We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nick's Lake Campground
Reviewed 29 December 2007

The staff bent over backwards to accommodate our late attempts to find a camping spot. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there and will get back there every year in our RV. We don't mind having no hookups when the new shower facilities are superb!

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank FortySixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2007

i arrived at this campground at 12:30 pm on aug. 10, 2007 when i pulled up to the window and said i would like to get a site and i asked if this is where i did it the lady in the booth got snotty and said Yeah like i was an idiot. then still with an attitute she told us she only had one site for one night. my husband and i felt she was rude and decided not to use your campground i feel if you are trying to bring in coustomers they shouldnt be treated rudely.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Treatedbadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

I grew up spending every summer and some winters in Thendara, NY, just outside of Old Forge. I take my 4 children camping every summer now in Old Forge and Nick's Lake is our campground of choice. It is spacious, beautiful, and serene. The property is well taken care of, the staff is polite and cheerful, and we wouldn't camp anywhere else. My sisters and their children camp there as well, and our children have memories that will last them a lifetime and hopefully carry on tradition with their own children!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2006

This campground is the true campers dream! The sites are not too close together, there is quite time after 9 or 10. There are no motor boats allowed on the lake to insure a peaceful stay. I myself prefer loop E That is the only loop my family will stay on. They say becuase they have the best bathrooms. Also try to book a water site, they make the stay that much more enjoyable, the ducks will come to say hi in the morning! If you cant book a water site the "beach" is only a short walk from loop E. There are also nature trails that can be hiked around the lake, as well as schedualed activities for children!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank phoenixdrake0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Forestport, NY
16
Reviewed 21 September 2004

Nicks Lake is a great camping experience for the nature lover. Great sites although there is no electric hookup. It's a great place to get back to basics and enjoy fishing and wildlife. No motorized boats lend to a quiet serene camping trip. Cleanliness of showers and bathrooms is excellent.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Show Low, Az
15
Reviewed 4 November 2003

The camp sites and accomadations were very nice. They have a nice playground and park for the kids to enjoy. We didn't have time to fish, but we had a ball at the water park and strolled downtown and enjoyed their shops. I'm sure you'll have a great time.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Forge hotels
2 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
198 reviews
2 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
7.7 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Clarks Beach Motel
Clarks Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
105 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Nick's Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Lake Campground

Address: Bisby Road, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 112
Also Known As:
Nick`s Lake Campground Hotel Old Forge
Nicks Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing