We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun in Old Forge”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Brockport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family fun in Old Forge”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family has been staying a this hotel every summer for the past five years. With four children under the age of 8, we certainly test the boundaries of service and accommodations. The staff has been wonderfully supportive in accommodating any needs we have had throughout the years. The Continental breakfast has always met the dietary needs of our family. We have stayed in several different rooms that accommodate a family of our size. We have found them all to be clean and accommodating. The Continental breakfast has always met the dietary needs and appetites of our family. While I always wish vacations were less expensive, you cant get a better experience for the price of the Stay & Play package! We will continue to come every year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay, we're so happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed staying with us over the last several years. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    62
    53
    20
    18
See reviews for
98
56
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Edward, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed one night during the month of July, We had a Lake view queen room, The room was nice and clean with 2 queen size beds, a small refrigerator and microwave. The was a good size flat screen tv. , a table and chairs, the bathroom had a tub/shower combo, we asked for a cot for my 15 year old son which they were quick at giving it to us but it cost 10 dollars which I thought was a lot being the price of the room was not cheap. Their was a private deck overlooking the lake . The property has some boat docks with adirondack chairs at the end so you can sit and relax and just enjoy the peace and quite. There is an indoor pool that was warm but could be just a tad bit warmer for my comfort. A nice sitting area with lounge chairs and a little area with table and chairs near the pool , there is also a sauna in the pool area, they really could use a hot tub next to the pool . There is a large den with fire place with a deck coming off from it overlooking the lake, and a arcade and small gym. They have a continental breakfast in a small dining room , which had various cereals, muffins, bagels , waffles '' which were cold and the not the kind you make your self " and hash browns " which were also cold'' My daughter was disappointed that there were no scrambled eggs as the baby really couldn't chew the waffles. All in all a very nice place, with water park right across the road. Old Forge itself was amazing as wild deer just kind of roam the streets and come right up to people.

Room Tip: room A 5 was our room it is right near the indoor pool and has a great view only down fall is having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katydid8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We always appreciate positive feedback and try to work on the suggestions our guests make as well. The hot items on our Complimentary Continental Breakfast are on a rotating schedule so that there is something different from morning to morning. We hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Overall, the experience of staying at the Water's Edge was alright. We paid over $300 for a double-queen. That's a bit on the pricey side for the accommodations, given our first room smelled so strongly of mold that it aggravated my throat to the point of discomfort. When I asked if we could switch, at first I was told it wasn't possible because they were full, but they did manage to swap us with another reservation and that room didn't smell nearly as bad - though it did have a slightly musky aroma. I also had to ask for replacement batteries at the front desk for the tv remote control. The beds were short and the kitchen sink really low, too. My boyfriend and I appreciated coffee available as early at 6:15 and breakfast at 7 AM but would have liked less bread-stuffs and more hot breakfast items with the eggs like bacon or sausage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

While it is a free continental breakfast we give to our guests, we try to go above and beyond the typical continental breakfast. In addition to the hot and cold cereals, bagels, English muffins and fresh baked muffins or bread, we also provide yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, juice, tea, coffee with flavored creamers, home fries and a choice of scrambled eggs, French toast or waffle sticks. The room you are referring to actually has two double beds, not queens, and perhaps that's why it seemed small to you. The queens are overlooking the lake, where as you reserved a Standard Double overlooking the Enchanted Forest Water Safari for your two-night stay. We certainly try to respond as quickly as we can to any of your concerns and are thankful they are brought to our attention so we may address them immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We've been coming to Old Forge for the past three years as part of our summer mini vacation and all three times, we've stayed at Water's Edge Inn and enjoyed the Stay 'N Play Package. It's always been about the convenience of walking out of the park and straight to our room and after this stay, we've decided that it isn't worth the money and we'd be better off trying someplace new. We've always had a lakeside room (worth the extra $ to not be on the parking lot side) and this year decided to get the queen beds instead of the doubles like we had in the past. While the rooms are most certainly updated, the quality of the renovations leaves a lot to be desired. Holes in the bed frames, an air conditioner that does a poor job cooling the room and as always, a small and very cramped bathroom. These are all things that I can live with and since we're generally easy to please, we wouldn't normally mind the above mentioned. But when your room key doesn't work after you accidentally put the key in your wallet and next to a credit card, you don't expect to be scolded by the front desk staff to have your key re-coded. After coming back to the room, my husband said "we won't be coming back here." My husband said that after the woman at the front desk very rudely explained to him what he did wrong (and yes, he gets that he shouldn't have put it in his wallet after getting our belongings out of the locker at Water Safari) she then gave him the card back and said in a very condescending tone "now what are you not going to do with this card?"

Additionally, we were also unable to find a parking spot on our second night after a game of miniature golf which was a bit frustrating. While we'll be returning to the Adirondacks and Water Safari in the years to come, the Water's Edge Inn will no longer be a part of our stay.

Room Tip: Always select a room on the lake side and be sure to request a room that isn't in the basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m sorry to hear that you will no longer be staying with us and I would sincerely like to apologize for the unpleasant experience in dealing with our front desk clerk. Our goal is to make each guest feel welcomed and comfortable and that is most definitely not the way to do it! Steps have been taken and that will not be happening again. We are happy to help with items which arise during our guests stay, such as the air conditioner and parking. Sometimes it is as simple as a setting on the AC unit, or letting you know that you may park across the street as well. We truly do value your business and we would like the opportunity to make it up to you. Rest assured that our staff values your patronage and hates to see you go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A wonderful place, a pioneer. Before the Water's Edge was built, there weren't any lodging choices in or around Old Forge...other than a handful of not-so-great motels. It was the only choice right on Old Forge Pond. Right across the street from the Enchanted Forest (now under same ownership), it's convenience alone makes it a great choice. The conference facility provides nice accommodations for companies who want to get away to get the work done.

The hotel doesn't attempt to be a 5star hotel, but a comfortable place to be while enjoying Old Forge. It's easier to forgive it's minor flaws when you keep that in mind.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kitlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, we appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Spent one night. The room had a nice view of the lake (though the balcony was dirty and disappointing), and it is in a nice location. However.... Bottom line: Room rate was was way too high for the quality of the accommodations. The hotel is tired and in need of renovations. Carpeting, bathrooms, hallways all run down. The walls pretty thin as well. The breakfast was below standards and didn't begin until 7 am - which frankly is just too late.
The staff appeared to be trying hard but I would not recommend for the price.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Goggles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. The entire hotel has been renovated and each year we continue to make improvements. Just this past month, we put new carpeting in 10 of the rooms, including the breakfast room. We gave our sauna a facelift and installed new tiles in the indoor pool area, as well as applied a fresh coat of paint and new decorations. Last year high definition flat paneled cable televisions were installed in each room, as well as media charging stations, and our free wi-fi was amplified. We continually strive to keep current with the modern amenities. We also try to have something for everyone with our complimentary continental breakfast – fresh fruit and juices, tea and coffee with a variety of flavored creamers, cold and hot cereals, English muffins and bagels, a variety of fresh baked muffins, yogurt, home fries and a rotating buffet of scrambled eggs, french toast sticks and pancakes. The 7:00 am start time allows for the quiet hours to be observed for the comfort of all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My room seemed to be renovated pretty recently. Hallway had a kind of musty type of smell. I woke up at 3 am with heartburn and went out to see about some Tums. Front desk closed and vending downstairs didn't have any toiletries/sundries. Continental breakfast was ok, what you might expect. Staff were pretty nice. I didn't have any major cleanliness issues until I took a shower the next morning. There were some black hairs eye level in the shower and I long black hair sticking out of the towels. Not the end of world, just kinda "ugh". Overall I would stay again, especially if I was going the water park right across the street

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it helps us improve. We apologize for the state of the bathroom in your room and have relayed this information to our housekeeping staff in hopes of preventing this from happening in the future. We value your opinion and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
6.3 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
90 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
259 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Property: Water's Edge Inn
Address: 3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have something for everyone! We offer an ideal atmosphere for all types of visitors to the Old Forge area: families, singles, couples and business travelers. We offer 11 different types of rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing