We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food Quickly - Not Fast Food”
Review of The Dirty Gringo

The Dirty Gringo
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Ogdensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food Quickly - Not Fast Food”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A great little spot with reliably good food. Large portions, great prices, friendly service. No alcohol, but not really necessary with food and service this good. Ambiance basic but comfortable. So glad to have them in our little town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayakers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corner Brook, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food and friendly service.”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had dinner here while cross-border shopping. I had the steak burrito, my wife the taco salad and my 8 year old daughter had the beef tacos. The burrito was delicious and the portion was very generous; I could barely finish it. My wife was impressed with her salad. The highest praise came from our daughter. She's particular about the quality of her food and she ate every bit of her tacos and pronounced them to be "awesome".

The service was friendly and we enjoyed chatting with the ladies while they prepared our food. They were kind enough to combine hard and soft tacos, the way our daughter likes them, even though they weren't on the menu.

We'll go back, for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PE-Scanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great little find !!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Excellent food, great service, exceptional prices!!!! Great find in Ogdensburg!! Will be back sure, especially for the apple Chimi, looked awesome, but too full to try it this time. Next time for sure. Will be back for sure !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing find thanks Trip Advisor and Dirty Gringo”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Have become reliant on these reviews for new food experiences and this one was exceptional. Trip to small town and looking for variety the Dirty Gringo 1st choice for an authentic Mexican meal. Only missing ingredient is beer, but we get it, it would change the program. Portions are large so enjoy this place visitors...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in the region!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I go to Ogdensburg about once a month to pick up packages at the UPS Store. Usually my go-to for food was the local McDonalds or Subway.

I decided to switch it up and checked Urbanspoon to see what local restaurants Ogdensburg has to offer. I came across Dirty Gringo and since I love Mexican food, decided to give it a try.

Oh boy, am I glad I did. I've been there a few times now and they have never disappointed. Food is fresh, very tasty, portions are big and the price is right. What more could one ask for?!

I recommend the Fish tacos if going on a Friday and if you're in a brunch mood, the Dirty Gringo Burrito (beware, its huge!)

I wish this place was in Ottawa.. Mean it when I say it's my favourite mexican in the region so definitely check it out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biomed007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dirty Gringo also viewed

Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to The Dirty Gringo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing