We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Water's Edge Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fair value”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My room seemed to be renovated pretty recently. Hallway had a kind of musty type of smell. I woke up at 3 am with heartburn and went out to see about some Tums. Front desk closed and vending downstairs didn't have any toiletries/sundries. Continental breakfast was ok, what you might expect. Staff were pretty nice. I didn't have any major cleanliness issues until I took a shower the next morning. There were some black hairs eye level in the shower and I long black hair sticking out of the towels. Not the end of world, just kinda "ugh". Overall I would stay again, especially if I was going the water park right across the street

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it helps us improve. We apologize for the state of the bathroom in your room and have relayed this information to our housekeeping staff in hopes of preventing this from happening in the future. We value your opinion and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    62
    53
    19
    17
See reviews for
97
54
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed on a Friday night (6/13/14) in the "Loft Suite" room 321. The suite itself was very nice. Although we had originally booked the "Ambassador Suite", when we called to confirm the reservation the day before they told us we were not set for the Ambassador Suite but for the Loft Suite which is more money. Not off to a great start. Over the Jacuzzi bathtub (which was great) was a huge spider and his home, along with a couple of other little spiders. I HATE spiders. Once we cleared those out it was okay. We noticed in the bedroom a lot of stains on the walls (above the headboard, on the baseboard next to the bed, on the night stand) I really hate to think of what those could possibly be :( The AC unit, if there even was one, was HORRIBLE!!! I turned the thermostat down to 65 to try and cool it off but it continued to read 75 and I'm pretty sure it was hotter than that! The bedroom was the worst, felt like 10 degrees warmer as soon as you walked in it. Not worth the $ 221.91 a night that we paid. We'll definitely be writing to them!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We apologize for any confusion there might have been when your fiancé made your reservation. When he called the day before your arrival to reserve, he could not book an Ambassador Jacuzzi Suite as they were all already previously reserved so the Loft was the alternative chosen. We were not aware that you were experiencing any difficulties in the suite and are sorry for any inconvenience. Had you notified the Front Desk we would have immediately addressed the issues at hand, most of the time it’s just something simple that will take a minute to address or explain how to use. Our goal is to make your stay as pleasant as possible and hope you give us that chance so when you leave you are a satisfied and happy guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Last year in May we stayed at this hotel and enjoyed our stay very much. We couldn't wait to go back. The only minor complaint I had was about the internet service being slow or sometimes not working. I certainly don't plan a trip to the mountains to stay on the computer but it's helpful to check email while away. Happy to report that on this trip the internet service was just fine. Fast and no problem connecting at any time. We were happy with our room, comfortable bed, nice room. The lady working at the breakfast area was very pleasant. We enjoyed our stay again and hope to be back same time next year.

Room Tip: We chose a king bed room which was on the parking lot side. Didn't bother us at all to be on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay! We’re happy to hear that everything was to your liking. For just the reasons you mentioned, we have improved our internet service so that it is faster, stronger and a consistent connection. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotel puts out coffee at 7am and services breakfast 8am to 10am. Several guests wandering around earlier waiting for coffee and/or breakfast. These times are not consistent with other hotels we have stayed at. Floors creak, room doors slam, internet intermittent, cell phone didn't connect. We thought the breakfast a bit skimply given that we paid $10 less the night before and got twice the breakfast. Given that the other motels look much older it seems an ok place to stay. Just be aware of its limitations!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback as it helps us to see where we can improve! We're sorry that you had trouble with the internet/your cell phone - next time be sure to bring this to the attention of the front desk and they will be happy to help you get connected! Also, we apologize that you did not find enough items on the continental breakfast spread - our hope is to have something to suit each of our guests tastes which is why we offer bagels, fresh baked goods, fruit, various hot items, yogurt & cereals as well as beverages. We welcome your ideas and suggestions for other items that you might wish to see on the menu. Having said that, we appreciate your review and hope that you come back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Water's Edge for three nights while visiting the Adirondack's. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. The hotel was very clean. The free breakfast was very nice each day. Coffee is in the lobby each morning at 7 am and throughout the day but there are no coffeemakers in the rooms. We were in a king Leisure suite. It was rather small and on the worn side. I could not get the water to turn in the shower and found that it took nearly Herculean strength to pull out the knob to take a shower. It was a lot of little things of that sort that gave you the impression that the hotel was not well-cared for in general. Also, the wi-fi was nearly nonexistent although it was advertised as a feature of the hotel. The staff was very nice about it when I asked but it just did not work well at all. In fairness the cell phones did not work that well either so it may have been the location. The deck facing the lake is a real plus and has two Adirondack chairs for relaxing. Overall we felt it was a decent place to stay as a home base when visiting the area.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We enjoyed having you as a guest and appreciate your review. We are always looking for ways to improve. We will be addressing the issue of the difficult shower knob, and the wi-fi access was already resolved by the carrier. In addition to the complimentary coffee available from 7am until 9pm, we just added hot water and tea for our guests to enjoy from sun-up to sun-down as well. We hope that you return and stay with us again and try some more of the local cuisine and enjoy our improvements! The view is equally as beautiful in the winter as in the fall with the view of McCauley Mountain. Or you can curl up in the comfy furniture in the Great Room by the fire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked a standard room with 2 queen beds with a lake view at Water's Edge Inn since we were attending a wedding in the area. Consider the price of $503 total (including taxes) for 3 nights to be high for what we got. I would compare this to a Comfort Inn in terms of room amenities and free breakfast. The beds were comfortable but the towels and bathroom items were low end. Showering is an adventure as water temp fluctuates WILDLY based on other room's usage. While the property states that all rooms are upgraded - our carpet was filthy. Others in our group had a room with brand new carpet. The majority of the property appears very clean though. The free breakfast was a standard Comfort Inn type selection of coffee (tiny little cups), juice, cereal, fruit, little yogurt cups, plain bagels and Eng muffins, awful muffins. Each morning they offered a hot selection - scrambled eggs and potatoes one morning, waffle sticks and potatoes another. Go elsewhere if you want a hardy yet healthy breakfast. "Free wi-fi" was an issue for everyone in our group and others we met. While your device indicates you are connected, you still cannot access internet or email. Even in the "great room" no service. This appears to be a problem common to this area, which is fairly remote. The Inn is walking distance to town but a bit removed. It was fairly quiet. If you plan to be in the Old Forge area this place is adequate.

Room Tip: Get a lake facing room - for which you'll pay more. Otherwise the parking lot is right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHKozar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Your stay with us was over Peak Leaf Season in the Adirondacks Mountains which is a very busy time. The room you had overlooking the lake and McCauley Mountain was so popular it was booked repeatedly and unfortunately there was not adequate time to get in and shampoo the carpet and have it dry between bookings. We have since remedied the situation and certainly apologize that it was not up to par. Also, upon reading your review, we immediately replaced the shower valve and that rectified the water fluctuation issue promptly. Our complimentary high-speed wi-fi is on a secured network and while it states you are connected, you must first agree to the Terms and Conditions before your device can be fully connected. We are more than happy to assist anyone having difficulties with their personal settings on their devices. As far as our Complimentary Continental Breakfast, we try to offer a little something for everyone, kids and adults. We hope that in the future you would consider a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

the waters edge was nice,but i was booked for 5 nights and stayed 4 and had to check out early and they still charged me for for fifth night, i would not go back there is a lot of nice places to stay in old forge.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,
It is our policy that there are no refunds for early departures. We held your reservation for a lake view room for four nights for you and then verified your length of stay when you checked in. After confirming, you paid for the entire stay and signed the registration form. Letting us know the morning of your last day that you are leaving does not give us ample time to try and rent the lake view room we were holding for your use. If a guest is not sure they can stay the entire time, please let us know in advance so that way we can work with you to accommodate you. The motels/hotels in this area operate this way as we are located in a small community, relying heavily on the advance plans of our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
6.3 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
85 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
8.6 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Property: Water's Edge Inn
Address: 3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have something for everyone! We offer an ideal atmosphere for all types of visitors to the Old Forge area: families, singles, couples and business travelers. We offer 11 different types of rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing