We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to go back...wish I hadn't”
Review of The Place

The Place
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Ogdensburg
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Had to go back...wish I hadn't”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Ok. this time it was for lunch. When we arrived, there was one other table of 4 occupied at 11:30. Took 10 minutes for the waitress to acknowledge us and another 15 minutes to brew the coffee we ordered. By that time 1 other table of 2 came in and another of 4. When our waitress finally brought the drinks (1 iced tea, 1 coffee) 20 minutes had passed. She took our order, quesadilla & a Caesar salad. While waiting, another table of 8 arrived and were attended to very quickly. At 12:15 the two tables that arrived after us were already served and eating. By 12:30 we still had not received our food. I had to leave as I was on a lunch break from work, our waitress (doubling as a bartender) said " gee, I don't know what the hold-up was on your food" and CHARGED Me $4 for the lousy coffee & iced tea. NEVER AGAIN. There's too many other places to go in Ogdensburg, try Busters or Phoenix on the Bay or Mc'Donalds for that matter...total crap.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    6
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Wings in the Burg!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Wings are amazing here. Huge and Hot!!! Enough said. Good prices, and great service for a small bar.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bonniesppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pub Atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Ok, the food selection & quality is pretty good. Their quesadillas are unique & tasty, not a huge steak selection, but still quite good. Be prepared for a few pints/coctails while you wait, service is a bit slow due to their emphasis on a drinking establishment. All in all, very good experience but not a family setting by any means.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
419 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Cozy pub in a good location”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We were starving on a cold day, and dropped in for lunch. This is an old place (in business in under one name or another since the 1920's), and it has an aged woody decor.

They offer standard pub fare plus wraps and quesadillas. We had sandwiches, a pulled pork wrap, and some real skins-on fries (tasted like chip wagon fries). The service was quite good. We should return in summer when we can sit on the deck and watch the river.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Took my staff for dinner. The food was amazing and the staff was very accommodating. The owners and their staff do a great job at making sure your dining experience is the ultimate. Not just your average menu. Great place to have a meal and drink. You definitely feel right at home when you walk in. Would highly recommend this place to everyone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Place also viewed

Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing