We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Place to Be"”
Review of Christy's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Christy's Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is our second year at Christy's and look forward to many more! The rooms are clean and comfortable and the owner is very friendly and goes the extra step to ensure an enjoyable visit, right down to children's movies under the stars which was a complete and wonderful surprise to us on our first year. An old school motel for the 21st century! Thank you for a great visit!!

Our "Adirondack Home Away From Home"

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwlucas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Have been staying at Christy's for many years. I do not even bother to check anywhere else..
Rooms are clean, cost very fair, pool, movies for the kids..It is a family Motel with top customer service. Its like going to see an old friend every year..Same room every year and we make or next year reservations as we leave..The owner is on hand and cares..This is his home too,,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank funforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just enjoyed a 4-day vacation in Old Forge, and totally loved staying at Christy's. The owner is very nice, extremely helpful, and provides all sorts of extras for the guests (outdoor firepit, gas grill if you want to cook stuff, kids' movies on a big outdoor screen, etc.). The location is very convenient to all that Old Forge has to offer -- we thoroughly enjoyed walking around town each day. The pool is clean and well kept, as is the entire property. We were pleasantly surprised as to how big our room and the bathroom were, and liked the convenience of having a fridge in the room. Very nice family atmosphere to the place (and we don't have kids) -- would definitely stay there again. I mentioned several times while we were there that I was SO glad we didn't choose some of the other places in town. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My in laws stay here every year and we now know why! We had a great time with the family at the pool and the park that's right there at the motel. The price is just right and a great quiet family place. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We will be planning on staying again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasityGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first time staying here as a family. Upon arrival we immediately noticed the sparkling clean pool and neat grounds with lovely hanging baskets by every room door. Mark, the owner, was so pleasant and efficient to deal with and he even got us into our room early with no hassle. It is very apparent that he takes great care of the place. He even played an outdoor movie one evening during our stay , which we all enjoyed! Our room was clean, comfortable and roomy and the water pressure in the shower was fantastic! There is a big gas station/ market across the street and a liquor store next door. Take a quick walk down the street and there is mini golf,ice cream and shopping. There is also a grill available for guests to use and small dorm size refrigerators in the rooms. We will definitely be back to stay because the price is right and it is a great place to stay with your family!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristysMotel, Owner at Christy's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Hi Christy,

Thanks for staying with us this summer and taking the time to post a review. It's fun doing the movies at night and listening to the kids belly laugh. It sounds like you had a great time visiting Old Forge and hope the rest of your summer was fun also.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were traveling to the area for the first time and had booked a five-night stay at a nearby facility but checked out early with the blessing of the fine folks at Groupon. We came upon Christy's Motel by chance. After being disappointed with the other accommodations and treated horribly by the owner's husband, Christy's Motel was a most welcome change. The owner is very personable and accommodating and his pride in his facility was evident. Upgrades were constantly being made during our two-night stay and the room was the cleanest hotel/motel room I have ever stayed at. There was no refrigerator in the room but there was an ice machine as well as a microwave for guest use in the office. The owner even took the time to chat about restaurant recommendations! Give this "rare gem" a try when in Old Forge!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristysMotel, Owner at Christy's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Hi Dawn,

Thanks for finding us by chance and letting us show you what the area has to offer. It would of been really sad, if you returned home, from your five day visit and not seen what a great place Old Forge really is.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and hope you visit the area again sometime,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We as a family, have stayed here for the last two years. Excellent location, very clean, in ground pool and sometime movies for the kids and or family. There are grills for cook outs. The price is right!!! TWO THUMBS UP!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristysMotel, Owner at Christy's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Hi Tom,

What can I say besides, Thanks for the outstanding review!

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your summer,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
7.3 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
136 reviews
10 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
174 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
0.8 mi away
Clarks Beach Motel
Clarks Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christy's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christy's Motel

Address: 2902 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family oriented accommodations centrally located on Main Street in Old Forge, New York. We like our guests to think of Christy's Motel as their Adirondack Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Christy`s Hotel Old Forge
Christys Hotel Old Forge
Christys Motel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing