We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”
Review of Super 8 Nyack NY

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Nyack NY
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    93
    68
    32
    16
See reviews for
76
69
31
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Basic, cheap and affordable accommodations. Friendly check in, basic coffee and continental breakfast. The halls smell like smoke, the rooms were a bit musty, but everything was super clean! We turned the AC on, and the smell dissipated while it was on. The room had a microwave and decent sized refrigerator. I was very pleased with the value for what we paid. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeluv4dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8JF, Manager at Super 8 Nyack NY, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Angeluv,


I would like to take this time to thank you for the opportunity to provide a great stay for you and your family. We at the Super 8, try our hardest to make each persons stay as peaceful and stress free as possible.

We are currently updating our hotel on a daily basis; from painting to complete renovations. Cleanliness is one of the most important aspects within the hotel business, and that is not something our staff takes lightly. With all your hotel options, we thank you for choosing Super 8 of Nyack. We look forward to having you as our valued guest in the near future.

Thank you once again for your kind words

Joseph F
Front Desk Supervisor
Super 8 of Nyack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem MA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were looking for a decent place to hang our collective hats while out in the Pomona, NY area for a family reunion. We didn't need extravagance. The price, here, was decent and it got very good customer reviews. That it included some sort of light breakfast was a bonus, allowing to get our days started without having to hurry out somewhere to find a place for breakfast.

We did stay 2 nights and had requested a non-smoking room for my wife and I, as well as one for my father-in-law. While downtown Nyack is charming, full of restaurants and charming shops, and also near a beautiful state park, this part of Nyack is urban, and construction and highways hover close by. We stayed over on a Saturday and Sunday night, so construction noise was not an issue at the time.

As has been noted by many, the staff is very friendly and really tries to help, even if it seems to be always after the fact, reacting to conditions rather than predicting them.

The rooms they gave us, on the first floor, were surrounded by smoking rooms. The first floor rooms in both wings are all integrated in this way. Only the second floor on the right side are supposedly non-smoking.

The room on the first night smelled fairly heavily of smoke. The hallway smelled of smoke I put on the air conditioner, but that didn't help. My eyes were stinging and I was getting a bit congested. Eventually I had to open the window in the morning to let in some fresh air. I said something to one of the staff and they offered to move us to rooms on the second floor on the right side.

When we arrived later that second day after our family reunion in Pomona, we noticed that the hallway smelled heavily of smoke. Clearly either the circulation the hotel is awful, or someone was smoking in one of the non-smoking rooms in that wing. I mentioned this to the staff.

We had gone out for dinner and to walk the state park nearby. Upon returning, the hall was improved, now only remotely smelling of smoke. The room, however, smelled of smoke as well as musty/moldy. The carpet looked discolored. The only way to get this room to smell okay was to both run the air conditioner AND leave the window open. The room was fine overnight, but turning off the air conditioner allowed the musty smell and slight smokiness to return. This second room also was missing a stopper in the sink and the toilet ran reallllly slowwwwwlllly. You had to hold the handle down for, honest to goodness, between 5-10 seconds to get any decent flow. (Sorry for the TMI, but possibly important to give you a complete picture of our experience.).

The free breakfast consisted of breakfast cereal, toast, toaster waffles, bananas, Activia yogurt (I don't do Splenda), pre-packaged cinnamon rolls, coffee and juice. The juice is weak as they're clearly not adding enough concentrate.

Refraining back to the reacting rather than being pro-active, while not busy when we were there (a smattering here and there of guests), they kept running out of bananas, coffee and milk. The second morning, they had completely run out of juice. .For utensils, they supplied plastic knives and spoons, no forks, even though there were waffles. They did HAVE forks, but corporate doesn't allow them to be put out. One must ask for one.

The folks running this are enthusiastic and pleasant, but unless they do something about the circulation system as well as replace the carpets, there's no way I would recommend staying here if you are at all sensitive to second-hand smoke. If you're a smoker or don't care, then by all means, it's a relatively clean place to stay.and the staff gives their service with a smile. For the smoking tolerant, it's essentially an "Is what it is" sort of establishment.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the right side are supposedly completely non-smoking in the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnalogJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8JF, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Nyack NY, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
AnalogJ,

Thank you for your time in reviewing our property. At this current time our smoking rooms are being updated so the non-smoking rooms will not be affected. We apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered during your stay.

I hope that in the near future you give Super 8 of Nyack a chance to prove why we are the best hotel in Nyack. If you have any questions and would like to discuss the incident via phone please contact me at the hotel and I will gladly speak with you.

Thank you

Joseph F
Front Desk Manager
Super 8 of Nyack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nyack hotels

Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nice, clean, quiet hotel. Got a good nights sleep. Breakfast area could use a couple cafe or other small tables. There were a few chairs. Breakfast fare was limited but if your objective a quiet clean room at a reasonable price for Metro NYC this is the place.

Room Tip: There is a food market across the street, McDonalds next door and other express mart within 2 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8JF, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Nyack NY, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
JS,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive for cleanliness and providing a relaxing stay for our guests. We truly hope to be of service to you in the near future.

Id like to personally thank you for choosing Super 8 of Nyack and making us the number 1 hotel in the area.

Thank you

Joseph F
Front Desk Manager
Super 8 of Nyack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

professional staff, room very clean. outstanding service, will return in the future. very fair price for room. lovely pool. satisfied with breakfast. plasma tv and microwave/refigerator coffee machine was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikel60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyack
0.3 mi away
West Gate Inn Nyack
West Gate Inn Nyack
#3 of 3 in Nyack
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
571 reviews
4.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Nanuet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
492 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Spring Valley
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Nyack NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Nyack NY

Property: Super 8 Nyack NY
Address: 47 Route 59, Nyack, NY 10960-2912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Nyack
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nyack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Nyack NY 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Nyack NY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Nyack Hotel Nyack
Super 8 Nyack
Super Eight Nyack
Nyack Super 8
Nyack Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing