We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Walt's Diner

Walt's Diner
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Old Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
nj
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Always go there for breakfast before heading out on snowmobiles service is quick food is good the price is always cheap , the pancakes are massive and yummy

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank outside1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    114
    35
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Lake, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I stopped here for breakfast on the way through town. It was about half full, not busy. We ordered eggs, toast and home fries. My scrambled eggs were dry, and the potatoes were cold and pasty. My husband's eggs were cold and potatoes were the same as mine. We pass through Old Forge often and will not be going back to Walt's Diner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Kings of Pancakes”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Walt's is far and away my favorite breakfast spot in the world. They are very fast and the food is outstanding. When we are up North we try to spread our meals around and try a little bit of everything but we just keep ending up back at Walt's in the morning. Last trip I managed to eat 3 pancakes, they claim people can regularly eat 5, and that is something I would love to see.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMM323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Down Home Place To Eat”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stopped by on the Sunday of Snodeo weekend. We were seated right away and the server was very timely on bringing our drinks and taking our order. The food was at our table in a matter of minutes. It was well cooked and not greasy. It had great flavor and the portions were on the large size. The server continued to make sure we had what we wanted but was not on the annoying side. The menu had a nice selection. The only negative is that dining rooms are tight on space.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must do in Old Forge - mountain eating”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Walt's is right on the main street in Old Forge. It is rustic, with great food! I recognized the waitress from last year - this place is a landmark Old Forge eatery.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank saundrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Walt's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing