We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, horrible smell”

Seasons Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seasons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Ocean Beach B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, horrible smell”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in 2 rooms here in June 2014. When we showed up a woman yelled at us to check in at the blue waters hotel. The woman there was pretty helpful but the woman back at seasons didn't even show us where our rooms were. The rooms are small but sufficient. The location is amazing. But what we need to talk about is the smell. The entire place smells like cat pee. And the worst part is there are no cats. But honestly it's overwhelming and all-consuming. The bedrooms have a lot of air fresher pumping into them, but it's honestly hard
To walk through the hallways. If you need a convenient place to stay in fire island go for it I'm just writing this because I was mad that no one warned me so I'm warning you

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    2
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Seasons Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located just adjacent to the ferry dock. The rooms are simple but clean --no maid service--small but quite adequate (and very inexpensive) for Fire Island. There is an attractive deck for breakfast or simply for lounging after going to the beach. The staff is friendly and willing to give you advice on local history and excursions. If you want luxury, go elsewhere. If you want convenience try them.
Ask for a room facing the water--noisy but worth it for the view.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We walk in to our room on arrival to find someone else's stuff in there and the room dirty. No apologies, no offer for any money back. Not worth it. Dont do it. Even if this is the last place available, wait another weekend and book another place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGaussians22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean Beach hotels

New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

It was really pleasant, and I shared one room with two beds with a friend of mine. So it was good value for the location, since this part of town gets pretty expensive during the season.
I was afraid I'd get a dumpy place for the price, but I was pleasantly surprised. Sure, the rooms are small, just enough to fit the beds, but the shared bathroom is very nice and when I was there it wasn't crowded. The whole bnb felt like home. The people working there were sweet too. I recommend it. I'd stay here again rather than the overpriced Palms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

....Sure am! This was my second stay at Seasons with my boyfriend. We found it online last summer and enjoyed our stay immensely. We returned again and were happy to see that the first time was not "luck". Remember this is a quaint B&B. Small room but clean and you are only there to sleep. Breakfast is awesome! Fresh blueberry pancakes, frittata, fresh and ripe fruit salad, crossiants, bagels, cream cheese, granola, other cereals, coffee, tea etc...if you can't find something to eat then YOU have a problem not the B&B. Shared bathrooms but its kept clean and I've never had to wait to use it. The location is very close to the ferry, shops, restaurants and offers a lovely scenic walk to the beach. And I really liked that Seasons provides complimentary use of beach chairs and beach towels. Plus they allow use of their fridge (which we use to store our wine and some snacks we brought with us).Is it overpriced for 2-person weekend getaway? Some might say yes. But I guess it's "supply and demand". It's not too high that I wouldn't go back next summer (as I plan to). My only tiny issue was they collect a cash gratuity for the maid service when you check in. But they never serviced our room (we were there for 3 nights). Soooo maybe it was for cleaning the shared bathrooms (?)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LimonSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Anyone that bashes Harvey's hotels are delusional. If you want the real fire island experience, you should stay at the seasons bed and breakfast or the blue waters hotel. Although you do not have a private bathroom in the Seasons, the staff make you feel like you're staying in their very own home. Their Sat and Sun breakfasts are homemade, delicious and make me feel like i'm waking up in my own bed at home. If you compare the prices of the Seasons to any other hotel in Ocean Beach, The Seasons is actually cheaper. If you want fancy/upscale stay at the Palms or go to the Hamptons. If you want comfort, a smile and a wonderful staff that looks out for you, stay at The Seasons or Blue Waters hotel. Additionally, the location cant be beat. It's right in town, a hop skip and jump from the ferry and just a 10 min walk to the beach. They provide all the right amenities, clean rooms, beach and bath towels, bikes, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. It's the only hotel I will stay at when I'm in Fire Island, and i've been going for about seven years now. I'm a native new yorker and although I like the finer things in life, I know that when I go to fire island, i'm going for a laid back, relaxed, carefree weekend. If you want something fancy, go to the Hamptons and leave the rest of us alone.

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom stay at the blue waters. If you don't mind sharing a bathroom, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SimoneSNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Right up front, the options for lodging in Ocean Beach on Fire Island are limited, and they are all very expensive. None of the rooms at The Seasons have a private bath. We had to walk through the living room and kitchen, to get to the bathroom. Our bedroom was right on the street, around the corner from the most popular bar in town. I slept with ear pliugs every night. There's no internet connectivity. There's a big screen TV but the DVD player wasn't working and no one could fix it.

Breakfast is delicious, home made by Jane every morning. The service staff are very nice, but the amenities are disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirren451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Beach
0.1 mi away
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
#1 of 4 in Ocean Beach
551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clegg's Hotel
Clegg's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ocean Beach
82 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dune Point
Dune Point
#1 of 3 in Cherry Grove
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
8.3 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
9.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seasons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons Bed and Breakfast

Property: Seasons Bed and Breakfast
Address: 468 Dehnhoff Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770-2006
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Beach
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Seasons Bed And Breakfast Fire Island/Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing