We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate if you plan to be in Old Forge”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Water's Edge Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Adequate if you plan to be in Old Forge”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked a standard room with 2 queen beds with a lake view at Water's Edge Inn since we were attending a wedding in the area. Consider the price of $503 total (including taxes) for 3 nights to be high for what we got. I would compare this to a Comfort Inn in terms of room amenities and free breakfast. The beds were comfortable but the towels and bathroom items were low end. Showering is an adventure as water temp fluctuates WILDLY based on other room's usage. While the property states that all rooms are upgraded - our carpet was filthy. Others in our group had a room with brand new carpet. The majority of the property appears very clean though. The free breakfast was a standard Comfort Inn type selection of coffee (tiny little cups), juice, cereal, fruit, little yogurt cups, plain bagels and Eng muffins, awful muffins. Each morning they offered a hot selection - scrambled eggs and potatoes one morning, waffle sticks and potatoes another. Go elsewhere if you want a hardy yet healthy breakfast. "Free wi-fi" was an issue for everyone in our group and others we met. While your device indicates you are connected, you still cannot access internet or email. Even in the "great room" no service. This appears to be a problem common to this area, which is fairly remote. The Inn is walking distance to town but a bit removed. It was fairly quiet. If you plan to be in the Old Forge area this place is adequate.

Room Tip: Get a lake facing room - for which you'll pay more. Otherwise the parking lot is right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHKozar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Your stay with us was over Peak Leaf Season in the Adirondacks Mountains which is a very busy time. The room you had overlooking the lake and McCauley Mountain was so popular it was booked repeatedly and unfortunately there was not adequate time to get in and shampoo the carpet and have it dry between bookings. We have since remedied the situation and certainly apologize that it was not up to par. Also, upon reading your review, we immediately replaced the shower valve and that rectified the water fluctuation issue promptly. Our complimentary high-speed wi-fi is on a secured network and while it states you are connected, you must first agree to the Terms and Conditions before your device can be fully connected. We are more than happy to assist anyone having difficulties with their personal settings on their devices. As far as our Complimentary Continental Breakfast, we try to offer a little something for everyone, kids and adults. We hope that in the future you would consider a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    62
    53
    19
    17
See reviews for
97
54
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meadville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

the waters edge was nice,but i was booked for 5 nights and stayed 4 and had to check out early and they still charged me for for fifth night, i would not go back there is a lot of nice places to stay in old forge.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,
It is our policy that there are no refunds for early departures. We held your reservation for a lake view room for four nights for you and then verified your length of stay when you checked in. After confirming, you paid for the entire stay and signed the registration form. Letting us know the morning of your last day that you are leaving does not give us ample time to try and rent the lake view room we were holding for your use. If a guest is not sure they can stay the entire time, please let us know in advance so that way we can work with you to accommodate you. The motels/hotels in this area operate this way as we are located in a small community, relying heavily on the advance plans of our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central Pa.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked a room with 2 queens and a lake view several weeks in advance. Reading Trip Advisor feedback we were a little concerned regarding rooms that needed updated. Spending $189/ night plus tax we called the morning of our arrival and asked for an updated room. The lady that we talked to assured us that ALL rooms have been updated. We did get a spacious room that was updated. The room was clean and the view was nice. We had a balcony with two andirondack chairs. The beds were comfortable. We did not eat at their complimentary breakfast. We opted to go to Keyes Restaurant instead. Check in and check out was hassle free. The side entrances do not offer any security. They are closed but not locked during the night. Folks have to smoke in the parking lot in designated areas. We felt the price was a little steep, but we were from out of town attending a wedding so we bit the bullet and paid the price.

Room Tip: Reserve as early as possible. Call the morning of your arrival to confirm your reservation and addre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel. We are constantly striving to improve and meet our guests’ needs. You must have stayed with us recently, as the rate of $185 is the weekend rate for Lakeview Queens during the fall foliage season. As of today, we entered into our Value Season and we have rooms starting at $65. We adopted a 100% Smoke-Free policy a few years back and ask that our guests be at least 25 feet from the building in order to smoke. We do keep ash receptacles in the parking lot for our guests, as well as on the lakefront side of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I went for his birthday in August. We had no children with us. But most people did. The room we booked was a jucuzzi room with a balcony. The jacuzzi jets didn't work really. The water came out of them but there was no pressure. The room had a fridge and 2 flat screen tvs. One in the room with the couch and the other in the room with the bed. We had good wireless service. There was no coffee maker but we brought our own. The view from the balcony was very nice. I wished that the room with the sofa and the room with the bed were switched. The air conditioner and the window and door to the balconey were in the room with the sofa. This made the bedroom very warm at night. The breakfast was a carb fest. A couple of the days there was reconstituted scrambled eyes but for the most part it was frozen waffles, frozen french toast sticks, chocolate muffins, white bagels and english muffins. The only saving grace for me was granola and yogurt. All the kids in the room seemed to love it and I'm sure that's what it's geared to. All in all we had a great stay but next time I would only stay there if I was bringing kids to and going to the Water Safari accross the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendyxski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay in August. We value our guest’s opinions as it is the best way to improve our facility. We apologize that the jets in your Jacuzzi were not working well; had you expressed your concern about the Jacuzzi while you were here we would have promptly corrected the situation. We do not have coffee makers in the room as we provide complimentary coffee in our Great Room from 7am – 10pm. Our breakfast offers many healthy options such as fresh fruit (apples, oranges and bananas), yogurt, granola, raisin bran and oatmeal. We offer two hot items and they are both prepared fresh every day and rotate days so guests get a variety during their stay. In addition to the chocolate muffins, we also rotate in blueberry muffins, banana bread, spiced muffins, etc. We have been working on steadily improving our breakfast over the past couple of years; we appreciate your perspective and have made note to offer more adult friendly and health conscious food items. We are pleased that your overall stay was great and we hope that you would consider a return stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I chose this hotel because of the indoor pool and free continental breakfast. It's also a nice perk that every room has a balcony, however I had to change my reservation when I arrived because I learned that I wasn't on the lake side of the building. The type of room I originally booked isn't available on the lake side, so I had to pay a little more for the change. I learned that this information is on their website, but not on the reservation page.

The pool is small, so I was glad my boyfriend and I were the only ones in it at the time. Sitting on our private balcony was very nice, but they're a little narrow for the furniture on them. The bathroom area also doesn't have the best layout.

I've seen larger spreads elsewhere in a continental breakfast, but this one was decent.

So, some minor things that would have led to a higher rating if they were different, but I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Standard king rooms are only on the park side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While there is not much we can change in order to get a higher rating from you, we are constantly looking for ways to improve. Being located in town and on the lakefront limits us from expansions so we must keep our pool and building size as is. We try and remodel different sections of the hotel in order to keep it current, modern and clean. This year we added high-definition flat panel cable televisions to every room, as well as media charging/docking stations. Our pool area was newly tiled and the sauna got a face-lift as well. We will be making some changes on our Complimentary Continental Breakfast to mix it up for the winter season. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

After coming up here for a summer end trip we will not be back. We called into reservations and explained, we have 2 adults and 3 children. Explained that a lake view double would be prefect for us. We showed up to find only 2 full beds. I went back down to ask how is this suppose to work, the woman says they could give us a cot for $10/night more. Whata joke... Also, at the time of reservation we were sold the stay 3 nights with 2 days at Enchanted Forest. FALSE !!!! You get one full day and a partial day after 3pm,,,the park closes at 5pm !! So you get 1 day and 2 hours. The staff is rude and needs to learn customer service skills. The condition of the hotel is fair, the balcony railings are rickety, do not let your children on the balcony. Online it states there is charters in the park such and Spongebob, Spider-Man ,etc. after arriving and looking in some local publication, it's only a few select days. BUYER BEWARE !!! We have 2 more nights here and will probably check out early. To the staff at Waters Edge, go take a class at a customer service school...

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Guest,
When taking inquiry calls we explain what room types we have available for the period people are inquiring about, realizing everyone has their own personal preferences. The Lakeview Double is explained as having two double beds and it is listed on the confirmation that is emailed. With that in mind, many of our guests rent the rooms with two double beds for their family of five as it is the most economical way to stay. Guests then may bring an air mattress, sleeping bag or rent a cot for the fifth person and in many instances they even put three small kids in one bed. We leave that up to the guest.
We also ask our future guests if they are planning on going to the Enchanted Forest Water Safari, located directly across the street, so we may offer them an option to save money by booking their reservation as a Stay ‘N Play package. This discounts their stay at the hotel and includes two one-day passes to the water park. We also inform them about another bonus option that the water park offers known as their Siesta Savings plan. With the tickets you can enter the Park at 3:00 pm until close at 6:00 pm, or in this case, 2:00 pm until close at 5:00 pm, and then return the following day for free. That is also true when using the additional discounted tickets you purchased from us as well. We apologize for the misunderstanding that the package includes passes for two days.
When expressing your concern to the Front Desk about the sleeping accommodations after checking in, our experienced reservationist apologized and offered a couple of options for you in order to remedy your situation. You declined the room with the King bed with a separate sitting room with a Queen-size sofa sleeper and you also refused the adjoining rooms that each have two double beds in them. You also declined the cot. We apologize that none of these options worked for you, as we certainly want our guests to be happy and we try our best to make this happen. We’re sorry this fell short for you.
Over the last few years we have remodeled all of our guest rooms, and will be continuing our efforts in common areas and around the hotel as needed. We recently renovated our pool area and our Great Room which is located off the lobby. In addition to this, we most recently added high-definition flat panel televisions to all the rooms with cable/internet with a dedicated fiber optic line and multimedia charging stations. We try to keep making improvements each year to keep current. We also try to keep our guests informed by providing in-room Guest Services books. Our website makes no reference to the character visits, however, we do post on Facebook as to when their appearances are over the course of the summer as we know many of our guests anticipate their arrival.
In spite of your dissatisfaction, we are glad you chose to stay with us the entire visit rather than leaving early as you suggested. We hope you were able to take advantage of our amenities such as the heated indoor pool, sauna, arcade and complimentary hot continental breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I did quite a bit of traveling this summer and was very happy with most of my accommodations. This is especially true of my stay at Water's Edge Inn in Old Forge, NY. After traveling out of the country, I returned to spend time with my niece and was most pleasantly surprised by the attention we received at this hotel. When I made our reservation I mentioned I was coming to celebrate my niece's 8th birthday and to take her to the water park. When we checked into our room there was a bouquet of helium balloons with a Happy Birthday message for my niece. She was thrilled! We were both so surprised and I was especially pleased that the staff remembered that detail and went out of their way to make her feel special.

The room was pleasant and clean, the complimentary continental breakfast was quite extensive and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erice7316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
6.3 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
85 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
8.6 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Property: Water's Edge Inn
Address: 3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have something for everyone! We offer an ideal atmosphere for all types of visitors to the Old Forge area: families, singles, couples and business travelers. We offer 11 different types of rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing