, are the hamburgers. We hope to see you here again, and this time try our award winning cheesecakes. Safe travels.
Gregory Parseghian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stopped at the Best Western because it was the most convenient location for us on a recent trip to the Nyack area. Our room was very clean and had all the necessities, including a refrigerator and the obligatory 1-cup coffee maker and hair dryer. The room was a generous size, the decor I would describe as average-motel decor. Furniture in good shape, bathroom very clean. So in all those respects it was completely adequate.

At check-in, we were given vouchers for breakfast, served 7 - 10. We arrived about 8. We waited nearly 30 minutes to get our orders taken by the lone waitress who was authorized to do that. The other waitress was the "drinks" person, and they had a fellow bussing tables, but that was it for a room of about 30 tables. One of the 4 categories you were to order from (like a Chinese restaurant) offered the choice of yogurt or fruit cocktail. When we placed our orders at about 8:30, we were told that they were out of both (ditto the cream cheese for my bagel). I'm not sure how a restaurant runs out of both offerings in a category, unless they are breaking the "only one from a category" rule, or there was some major error in ordering from the supplier. If I were a regular here, I would skip the eggs and hashbrowns, too, and plead for yogurt and fruit. This place needs to look at the staffing and their ordering.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the Thruway, which passes by on the back side of this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeRosettes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear ThreeRosettes70
We want to thank you for your review and comments of your recent stay. We are glad you found our rooms with the necessities you mentioned to meet your needs. We do take into consideration all comments and recommendations from our guest to see how we can improve in all categories. Although our breakfast served in our restaurant offers most items, there is always room for improvement and that also pertains to staffing as well. Again we appreciate you pointing these out to us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Gregory Parseghian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Once again, this family owned, family run hotel has come to our rescue.
The hotel has been completely renovated, is clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The attached restaurant is good and with coupons given with room reservations, very affordable.
During Sandy we needed a clean, warm landing place that the Best Western offered.
In the last few days, again with a home emergency of a blown water heater, this hotel was a refuge.
We send our friends and family when they come to town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Carol F. Thank you for taking the time to respond your comments about our facility. We are happy that we were able to accomodate you at your time of need. We look forward to having you visit us again and thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have 3 kids and are used to some mess, but this place took the cake - and apparently smushed it right into the carpet. Our baby's hands and feet were BLACK after 5 min of crawling, and we had to dust the wardrobe shelf to use it. Nice staff and good breakfast, but not enough to bring us back. Yech!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Mitchell S
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns regarding your stay with us. Feedback is one of the most valuable tools to help us correct any problems and conditions of our rooms. We
deep clean our carpets twice a year and more frequently as needed. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyack
0.1 mi away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
4.8 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Spring Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
4.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
4.9 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Gate Inn Nyack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Gate Inn Nyack

Property: West Gate Inn Nyack
Address: 26 Route 59, Nyack, NY 10960-2913 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Nyack on Hudson)
Region: United States > New York > Nyack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Gate Inn Nyack 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location with easy access to all major highways makes this mid-priced family operated Nyack hotel a favorite for guests with a full itinerary. Hotels near the Tappan Zee Bridge make it simple for travelers to take in and enjoy the most popular local destinations. With close proximity to NYC, the city is only 30 minutes away, but many guests prefer to stick close by. There's no end to the entertainment, with the West Gate Lounge featuring disco and live Salsa bands and the Scenic Hudson River Valley in your backyard. Weekly rates are available, making travel easy for those on extended stays. This hotel near Tarrytown and Sleepy Hollow is popular with business travelers in town with Ampacet or the favorite local Kuka Brewery. The West Point Military Academy brings a number of long-term service men and women to the area, and with Camp Shanks near this Nyack hotel, our staff members specialize in making your longer stay as homey as possible. Hotels near Nyack College welcome academics, students and their loved ones year-round. Whether you're here for graduation or to teach a term, everything you need is at your fingertips. Palisades Center Mall and the Woodbury Commons Premium Outlets are a shopper's paradise, while there are numerous historical sites within Rockland and Westchester County for history buffs. Whether you're looking for hotels near Nyack hospital for medical tourism or simply a getaway, you'll enjoy our on-premise restaurant that serves award-winning cheesecake. Slip away to Nyack Beach State Park for a romantic stroll or Rockland Lake State Park for some water recreation. The proximity to numerous hiking and biking trails brings outdoor travelers from around the country to our West Gate Inn Nyack. Local gifts, crafts and antique shops as well as the comedy shows at Levity Live make for a one of a kind escape. Reserve a room at West Gate Inn Nyack today! Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Gate Inn Nyack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nyack On Hudson Hotel Nyack
Nyack Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing