We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled!!!!!”
Review of West Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Gate Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I thought that by the pictures and reviews that this was a nice hotel in the woods with trails nearby.
Nope! It is a motel almost under a highway overpass. And by trails did they mean sidewalks?? All night there was the sounds of big rigs, air brakes and horns. It was horrible and good luck needing an elevator as only one building has one. The rooms reek! My children's room reeked of urine and mine of fecal matter! And that smell from the time we walked in to check out never went away no matter how many times we opened the doors.There is also a dive bar attached to the hotel that is not shown on the site. Three stars?? I think not!!

Room Tip: Run the other way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsTravelalot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4pghs, General Manager at West Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear MrsTravelalot2014,

Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We at Best Western take all feedback seriously from all our guests. We are are sorry you and family did not have a positive experience during your stay. However, we do not have elevators in any of our buildings, so not sure if you meant our property. We do always encourage our guest to come to the front desk and/or ask for management if there is any dissatisfaction with the rooms as it pertains to the problems you mentioned. We wish you the best and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at this Best Western location on my visits back from Santa Barbara, California--all the staff are quite accommodating to my needs --from the location of my room to the convenient check out time of noon, This convenient location is close to shops,restaurants and and to points upstate and to NYC!!

Kindly service and location convenience rank high in my traveling experiences.

Room Tip: in front side, room quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4pghs, Manager at West Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Juliette B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very glad that you had a great stay with us and that our staff was able to help you with your accommodations. Our guests appreciate all that you mentioned, the shops, restaurants, the convenience, and all that the surrounding area has to offer. Again, thank you for your patronage, your feedback, and your recommendations. We look forward to your future stays with us. Happy travels!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were deceived by the name and price for the room. Thought this would be an okay place. It's a run-down hotel property in a commercial district. The area is dirty and noisy. The hotel needs to be rehabbed or torn down. The only salvation is the adjoining restaurant which serves excellent food and an award-winning cheesecake. But we weren't sleeping in the restaurant. You could hear people in other rooms, and noises from outside, including a drunken guest at 2:45 a.m. followed by a business power washing their parking lot at 6:30 AM on SUNDAY morning. We paid $99.99 for a room worth $39 (at best). Sorry, but I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Dolores A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4pghs, General Manager at West Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Dolores A,

We are very sorry that your experience here with us was not to your satisfaction. We take all feedback seriously. Although we are not the most luxurious of hotels, we are a family owned business and take pride to keep our property well maintained and clean, and try to offer all of the amenities than most area hotels. We are glad that you had a positive experience in our hotel restaurant. Most of our guests that stay with us enjoy our restaurant, the surrounding area, and appreciate the value we offer. We do apologize that the other business chose to power wash at such an early time and for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. This is the first time that we are aware of this, but will certainly follow up with them so they can change their schedule. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The manager doesn't even geert u when u check in looks like they don't wanna be there they look miserable the maids leave the cart in front of the rooms helped myself to come supplies and she yells at me and said "HEY WHAT ARE YOU DOING LIKE I'M COMMITTING A CRIME" SHE SAYS YOU CANT DO THAT then the fronts desk calls me and says that if i need supplies for me to call the front desk next time i never went threw anything like that before it felt ashamed then the i asked for a late checkout the night before and the same maid that yelled at me the day before knocks on my door while i was laying down i had to get and explain that i have a late check out

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shayla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4pghs, General Manager at West Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear shayla m ,

We apologize for your experience during your stay. We at Best Western take all feedback seriously as guest satisfaction is of utmost important to us. Our staff is here to assist all our guests with any needs. If additional supplies are needed other than what we have in the rooms, guests can contact the front desk or ask the housekeepers directly. During the cleaning of rooms, housekeepers leave the cleaning cart in front of the room, they are responsible for all the supplies contained in the cart. Again we apologize for any inconvenience or misunderstanding this may have caused you. Thank you for all your comments.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here twice and have already reserved a room for my next visit.
The staff helped me with directions and advice on where to go and what to see.
There are lovely parks and hiking trails nearby and Nyack also has charming shops and restaurants.
The food at the hotel restaurant is very good and the cheese cake is superb.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4pghs, General Manager at West Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Beth P,

Thank you very much for posting your review on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had an excellent stay and our staff was able to assist with your travel plans. We are even more glad that you have reserved your next stay with us. We are here to help our hotel guests, restaurant and lounge patrons. Guests who travel to the nearby Rockland State Park like the great hiking trails, as well as the nearby quaint shops and restaurants in Nyack. When you do come back, you may want to try the new flavor of the month cheesecake! Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just want a place to get away to for a few days? This is it! Just pack light and relax. Best Western Nyack will do the rest. Refrigerator and Microwave in each room, Cable TV, very satisfying Complimentary Breakfasts, Clean, Non-Smoking environment. Attentive Staff, courteous and efficient. Close to the Quaint Town of Nyack and to the Huge Palisades Mall. Restaurant and Bar for whatever mood strikes you. Casual atmosphere. And very well situated to everything, including the return trip home. Check It Out for a Mid-Week Vacation from City Life!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4pghs, General Manager at West Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Theresa C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Customer satisfaction is what we strive for. We are glad you had a relaxing stay with us. Many of our guests stay with as a getaway from city life as you just did. It’s a treat to come and enjoy what the Nyack area has to offer with restaurants, shopping, and the Hudson River nearby. We appreciate you pointing out our courteous and helpful staff. We take pride in offering our guests all the amenities and comforts you mentioned. We look forward to your next mid-week vacation to visit with us soon. Thank you again for your feedback and recommendation.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Yes, this hotel is old. But, it is very well maintained. The restaurant is in excellent condition, and is recently remodeled to look like it is in the 50s. The staff is friendly, the free breakfast is very good and the rooms are very good. Clean, with frig, free wifi and good tv.

I'd recommend this to anyone who does not require flashy, modern, but is happy with clean, friendly and well maintained properties.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4pghs, General Manager at West Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Jay Y,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our family and dedicated staff take great pride in keeping our hotel property to customer satisfaction. Glad you appreciate the value, cleanliness and all of the amenities we offer that other hotels may not include and/or charge additional cost. We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to you visiting with your family soon in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyack
0.1 mi away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
869 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
4.8 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawthorne
154 reviews
4.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Gate Inn

Address: 26 Route 59, Nyack, NY 10960-2913 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Nyack on Hudson)
Region: United States > New York > Nyack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
Price Range: £70 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location with easy access to all major highways makes this mid-priced family operated Nyack hotel a favorite for guests with a full itinerary. Hotels near the Tappan Zee Bridge make it simple for travelers to take in and enjoy the most popular local destinations. With close proximity to NYC, the city is only 30 minutes away, but many guests prefer to stick close by. There's no end to the entertainment, with the West Gate Lounge featuring disco and live Salsa bands and the Scenic Hudson River Valley in your backyard. Weekly rates are available, making travel easy for those on extended stays. This hotel near Tarrytown and Sleepy Hollow is popular with business travelers in town with Ampacet or the favorite local Kuka Brewery. The West Point Military Academy brings a number of long-term service men and women to the area, and with Camp Shanks near this Nyack hotel, our staff members specialize in making your longer stay as homey as possible. Hotels near Nyack College welcome academics, students and their loved ones year-round. Whether you're here for graduation or to teach a term, everything you need is at your fingertips. Palisades Center Mall and the Woodbury Commons Premium Outlets are a shopper's paradise, while there are numerous historical sites within Rockland and Westchester County for history buffs. Whether you're looking for hotels near Nyack hospital for medical tourism or simply a getaway, you'll enjoy our on-premise restaurant that serves award-winning cheesecake. Slip away to Nyack Beach State Park for a romantic stroll or Rockland Lake State Park for some water recreation. The proximity to numerous hiking and biking trails brings outdoor travelers from around the country to our West Gate Inn Nyack. Local gifts, crafts and antique shops as well as the comedy shows at Levity Live make for a one of a kind escape. Reserve a room at West Gate Inn Nyack today! Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your West Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nyack On Hudson Hotel Nyack
Nyack Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing