We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onsen Sushi

Onsen Sushi
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Oakdale
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must visit again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This restaurant deserves all the accolades it gets. I had the soft shell crab appetizer which was excellent as was the 18 piece sashimi platter, chef's choice. One of the items on the platter seemed to have an "off" taste but I don't know what it was so I will not draw any conclusions from that. My wife enjoyed a spicy tuna roll and a bento box. The spicy mayo she asked for on the side showed up as an extra charge on the bill. WTHeck! The menu and special offerings are considerable. We need another visit soon to try more adventuresome offerings and give them a more rigorous test. Try it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a local place that has great food and good service. It is quite a small place (about 12-14 tables) and you are usually greeted by Jay with a big Hello when you enter. The menu has some very interesting rolls and there are always new blackboard special appetizers. The servers are quick and friendly and the fish is always fresh. The Super white roll (white tuna with crunch and spice) and the Volcano roll (tuna crunch and avocado) are 2 favorites of mine. They have great lunch specials as well. The only thing it lacks is ambience but the food is always spot on.Great food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The best sushi I ever tasted!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Onsen is the best tasting sushi I have ever had! Jason is so friendly and staff is wonderful. I don't normal comment but I order sushi on a weekly basis because of this place. Recommend trying Eileen roll, volcano roll, and osaka roll , crazy salmon appetizer +++

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele13179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem in Oakdale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is an excellent restaurant specializing in sushi. There are also many delicious dishes for the non-seafood eater. I had chicken teriyaki. Every ingredient was so fresh and deliciously prepared. My husband had several sushi rolls that looked gorgeous. Other diners had the most artfully prepared dishes brought out to them. The restaurant is crisply clean, and the service is attentive. I would think from reading this review that you can tell I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eastcoasteratheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayport,NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Japanese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Small but great restaurant, they always give you a complimentary appetizer at the begining of your meal. Again, it's a small establishment and gets packed for dinner, especially on the weekends. The waitstaff is very friendly and attentive and they keep a very clean establishment. My wife loves the Boston rolls and the shrimp tempura rolls, I had the bento box, comes with rice, avocado rolls, salad, miso soup, sweet delicious scallops and a choice of two meats or seafood. The meals are well prepared and very tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonderling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onsen Sushi also viewed

Oakdale, Long Island
Oakdale, Long Island
 
Oakdale, Long Island
 

Been to Onsen Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing