We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Gran-View
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ogdensburg
Certificate of Excellence
potsdam NY
Level Contributor
307 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very clean and cozy”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We went here for a quick get a way- Reasonably priced- clean and cozy and a nice view of the St. Lawrence- uncrowded view with land and a great big pool.... (only open in the summer).
The restaurant was fantastic for dinner...
Breakfast was free but not that good- especially the coffee stunk.
The mattress and bedding were comfy...noise level great to sleep....
Your cell phone will be hitting a Canadian tower so beware...we could not text or get phone calls...but there was free wi-fi....next time I will call the carrier to get that straightened out beforehand... I will be back...loved it!

Room Tip: Get a river view...only a few more dollars.... they also take a pet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwright438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    49
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
41
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The pictures and the text don't do it justice. It's far nicer than it looks, the rooms are clean and modern - even the dog friendly ones. Just a great place to get away and relax. With friendly staff who obviously take pride in their work. The food is first class not just for a hotel, this is a dining experience in a beautiful setting with a huge and interesting menu. Great place, great staff, great food and great price, you can't beet that combination. Then throw in the dog friendly and what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Yes it's a quality inn. But I've stayed at some pretty nice quality inns. However it was clean fairly comfortable and had all the typical expectations. However, the walls AND CEILINGS apparrently are THIN. seems the guest over our head was up ALL NIGHT! Room was pitch black with the lights out. If you like that it's great. I like the choice. We took the executive room overlooking the water. ....well as the balcony is at ground level, AND ADJOINS the next balcony, with single paned glass doors and no sheer curtains (only heavy light killing ones) we chose to keep the curtain closed... Thus creating the feel of being in a small dark Closset. Not enjoyable. In order to have a tiny bit of light while sleeping we kept the bathroom light on and the door slightly adjar. ....well if the light is on, the fan runs. Ugh! Further. 4 LITTLE DINKY pillows for a KING SIZED BED. Because they were so small, it was barely enough for one person (I do like my pillows) ...then ...as the hotel is a series of unconnected buildings... It would make sense to be well lit at night. However many of the lights were out. And as one must walk outdoors to the restaurant IT WAS DARK. The food was not bad and there was a lovely wood burning fireplace in the restaurant. All in all the place wasn't great. The staff mediocre. But there is nothing much else around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berrypocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel for several nights for business. The bed was comfortable, there was a nice tv and clean kept bathroom. The heater didn't work right away, I actually left the hotel came back later, tried again and it worked. A coworker had to get an electric heater from the lobby, staff in the restaurant even knew about the room with no heat, but my coworker was not made aware. In my room it looked like the furniture hadn't been move and cleaned under in awhile there was a straight line around the night stand and tv stand where dust started and clean rug began, otherwise the rest of the room was clean. Restaurant was good and on site (see reviews for Gran View restaurant). There also was not an elevator (that I could find) in the two story building. She asked when I checked in if I had preference for room, I said no, but didn't realize I had to drag my overpacked bag up the stairs. Honestly the hotel was good, managed just fine for the trip. My biggest problem, the walls r paper thin! My neighbors bed must have been against the same wall, his alarm woke me up in the morning, it sounded as if it was right next to me, anytime he talked coughed or anything in the room, I could hear it clear as day. I was also above the fitness center, which I didn't mind (and they have hrs) until I was woken up by his alarm and then couldn't sleep because someone was on the treadmill directly below me. If I stayed again I would make sure I brought ear plugs! Staff at desk were friendly, and had housekeeper came daily and refreshed the room.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onaneedtoknowbasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I have been here 4 times and each time i have been surprised how they have taken care of the facilities. Woodwork,bathrooms and beds are all great.
The nice view of the St.lawrence Seaway is a plus even in the winter.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We needed a place to stay for a night and we used the I-phone to find something in Ogensburg, NY. This was the highest rated on Tripadvisor. The hotel has a 50's feel and view from the outside, but the room itself was beautiful with a poster bed and deluxe linens, partitioned bath, granite countertop, microwave, frig and small drip coffee pot with coffee. Everything inside the room appeared new and was deluxe. The hotel is totally non-smoking inside and had no unusual odors. Deluxe continental breakfast was included which was served at the motel next door. It was a full breakfast with many selections (hot and cold), only self-service, thus I suppose 'continental'. The hotel was extremely quiet, but at full capacity. I'm certain this would be a beautiful place in the summer, located directly on the St. Laurence river. I did see a large pool near the river. When up that way again, we will definitely book this one in advance to insure a room, perhaps river view.

NOTE: Don't rely on your GPS to find it as we had to call the hotel back for instructions after the GPS led us to Walmart. If you subscribe to internation service, you may have better luck finding it.

Room Tip: We booked one hour prior to arriving so we took what was available. Reserve in advance and request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sealovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This place is a treat. High, slopey open-beamed ceilings, adorable balconies looking out over tidy grounds to the river, 52 inch tv in the giant room, tv and phone in the giant jacuzzi tub bathroom with separate shower. Fully updated, but all the class and.charm of understated mid-century modernism. Did I say I loved it? I loved it. If Don Draper from Mad Men had to go to Ogdensburg, he would be happy staying here. Old school "fine" dining in the attached restaurant/bar - French onion soup, escargots, smooth jazz - have a Rob Roy or a Manhattan at the bar. In its own way, this is what Kate's Lazy Meadow tries too hard to be.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kash_Sayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogdensburg
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brockville
9.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Brockville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
19.8 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Brockville
Days Inn Brockville
#5 of 5 in Brockville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone Fence Motel
Stone Fence Motel
#2 of 5 in Ogdensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bridgewaters Inn
Bridgewaters Inn
#1 of 1 in Johnstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Gran-View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Gran-View

Property: Quality Inn Gran-View
Address: 6765 State Highway 37, Ogdensburg, NY 13669-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Ogdensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ogdensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Gran-View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn Gran-View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Gran-View Hotel Ogdensburg
Quality Inn Ogdensburg
Ogdensburg Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing