We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful pretentious for a dated hotel located in a sketchy area.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Gate Inn Nyack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Gate Inn Nyack
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful pretentious for a dated hotel located in a sketchy area.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The promised accommodations & ammenities posted on the hotel website left me extremely dissapointed. Was promised a free bollte of water and snack upon check-in (nope) free entry to lounge (nope- was not allowed entry to th lounge due to the pretentious dress code)! The guest room was tiny and smelled stale. There was mold in the shower stall and a stained toilet bowl. I dropped the remote on the floor by the bed & looked under the bed ...I don't think the carpet under the beds have ever been vaccumed. No "do not disturb" sign for the door, so housekeeping kept knocking in the morning. The only thing that was good was the free breakfast...if you could find a clean table.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Connie S,
We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay here. We take all feedback very seriously as guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We are looking into all that you mentioned to ensure that the systems we have in place are working properly for all guests. We do have complimentary entry to the lounge for overnight guests at present. However, there is a dress code for our upscale Saturday Latin events at the West Gate Lounge. The Friday disco nights has a more relaxed casual dress code. We appreciate your input and hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    45
    43
    32
    21
See reviews for
63
43
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Irrespective of the normal ratings of cleanliness etc, this hotel attracts warring factions which the hotel allowed to reign until 4am before the police were called. The police seemed friendly with the perpetrators, which is probably because they are frequently called there.
Not only was it impossible to sleep but it was frightening. The hotel receptionist told us the following morning she could not contact the hotel manager/owner for 4 days as he was on holiday. She was not empowered to deal with our complaint or even offer to have us contacted. She was unconcerned.

Room Tip: Move on, don't stay if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4pghs, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Tracy T,

We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced here. Our policy is zero tolerance for any disturbances. If any are brought to our attention we immediately respond and call the police accordingly. We take great pride in our local police department to handle any situation professionally. Our staff is very helpful and sympathetic to our guests needs. Our front desk staff is empowered to handle customer service and/or complaints, so we are surprised that it was not handled to your satisfaction. Management is always willing to investigate further any situations that are brought to our attention. We are a family owned and a family friendly business that is here to welcome and provide warm hospitality. Thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nyack hotels

Danbury, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The rooms were nice and clean, we got free admission to the club, a free full breakfast at the restaurant the next morning and a 10% discount at the restaurant in the evening as well. It was a great value. I will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4pghs, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Miriam S,

We value all of our customer’s feedback. We are pleased you experienced our comfortable clean rooms which are decorator designed with added amenities. Its great that you were able to take advantage of the free admission to our West Gate Lounge, which features live Salsa music and dancing on Saturday Nights, and Disco on Friday Nights. Glad you enjoyed our complimentary full hot breakfast made to order at our on-premise West Gate Restaurant, which also serves lunch and dinner. The restaurant is also home of the award winning blue ribbon Cheesecakes by Lisa, our Dining Room/Banquet Manager. A must try on your next visit with us! Thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you stay with us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Good deal for the price. Older style with outside doors but clean and bed comfortable. Noise from area a bit much but did quiet down by bed time. Restaurant feed was better than most hotel complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Chris C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very glad that your stay here at Best Western Nyack on Hudson met your needs. Our goal is for customer satisfaction and to make our rooms comfortable for all our guests. Our guests rave about our complimentary hot breakfast made to order at our on-site restaurant. Next time try our award winning cheesecakes by Lisa! Thank you again, and we hope to see you on future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for one night before heading into Sleepy Hollow for a tour of Kykuit. I usually like staying at Best Westerns but this place was a total disappointment. I booked the room in advance because it was one of the less expensive places near Sleepy Hollow. I wish I would've spent a little extra money and stayed elsewhere. The entire building was extremely outdated and looked very sketchy. All of the rooms open up to the outside. As we pulled up, I told myself the rooms HAVE to look better than the outside... surely they've been updated. As soon as I walked into our room, I noticed a weird, stale odor. The carpet was disgusting -- very old and worn with visible stains everywhere. Trying to be optimistic, I noticed a mini-fridge and started to point out that we could put some of our drinks in it. Then I saw the gross spider on the fridge door and quickly backed away. The beds (yes I booked a room with two full beds because it was cheaper than a room with a queen) didn't have comforters on them, just sheets. The mattresses were hard and I did not sleep well. I noticed some sort of black mold or mildew in the bathroom on the floor next to the tub. Our A/C didn't work that well so our room was rather stuffy all night (guess I didn't need a comforter after all....). We also had to go around the room and plug in anything we wanted to use. Everything had been unplugged (to save energy?). The room did come with a free breakfast in the hotel restaurant but we didn't stay long enough for the food. I was so disappointed with the room I just wanted to get out of there. After driving nine hours, the last thing I wanted was to stay in a dirty hotel room, but that's what I got. Not a good value for the price at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Parker31,

We take pride in providing great hospitality for our guests and take their observations with great concern. We deeply apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We value your feedback and will continue to focus on problem areas to ensure our guests overall satisfaction. Currently our beds have triple sheeting which is comprised of two sheets with a blanket in between, plus a fitted sheet. In order to comply with Best Western’s standards, we have removed our traditional bed spreads and are in the process of replacing them with new comforters / duvets. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

never would return to stay at this hotel. when I enter the first thing I did not like was the smell he had, lamps ensender could not, then I'll put my kids milk in the fridge and did not work and the beds that deception waoo stained sheets. floor mats, super old and terribly dirty. I definitely be back to this hotel ever again. Best Western Nyack on Hudson.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Mildred B,

We want to thank you for posting your review and especially identifying these issues with your particular room. Management will be working closely with housekeeping to make sure these issues are addressed. We hope you would reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, we thank you for bringing these to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a dump. Nyack on the Hudson, in reality, is motel on the freeway. This hotel/motel is completely neglected and outdated. When you can't tell if the room trappings or old or dirty, you know you have a grungy hotel. The sheets are threadbare, tub stained beyond cleaning and carpet in need of replacement. You know you're in trouble when you make sure your toothbrush and razor never touches the counter. It may be clean, but it is so old and dingy that you don't want to risk it. To top it all off, the freeway noise prevents any REM sleep. The best part of this hotel is leaving.

Room Tip: Select another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SolipsisticToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P, General Manager at West Gate Inn Nyack, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear SolipsisticToo,

We are very sorry that your experience here at the Best Western was less than expected. We do value our customer’s feedback and take them very seriously. Yes, we are a hotel with outdoor corridors conveniently located off of thruway exit. However, we take much pride in the cleanliness of our facilities. We are in the process of renovating some of the rooms in need of repair and that includes some of the carpeting. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you visit with us in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyack
0.1 mi away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
5.0 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Spring Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Orangeburg - Rockland / Bergen
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Gate Inn Nyack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Gate Inn Nyack

Property: West Gate Inn Nyack
Address: 26 Route 59, Nyack, NY 10960-2913 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Nyack on Hudson)
Region: United States > New York > Nyack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Gate Inn Nyack 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location with easy access to all major highways makes this mid-priced family operated Nyack hotel a favorite for guests with a full itinerary. Hotels near the Tappan Zee Bridge make it simple for travelers to take in and enjoy the most popular local destinations. With close proximity to NYC, the city is only 30 minutes away, but many guests prefer to stick close by. There's no end to the entertainment, with the West Gate Lounge featuring disco and live Salsa bands and the Scenic Hudson River Valley in your backyard. Weekly rates are available, making travel easy for those on extended stays. This hotel near Tarrytown and Sleepy Hollow is popular with business travelers in town with Ampacet or the favorite local Kuka Brewery. The West Point Military Academy brings a number of long-term service men and women to the area, and with Camp Shanks near this Nyack hotel, our staff members specialize in making your longer stay as homey as possible. Hotels near Nyack College welcome academics, students and their loved ones year-round. Whether you're here for graduation or to teach a term, everything you need is at your fingertips. Palisades Center Mall and the Woodbury Commons Premium Outlets are a shopper's paradise, while there are numerous historical sites within Rockland and Westchester County for history buffs. Whether you're looking for hotels near Nyack hospital for medical tourism or simply a getaway, you'll enjoy our on-premise restaurant that serves award-winning cheesecake. Slip away to Nyack Beach State Park for a romantic stroll or Rockland Lake State Park for some water recreation. The proximity to numerous hiking and biking trails brings outdoor travelers from around the country to our West Gate Inn Nyack. Local gifts, crafts and antique shops as well as the comedy shows at Levity Live make for a one of a kind escape. Reserve a room at West Gate Inn Nyack today! Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your West Gate Inn Nyack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nyack On Hudson Hotel Nyack
Nyack Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing