We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, clean room had plenty of space for my girls to play”
Review of Forge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forge Motel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Room was clean and roomy. Even had TV with lots of stations. Great WiFi connection. Pool was nice. Short walk to beach and playground. Will stay here again.
Cons: free breakfast had limited selection. Cold cereal would be a nice addition for children.
Loved the view.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOwner, General Manager at Forge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks so much for your positive feedback! We are glad we could make your trip to the Adirondacks enjoyable. We hope to see you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Forge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed recently for two nights over the St. Pat's Day weekend. Location is right in town so convenience is one thing the place has going for it; you can walk to the shops, bars and restuarants. The lobby area was nice; high ceilings, stone fireplace (gas), some nice furnishings. Pool looks over the lake; nice view but the water was too cold to enjoy this amenity; we were in/out quickly but did hang out on the loungers, read and took in the view for a bit. No jacuzzi spa, which would be very nice in this particular area. Complimentary continental breakfast was so-so; great fresh bagels and good OJ but individually wrapped danish/donuts, no fresh fruit or protein source and presentation lacked. Limited room in the lobby area to eat and I was particularly uncomfortable listening to staff gossip with each other both mornings, making no attempts to lower their voices when talking about the locals and work issues. Although we weren't in our room much, when we were, it was pretty depressing. Although roomy, no attempt iare made at decor, Adirondack or otherwise. Very basic. Not one picture on the wall. And our room had the smallest wall mounted TV I've seen in a hotel since the 70's! There was an older big screen TV in the lobby, by the fireplace, but the remote was kept at the reception desk so it wasn't very inviting. Beds and linens were OK. HVAC system was loud and this effected sleep throughout the night. View of the lake from the room would have been nice but there was quite a bit of snow piled up. A snowmobile path was just inches from our back door, although this did not prove to be a problem. This is kind of a lack luster motel but, luckily, the price matched, so it is budget friendly. We usually stay at the Water's Edge Hotel when in Old Forge or a housekeeping cottage further North (Inlet) but wanted to try something different and cheaper. A few minor changes and extra effort could improve this place a great deal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOwner, Owner at Forge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Feedback from our guest is very important to us, as it helps us to improve. We have regulated the temperature in the pool and it is 80 degrees. I have personally spoken to the staff about them making small talk in front of the customers. We have recently upgraded to 32 inch flat screen televisions in most of our rooms also have replaced the heater/air conditioner units. Thank you for you suggestions, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

On the return trip from Lake George the weather caused us to stop in Old Forge. After looking over the motels, we picked the Forge Motel. This motel offers a indoor pool, great views of the waterfront. While looking out of the large picture window, a Whitetail deer came up and looked us over. Also out on the lake we had a nice view of a Loon. We will stay here any time we are in Old Forge.

Room Tip: We liked the lower level, great views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We visited Old Forge to attend the Stems and Steins Festival as well as the Inlet Fall Festival, and stayed at the Forge Motel. It is an older place, but the rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and courteous. We had a great view of the Lake as well. There is an indoor swimming pool and most things are within walking distance. There are no refrigerators or coffee makers in the rooms. This would have been a big plus, but continental breakfast is served each day in the Lodge. If ever back that way. I'll stay there again

Room Tip: Choose a Lake View Room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have been staying here for many many years and we are still very happy with everything. Rooms are very clean and everyone who works there is so friendly. Rates are very reasonable for the town and the location on the upper level is to die for. Thanks again for another wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: 15 thru 19 are the best views
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timvf101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOwner, General Manager at Forge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are glad to have made your trip the the Adirondacks enjoyable. As always we look forward to seeing you next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My friends and I go to Old Forge for a weekend every year and stay at the Forge motel. The rooms are always very clean and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We love it that they have WIIFI access in all the rooms. The view is beautiful and I wouldn't stay any where else. The furnishings could stand some updating, but with that view who cares.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbuddynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

First off, this place is somewhat dated. The rooms were probably 80's vintage. But you hopefully aren't hanging out in the room anyways. The location is perfect. Right in the center of town. We were in the upper building, overlooking old forge pond. Great view. Sliding doors with adirondack chairs. The rooms are plenty big enough. Bathrooms are not bad. Lobby appears to have been updated recently. Very nice with indoor pool. Continental breakfast was sufficient, not huge, but it provides an option other than eating out and spending money. The only place I would guess is nicer is the Waters Edge, but at 2-3-4 times the cost. And the Forge still has better location to town, unless you are just there for EF/WS. I would recommend the Forge to anyone.

Stayed: July 2013
3  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
6.6 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
132 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
281 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#4 of 6 in Inlet
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forge Motel

Address: 104 Lamberton St, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing